We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place To Have Lunch”

The Flying Goose Brew Pub and Grille
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in New London
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Place To Have Lunch”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We've eaten here several times before, and we recently stopped here for lunch en route to Maine. I had the pulled pork and my wife had the chicken gyro, both delicious.

However, we were taken aback by having to eat in the bar area rather than the nicer restaurant area. The bar area seems "second class", what with the chipped paint, etc. We'd prefer eating in the regular dining area, and hope this won't happen again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vermonter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    108
    41
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gardiner, Maine
Level Contributor
221 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I stopped here while in the area and were very happy with our choice. The local brew selection is outstanding, as are the views toward the mountains at most tables. We were there for lunch and had a burger and haddock sandwich and were very pleased with both. Despite being relatively busy for an early afternoon, the service was also very good. We liked it so much we even bought a couple of the souvenir pint glasses. We will definitely stop here again next time through.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadAgain8180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tempting Tenders= Beer Battered Brilliance”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Local Hops and an assortment of brews are featured at this top-of-the hill hot spot. A favorite for years the menu is consistent and comforting. Servers are efficient and friendly; not gushing which we like. Start with the onion soup and don't miss the chicken tenders... the sauce is on the side so dip to your own delight. Salads are great and the pulled pork with slaw is a sure hit. The restaurant "side" is quaint but we prefer the pub "side" (with full menu) for a more casual experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachyBride2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great brew pub”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch while on a road trip to NH. Terrific selection of beers made locally.
Nice bar menu and terrific view of the mountains.
Well worth the stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nycstripes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Restaurant”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had dinner there and was satisfied. Had the Chicken Pot Pie which had a very thick flaky pastry crust on top very good. Wife had the haddock and liked it as well. She had a beer and had a iced tea. She enjoyed the beer, I tried it wasn't to my taste but was OK. Tea was from a mix but I expected that. Service was good, girl was friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CilleyvilleNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Goose Brew Pub and Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Flying Goose Brew Pub and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing