We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Ski trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Two colleagues and I decided to add a weekend trip to Mount Sunapee for 2 days of skiing onto a business trip to Boston. We booked 3 rooms at the Lake Inn at Mount Sunapee. Because of Boston traffic we arrived much later than hoped on Friday evening but Steve and Cindy the owners stayed up and made us very welcome.

The motel is small and comfortable but after a week in the Marriot in Boston it was a welcomed change. It is a very clean motel with stunning views but the real difference is made by Steve and Cindy who really do treat their guests as special. On Saturday Steve offered to drive us up to the Mountain and collect us so we could all have a few beers after skiing. On Sunday he allowed us to keep one room until 4.00pm when we finished skiing so we could change and shower before driving back to Boston for our flight.

This is a very nice place to stay, set in a stunning location, close to everything you need and with really friendly and helpful owners. I would defiantly stay there again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

We were very happy to accommodate the three of you. We strive to treat guests the way we would want to be treated when we are traveling. We hope to see you again when you are in the United States.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 100 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

A friend and I decided to go snowboarding at Mt. Sunapee and not long after on the ride back to Massachusetts my car broke down on 103! With help from another NH resident we made it to the Lake Inn, which is very close to the mountain, and we were so thankful they were able to accomadate us. Steve the owner was very helpful when we explained our situation! The room we stayed in was very cute and cozy as any mountain/lake stay should be!! Our room had a porch and I was greeted with a beautiful view out the large window when I woke up in the morning. I experienced a wonderful nights sleep. After grabbing some complementary coffee, tea, and pastries we were ready to try to walk back to the car but the owner's offered us a ride. It was so heart-warming that they cared enough to give us a lift and to make sure we got to the car okay. With everything that went wrong on the trip I am so thankful that there is still kind people out there to help you out when you need it. Customer service, hospitality, and all around good people is what you'll get when you stay at The Lake Inn.
Thanks again guys! :)
Lauren

Room Tip: Stayed in room number 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hi Lauren,

We are sorry for the delay in responding, however with just the 2 of us, guest interaction and cleaning rooms are our top priority! Please know that we were very happy to help you, we have 8 children and hope that someone would go out of their way to help them.

We are glad everything worked out for you and we hope we will see you back again during the summer for the lake or for next year's ski season.

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our second visit to this charming property. Quaint, kinda of like going back in time motel. Very nice bed ensembles of pillow/sheet/comforter. Wonderful nights sleep. Bathroom somewhat basic but functional. Great view of Lake Sunapee just below. Owners very accomodating. Although we did not encounter Cindy on this visit, husband Steve was very helpful. Nice lift ticket package included for skiers in winter, along with a 20% discount coupon to a local restaurant. Very reasonable rates, nice to patronize locals...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sno-Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights in November with our dog. The room is clean with a small frig. and microwave and cable. The tv is good with a remote. This is not a fancy place but they don't charge fancy prices. The view of the lake and mountains are beautiful. The couple who own and run the motel care about their customers. The room may be cold when you first walk in but warms up quickly. Take a ride to the restaurant a quarter mile down the road and enjoy good food, drink and nice folks plus you get a discount card from the owners of the motel. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thank you for your review. We do strive to provide a comfortable, lower cost lodging alternative. In order to maintain a decent rate, we must be mindful of heating costs and therefore we keep the temperature in the rooms as low as possible when not in use. Hope to see you again when you return to the Mount Sunapee area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Attending college reunion, we made this reservation based on the glowing reviews and this establishment's proximity to New London. What we found was an overpriced (total paid for one night including tax $129) outdated motel featuring small rooms with thin 1950’s type walls and vinyl shades, old fashioned bathroom with discolored tub. Checked in, opened the door to a very cold room in which no one had bothered to turn on the heat. How they can call this an “Inn” is beyond me. Sparse bathroom is so tiny you have to move to close the door; outlet in bathroom is not GFI, and is part of a single light fixture which won’t accomodate your hairdryer plug. No coffee pot in room. Single small bar of soap. Two bath towels. Comparative value for this room is more like $65.

Woke up to absolutely no hot water on a frosty October morning, so could not shower. First call to the office resulted in owner advising to "keep running the water". After trying that for a few minutes without result, we called the office again and no one picked up the phone. Owner then stated no one had hot water. We asked for recompense and only then were we offered a free breakfast (at another establishment) which we thought was pretty paltry. Having to wait for the hot water the owner said would come (and never did) set us back 40 minutes on this long-planned and tightly scheduled day. Asked for a financial credit and owner reluctantly credited $20.

Go instead to New London which has several offerings for much better accomodations.


--

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank hollingworth51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

We are very sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We take pride in keeping a very clean and restful motel. During this first year, we have addressed challenges inherited from the previous owners. Now that we have identified this hot water issue, we are in the process of correcting it so it doesn't happen again. Steve and I enjoy providing our guests with a pleasant experience and we strive to make their stays comfortable. We hope you will decide to give us another chance.

Cindy & Steve Peterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The relatively new owners, Cindy and Steve, have made this little motel on the highway in Newbury, NH, between the ski slopes and beautiful Lake Sunapee, into a cozy and comfortable respite for travelers in this part of the state during any season. My sister and I had a room on the upper level with a screened-in porch perfect for enjoying a glass of wine while taking in the awesome vistas. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room immaculately clean with amenities such as microwave, mini-fridge, and t.v. In addition to coffee and tea in the office, you're also welcomed with warm hospitality by the owners with ideas and menus for local restaurants. Although we were only there one night, our stay was extremely pleasant. And, while you're there, be sure to meet Brandy, the owners' adorable Cocker!!!! Thanks, Cindy and Steve.

Room Tip: If you're looking for comfort, cleanliness and warm hospitality, give it a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peeg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just got back from a long weekend at the Inn. I was with a group of 13 ladies and we nearly rented the place out! I booked based on what I read on Trip Advisor and they were right on. The Inn keepers are very personable and welcoming. Cindy took our reservations and handled everything perfectly from the first call until we all checked out today. They were more than accomodating, they let me borrow a beach chair (I forgot mine at home). They had delicious coffee ready for us every morning. The rooms were very comfortable, I slept very well :) The outdoor sitting areas are absolutely beautiful. The screened porch area offered a fantastic view and for our group with friends next door, we could open up the partition to have one big room. In the morning we had cofee out front on the nice bench seats. Cindy also helped us get reservaitons for zipline and riding the segways, and helped with the barn theatre and other surrounding establishments. We are already planning our next visit! This place is the best......thank you for making our stay so much fun!

Room Tip: upper level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suebhoney100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy P, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thanks for the review. We enjoyed having your group at the motel for the weekend. We really strive to be guest oriented and by the tone of your review, we passed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
0.2 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
2.7 mi away
Burkehaven Lodge
Burkehaven Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sunapee
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
225 reviews
7.9 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
207 reviews
13.3 mi away
Maples at Warner
Maples at Warner
#1 of 1 in Warner
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee

Address: 1349 Route 103, Newbury, NH 03255-5952 (Formerly Lakeview Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range: $96 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The hospitality of an Inn, hidden in a Motel." Every room overlooks beautiful Lake Sunapee with a screened porch or patio outside each room. Clean, comfortable non-smoking rooms with private baths, air conditioning/heat, refrigerator, microwave, color cable TV, VCR, WiFi, alarm clock and hair dryer. Fire pit and gas grill available. Hot coffee/tea and packaged breakfast snacks offered every morning in the office. During summer we are a short walk or one minute ride to Lake Sunapee State Beach for swimming, canoe/kayak rentals, a shaded picnic area with grills, a children's playground, and a public boat launch, . You may also want to take a cruise on Lake Sunapee on either the MV Mt. Sunapee (afternoon cruise) or the MV Kearsarge (dinner cruise). Mount Sunapee Resort is the site of an Adventure Park with zip line tours, treetop course, Segway tours, disc golf and miniature golf. In the fall, when looking out over the lake from your room, you have a gorgeous view of the colorful foliage from the nearby mountains. In the winter, we are 1/2 mile from the entrance to Mount Sunapee Ski Resort for skiing and riding. Around the corner is the State Beach where snowmobilers gather at the beginning and end of their day. Come visit us for a night or a week. We look forward to meeting you. Weekly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing