We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Excellence Continues”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kahuna Laguna

Kahuna Laguna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ocean has COME TO New Hampshire! Dive into a tropical adventure with the entire family at Kahuna Laguna, northern New England’s first indoor water park at the Red Jacket Mountain View Resort in North Conway, NH. It’s 40,000 square feet of splash-tacular fun! Zoom through one of four high-speed tubes before splashing into the landing pool below. Body surf in the swirling wave pool. Square off against your friends in an exciting game of water basketball or volleyball. And watch out for the 150-gallon tipping bucket! The whole family will enjoy the activity pool, water cannons and play tower, and your smallest kahunas will have a great time in the shallow pool, an area designed with them in mind. The Tiki Tide Café is ready with a snack or lunch when you need a break. And, the family fun center is the place for the latest arcade games. Red Jacket Mountain View Resort is located on 40 scenic acres in the heart of the White Mountains, with sweeping panoramic views of the surrounding area. The resort features 150 recently renovated rooms, casual family restaurants and fine dining, a full-service spa and trails for hiking or walking.Guests of the resort may enjoy Kahuna Laguna all year, and during the warmer months the new outdoor pool will also be open. In the winter, you won’t even have to step outside to enter our 82-degree tropical oasis in the middle of the mountains – and you’ll have a great view of the valley through the water park’s glass walls.
Merrimack, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Excellence Continues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We are still super happy with Kahuna Laguna. Our 7 year old son, Alexander, loves it! Wave pool, still pool, big tube slides or the hot tub, he has such a blast. I never fear for his safety, the lifeguards are always so attentive and alert. The water is always clean!! No better place for family fun!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJohnsonGM, Manager at Kahuna Laguna, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for making us part of your family's memory making excursions. We are so touched to be a place for Alex to relax and enjoy himself thoroughly. You are so kind to continue to express how dedicated our staff can be to making you feel safe and worry-free! We cannot thank you enough and can't wait to see you again!
Alex and Team Kahuna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    96
    27
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Small Clean Expensive Indoor Water Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

What do you do when weather doesn't co-operate. indoor water park.
Such a small place it is - I don't know how they are able to maintain it so well and clean.
Not many large rides but you can't complain much either
Kids will love it
Small wavepool is enjoyable
The hot tub was large
Decent crowd

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank camssmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJohnsonGM, Manager at Kahuna Laguna, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Into the Laguna where the weather is always fine! Thank you for coming to enjoy our 40,000 square feet of good clean fun! Great way to beat the woes of a rainy afternoon. Come enjoy the rest of the resorts offerings the next time you are visiting our beautiful area.
Alex Johnson and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fantastic - clean and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a great time! The place was so clean it seemed that they must power wash the entire place every night. The water was crystal clear. There wasn't a speck of dirt or trash anywhere. The lifeguards seemed extremely attentive; a couple of them even made a point to straighten up all the inner tubes as they came through for shift change. The water was comfortable almost immediately, and after the first few in-and-outs, the air temperature felt fine as well. I brought our big, thick beach towels to warm up in the first time we went over, but we never used them; even though the supplied towels were the typical small, thin, scratchy ones, we didn't really need any towels to warm up in when we were out of the water.

But how were the water attractions? Fantastic! We homeschool, so we went mid-week in mid-May and we had the place virtually to ourselves (although it's worth noting that when kids are in school, the park is only open 3 - 8 pm). It was me, my two boys (ages 9 and 11), and my dad (age 72). Each night (two nights) we were there from 3 pm to 6 pm, and the boys didn't sit down once; the morning of the second day, they were both really looking forward to going back that evening. The slides were super fast and fun, and the number one favorite of all of us. I would have done them ten times more, but it was a hike up 3 major flights of stairs to get back to the top each time. There were two slides that required riding in an inner tube (one open, one closed in and dark) and two slides you rode on without a tube (one open, one closed in and dark). You can do the tube slide in a single tube, or a double tube; if you do the double tube, you absolutely fly down. All four slides land in a pool; I liked the fact that on the inner tubes, you didn't go under the water at all, and you could avoid getting completely dunked landing off the other slides by sitting as you went down (rather than laying back). Just a note for non-swimmers - you can't wear any flotation vest on the slides, and you have to cross the landing pool to get out (is probably 3 or 4 feet deep).

The kids also enjoyed the wave pool. A session of waves was about 5 minutes long and came every 15 minutes or so (announced by a loud horn sound). The waves were surprisingly big, so much so that my littler guy (just a little over 4 feet tall) had some struggles keeping his head above water at the deep end where the waves originated. You couldn't really ride the waves (like body surfing), and you couldn't easily float up and over, but it seemed to be fun jumping over the crests. The boys also (surprisingly) really enjoyed shooting baskets in the sports pool. There was also a tower with various water features, which they occasionally did for a little while. The hot tub was big and not too hot, but we didn't really use it; the boys were having way too much fun on the slides.

I would definitely recommend staying at the hotel and getting water park admission as part of a package. It was a great thing to mix in with other more nature-oriented activities. We all thought it was a super way to spend six hours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJohnsonGM, Manager at Kahuna Laguna, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
This review was just spectacular! Thank you for your details explaining the fun to be had at each feature. Some very helpful tips, and best of all a five star rating!! Your mentions of cleanliness are greatly appreciated as well. Staying mid week is a real treat so we are glad you and the family felt at home with us. Our watchful crew members always enjoy warm compliments such as yours.
Thanks so much and come stay and play again soon.
Your friends at Kahuna Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway
1 review
“Birthday Party Bash”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I just hosted my son's 10th birthday party there and it was so easy and fun! As a mother of 5, I have planned a lot of parties and this one is a favorite!!! The staff was so easy going and pleasant to work with. I felt with all the lifeguards on duty patroling each part of the park that safety was of the utmost importance and helped me to relax with 7 energetic boys. The birthday boy had a great time and I am a happy mom:) Thanks!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJohnsonGM, Manager at Kahuna Laguna, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We are so happy you chose to celebrate at the best birthday party location in NH!
Sounds like you had your hands full with 7 boys , so I'm glad that our staff could make it an easy relaxing event for you. Our safety first team thanks you for noticing the attention to details. Hope to see you next year for big number 11!
Best regards,

Alex Johnson and Birthday Bashers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
“LOVE KAHUNA LAGUNA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have been bringing my grandchildren here since they were 3 years old and they are 7 now! They loved it then and they really love it now! There is so much for them to do. Each time we enjoy something different. This time they loved the wave pool more than anything. I personally love it because the staff there are wonderful. We have ALWAYS had a great time and we look forward to many more visits.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJohnsonGM, Manager at Kahuna Laguna, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Wow so nice to hear of your loyalty over the years. We love to be a place with stories like yours and I'm sure your grandchildren will never forget those warm memories. I will continue to share your kind words with our FIVE STAR staff. Reviews like this make them happy to come to work everyday!!
Thank You
Alex Johnson-Director and Memory Making Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahuna Laguna also viewed

North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 

Been to Kahuna Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing