We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Ship To Shore Food & Spirits
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Newfields
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Exeter
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Dined at Ship to Shore last week with my family & truly enjoyed it. I am not a seafood eater & was pleasantly surprised that there were plenty of non-seafood offerings (Pecan Chicken was excellent). My husband had the filet & lobster pie which he said was cooked perfectly. Although they don't have a kid's menu, they were able to make chicken fingers & pasta for my kids. Server was great! Very friendly & attentive. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Pleasant”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Went in with some friends for a Friday night dinner, service was excellent, and food was very good, (I had the Seafood special, cooked to perfection.) drinks were delicious as well. Great place for a cozy little dinner, we will be back for sure.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenevieve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All four meals were superb”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Went back to Ship to Shore last night for the first time in a couple of years. It was a last minute decision to have dinner there with friends, and when we walked in the big wood stove had the place nice and warm. Service was prompt and courteous, we were well attended to but not bothered. We were happy to see our favorites still on the menu, and all four of us cleaned our plates - tornedoes bernaise, weinerschnitzel, seafood medley and filet/lobster pie -all excellent. Veal oscar next time for me. We'll be back again much sooner than 2 years.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfields, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“average (at best)”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My wife and I went to Ship to Shore for the first time this past week and the entire experience was rather average. The space itself is quaint and has some character (although the parking is a bit confusing) and the staff was friendly enough, but nothing about the place really stood out. There was only 1 beer on tap, although they did have a number of bottled beers. The menu itself is standard-far New England food and lacks anything particularly interesting. Most entrees ran in the $18-24 range, with the special entrees being in the high $20 range. The portions were not huge. The food quality itself rather basic. My wife got the lemon haddock and it seemed soft and flavorless (could have stuck it under a broiler to crisp up the topping and also should have added some seasonings). I got the pecan chicken which was better but the sauce was heavily salted.

As mentioned in other reviews the service is slow and a little inattentive. Although this is really the only restaurant in Newfields, you can find much better places in Newmarket, Exeter and (of course) Portsmouth.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoy_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't come hungry!”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

If you don't mind waiting over an hour for your dinner, this is the place to go! The service and the kitchen are extremely slow. It's a shame, as it is a nice place. Too bad they lack focus.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MMTTZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ship To Shore Food & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing