We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hike up not needed, just drive....”
Review of Cathedral Ledge

Cathedral Ledge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A rock cliff that is popular with climbers.
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hike up not needed, just drive....”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Offers view of North Conway from west looking east to Mount Cranmore. Drive car up and then short hike to lookout area. Can include with visit to Diana's Bath which is close by.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank martha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    178
    25
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

As part of our B&B tour we stayed in North Conway and I had researched things to do, so it was definitely on our agenda.
What a treat! We drove right to the parking area and found a spot immediately. I have to mention that parking is fairly limited, but there is enough of "coming and going" that you'll always be able to find a spot with short delay. The views from the top are magnificent; all walking and viewing areas are fenced in and very secure. It's a bit of up and down over uneven terrain to get to them, so I don't personally think it's wheel chair accessible or at least I didn't notice any access. You can spend an hour or so just "looking" and if you're lucky you'll see some rock climbers coming up the "wall" since it's a really popular rock climbing spot. We did, and there climbers LINED UP at the bottom to do so.
There is no admittance fee and it's a must see attraction that I can highly recommend!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wolf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Part of North Conway”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Don't miss it. The view is breathtaking and you get to talk to rock climbers. The view from above is spectacular. It's free to drive or walk to the top.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler-In-Progress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The scenery here was spectacular”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Loved the view!! If you are afraid of heights, go behind the fence!! We actually saw a newly married couple there taking pictures!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hike”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A great hike to the top. Great views, and a great workout! Not for the not in shape, as a caveat. Pack a lunch/snack and hang out for a bit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelmd46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Ledge also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing