We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer fun with the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Summer fun with the family”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Quiet, clean facilities. Wonderful staff. Outdoor & Indoor pool. Hot tub. Great food (we had the Reuben, Spaghetti & Meatballs, and Caesar Salad). Small grocery store down the hill with basic needs. Had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    59
    22
    11
    15
See reviews for
94
56
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

So we just got back from the Mountain Edge Resort and Spa at Sunapee. Joe at the desk went above and beyond in many ways, for one, letting me use his phone charger overnight. The resort is spotless, and beautiful. The tavern was reasonably priced with great food. There is Adventure Park right next door with fun things to do, a beach across the street and the lake is a mile up the road. You can rent jet skis, pontoons. The resort has two pools, one indoor, another outdoor. An indoor and outdoor hot tub, and infinity pool for laps. The room was spacious, had a real size fridge, a big tub, a loft, three TV's and a fireplace. I'm telling you I can't wait to spend more time there.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom with a loft and small veranda. Awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy1192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were a group of twenty-four at The Tavern at the Mountain Edge Resort and Spa. Arrangements were made with the owner in advance and it went without a hitch. The service was efficient, food was hot and delicious and everyone had a great time. I would recommend this restaurant for group functions without hesitation.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank zgdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you are going to stay in the Mt Sunapee area then you can not go wrong staying here. Check in was a breeze. The personnel were helpful but not intrusive. The Room we stayed in was very large and well furnished. We stayed in a 2 BR(1 loft) 2 Bath. The service was great. I had gone to the grocery store (6 Miles away in Newport) and bought a Frozen pizza when I got back I realized our room did not have an oven. The hotel allowed me to use an oven in a room, that was unoccupied, to cook it. I recommend you check the kitchen for an oven. Mt Sunapee State Park is right around the corner and has many activities. We went Hiking and did the Zip Line tour. The Lake is also very close by and offers many activities. The rain, 3 days worth, is the only thing that kept us from doing more. The food at the in house tavern was very good. We tried most items on the menu. The pools and work out area were clean and always available.

Merlin is a great host.

The only real negative is the Internet/Cell can be sketchy for these reasons.

1. The Weather seems to knock out the internet, Not the resorts fault
2. The guest network seems to be on the same server as the Business Network and many things get blocked by their firewall so don't be surprised if your Facebook Games are blocked.
3. AT&T Cell Service is almost non existent at the resort, but there are in room land lines.

But if your vacation is affected by this then you should not come to the Beautiful Mt Sunapee area as this is a wonderful place to come and play and relax

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Looking for a little birthday escape for my husband and me, we found a Groupon for Mountain Edge and decided to check it out. The place is beautiful and the rooms are huge (and very clean!). We loved it immediately. A gorgeous place to visit, everywhere you look are mountains and lakes. We took a nice hike up Porky Blue Trail to the Summit of Mount Sunapee. Be prepared, bring water and wear comfortable shoes. And speaking of shoes, leave your cute shoes at home, ladies. Not a lot of night life here. Through locals' recommendations, we found Salt Hill in downtown Newport, about 15-20 minutes away, a pub/restaurant; Bubba's in downtown Newbury, about 5 minutes away, another pub/restaurant; and One Mile West, which is exactly one mile west of Mountain Edge, where we heard the Chris Fitz band place on Thursday night. They were amazing!! They also had excellent food there. The tavern at the Mountain Edge was beautiful, but very quiet. The staff was incredibly nice but the place was a bit of a ghost town. I guess that's to be expected when visiting a ski resort in the summer! The first night we were there, we ate at the Anchorage, which is at the marina where the Kearsarge docks out of. The lobster rolls there were outstanding. Although we were told to try the dinner cruise on the Kearsarge, we never made it. There was really no "downtown" or shops to walk around in. I was hoping to bring something home for my kids, but in the four days we were there, we found nothing. The reason I give this place four stars instead of five is because the pool was under maintenance while we were there, but this did not ruin our time. The outside Jacuzzi was wonderful and the inside pool was a great place to cool off. Also a great place to cool off was the Sunapee State Beach right off of the traffic circle, where there were plenty of picnic tables, many of them placed in the shade. A great place to bring a blanket and relax. We truly enjoyed our stay in the Sunapee region and hope to return soon. And when we do, we'll stay at the Mountain Edge.

Thank you!!

Room Tip: The suites are huge. Very large fire-placed living room AND a sitting room AND a full kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaG63072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here last weekend on Saturday night and used an expired groupon voucher for the value that i paid for it. Place was legit, lobby smells like delicious pizza, must be from the restaurant, however even when it wasnt opened on sunday morning it still smelled awesome. Great location at the bottom of the driveway to Mount Sunapee, spacious rooms(we had a queen bed in one room, couch in the living room, and another couch in another room, and a kitchen,) sweet hottubs(indoor and outdoor,) a patio off the living room, and a nice clean bathroom. My only problem was that they woke me up at 915 for really no reason, it wasn't the cleaning lady, they said it was guest services and i think they were trying to sell me a timeshare, which is in reality what this place is, a timeshare place. I would go back.

Room Tip: Our 1 BR and den was sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family stayed in this attractive ski lodge over winter break.
When we first arrive we were "greeted" by a hostess who appeared to be less than interested in helping us. On the other hand, the shuttle service was fabulous and very timely and attentive.
Our room was clean and comfortable but far from luxurious. The cabinets in the poorly equipped kitchenette were falling apart, as was the toilet seat.
The restaurant on site was poorly staffed. We tried to eat there one night but ended up leaving due to very slow service.
Overall we had a good stay and with a few tweaks this could be a great lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DTEmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
0.1 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
23.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Burkehaven Lodge
Burkehaven Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sunapee
78 reviews
6.4 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
207 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Country Inn
Rosewood Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Bradford
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee

Property: Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Address: Route 103, Newbury, NH 03255
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Edge Resort And Spa At Sunapee
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa At Sunapee Hotel Newbury
Mountain Edge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing