We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Steve and Cindy were very hospitable and gracious throughout our stay. We were impressed with the overall cleanliness and it was clear that they recently updated many parts of the motel. The beds and furniture appeared new, the room was equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, hairdryer, flat-screen TV, wireless internet, and a VHS player (with a wide variety of VHS tapes to choose from in the office). With all the fury about bed bugs over the last couple of years, we've made it our business to do a quick inspection whenever we stay somewhere. We were very impressed that they had the mattresses and box springs in protective bags to prevent bed bugs or any other pests--we've yet to see that any place else. They give you a 20% discount coupon for breakfast at a restaurant about 1 minute down the road, and the food was good. Steve and Cindy even gave us paper plates from their own home to use to heat up our leftovers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 97 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

Friendly welcome, comfy beds and amazing views across the lake. They are offering a fab ski and stay deal and it is less than 5 minutes to the ski hill so a great choice for a ski break!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshskibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legalmom16, Owner at The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you for your review. We strive to make our guests' stay as comfortable as home. We're glad you approve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Steve and Cindy (new owners since May 2011) have made this motel into a perfect spot for Sunapee. Maybe one minute to the mountain/beach with amazing views of the lake.

The rooms are clean and have good space. A bonus is the small fridge and microwave as well as VCR in the room.


I would recommend this motel to anyone looking for a great value!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohmsymbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

As the thread of reviews indicate for this property... this effort by new owners in a previously non-descript motel are being warmly received by travelers. An "old-fashioned motel"... yet very nicely appointed. Comfortable rooms, great beds. Nice window views of Lake Sunapee. Only a couple of minutes to the beach, slopes or dining opportunities, just a great location. On our recent visit, we paid much less than a national chain just down the hill that has somewhat lost its luster, and The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee included a lift ticket for Mt. Sunapee!!! Pleasant,
helpful, friendly owners. Prior to our ski... we woke up to a beautiful red fox that morning right outside our window. Enjoyed our stay...

Room Tip: Request rooms on upper level...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sno-Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We just spent the weekend at the Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee. It's located on Rte 103. The place was just as it appears on their web site. We highly recommend The Lake Inn. The owner's were outstanding with their hospitality. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome to the area as well as made reservations at local events.

The most amazing thing was the cleanliness of the inn. Although it is a motel, it didn't have the typical motel smell to it. The whole place was so clean and in order. Many times owners try to clean so much the place ends up smelling sterile. Not here. There were no lingering cleaning smell or anything. We were very impressed. We will be recommending The Lake In and look forward to coming back again and again.

The price was just right. The location was excellent. We can't say enough of the whole experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomNemia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Our family wanted to explore the wonderful Lake Sunapee, and bring our motor boat. The kind owners offered us our choice of rooms (upstairs or downstairs) -- both have great views!!! We were able to grill our supper outdoors, and take in the gorgeous view of the lake. Just a 1-2 minute drive, we enjoyed the lovely State Park Beach area, and our kids loved the beach/with lifeguards, playground, and convenience store. Plenty of facilities nearby. We would HIGHLY recommend staying here with these generous and welcoming new owners. Thanks for a wonderful TRIP!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have screened porch if it happens to be "bug season"
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guntherk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed at the Inn a few weeks ago and the views were spectacular. the new owners were very helpful and all the renovations that have been made have certainly made the rooms very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisk102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
0.2 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
2.7 mi away
Burkehaven Lodge
Burkehaven Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sunapee
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
220 reviews
13.3 mi away
Maples at Warner
Maples at Warner
#1 of 1 in Warner
50 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rosewood Country Inn
Rosewood Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Bradford
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee

Address: 1349 Route 103, Newbury, NH 03255-5952 (Formerly Lakeview Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range: $116 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The hospitality of an Inn, hidden in a Motel." Every room overlooks beautiful Lake Sunapee with a screened porch or patio outside each room. Clean, comfortable non-smoking rooms with private baths, air conditioning/heat, refrigerator, microwave, color cable TV, VCR, WiFi, alarm clock and hair dryer. Fire pit and gas grill available. Hot coffee/tea and packaged breakfast snacks offered every morning in the office. During summer we are a short walk or one minute ride to Lake Sunapee State Beach for swimming, canoe/kayak rentals, a shaded picnic area with grills, a children's playground, and a public boat launch, . You may also want to take a cruise on Lake Sunapee on either the MV Mt. Sunapee (afternoon cruise) or the MV Kearsarge (dinner cruise). Mount Sunapee Resort is the site of an Adventure Park with zip line tours, treetop course, Segway tours, disc golf and miniature golf. In the fall, when looking out over the lake from your room, you have a gorgeous view of the colorful foliage from the nearby mountains. In the winter, we are 1/2 mile from the entrance to Mount Sunapee Ski Resort for skiing and riding. Around the corner is the State Beach where snowmobilers gather at the beginning and end of their day. Come visit us for a night or a week. We look forward to meeting you. Weekly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing