We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential New England Inn”
Review of The New London Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New London Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 New London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This New Years Eve My husband and I wanted to ring in the New Year together, a Time to reflect and reconnect! We live in the Lake Sunapee area, and did not want to venture to far from home. We decided to stay at the New London Inn, and we are so glad we did! We have often passed the Inn and the Front Porch and Windows to their Restaurant have always drawn us in, to a time in the past. A time where going out to dinner was special. Not just routine! Our night was one that I will always remember! The Inn is exactly as I pictured, A Quintessential New England Inn! Its charm and decor brought us back to a time when life was so much easier and people really understood the value of great customer service, amazing food, and the most charming accommodations. Today everything is so routine, Clean and un-personal. The New London Inn is charming, combining old world class with new age luxuries. Dinner at the INN was an experience that my taste buds are still reflecting on, and the atmosphere was just that of pure luxury, with cotton (white) table clothes, and fine china. We could not be more impressed and we will be sure to reconnect again at the New London Inn again. New London Inn Thank you for such an amazing New Years Night! Well done!

Room Tip: Any of the jacuzzi rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for The New London Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 154 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the New London Inn over the New Year holiday and were very disappointed. This is everything you hope an inn would not be. Very unaccommodating - couldn't even get a drink after skiing. Heat didn't work and no one bothered to explain that there were 2 thermostats. Wprst of all, we paid for the jacuzzi suite which was merely just a jacuzzi tub that was too filthy to use, along with the rest of the bathroom. No amenities, not even an extra tissue box, and sour, unfriendly people. The only redeeming factor was the restaurant, but even at that, dinner tripled in price on New Year's Eve with smaller portions than the night before. Again, the NLI is everything people shouold avoid in an Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisa z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just stayed at The New London Inn over the Christmas break for a family ski vacation. The rooms are renovated, comfortable and the front just is very helpful. The stay and ski package gives you a great break on 2 lift tickets per room. It's about 12 miles to the slopes and well worth being on the quaint Main Street rather than in a chain hotel closer to the mountain.

Our only complaint is the grumbling bartender. While the restaurant is excellent and clearly a local favorite as can be observed by the full dining room, the bartender seemed to consider us dumb, or a bother. Don't let that deter you. This is a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: You have to ask at the front desk, but you can have access to the Colby Sawyer fitness center nearby...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having a house in the area, we have visited New London regularly for the past thirty years. A family wedding meant staying at the Inn. We have been to the restaurant many times, and enjoyed good (if not outstanding) meals. It certainly is one of the best choices in the area, along with the Inn at Pleasant Lake.
We were expecting the Inn to be on a par with the restaurant. Unfortunately this was not so. We had two rooms. One on the first floor was next to a public bathroom. We could hear everything that transpired in there (another reviewer says the same thing).The room was also small and dingy, although it was clean and did have nice linens and a comfortable bed. Our second room, for other family members, on the third floor was much nicer. Since half of our party left after one night and we were required to pay for the two night minimum for both rooms, we decided to move upstairs to the nicer room.
When we got there, we found the door to the room open (?) but it was also clear that house keeping had not come to the room (beds were unmade etc). When we mentioned this at the front desk they said to report it in the morning. The girl at the desk was very nice but had to cover the restaurant and the front desk and housekeeping had gone home.
When we mentioned it the next morning (thinking that perhaps we could get reimbursed for the one night of the unclean room) we were shrugged off. For these kind of prices (we paid $800 for the two rooms for the weekend) this is not the quality of service or property one would expect. Given the quality of the restaurant, we expected better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We met a good friend at the Inn for dinner... did not do an overnight stay. The environment was somewhat trendy but still had a classic warm new england feel. The wine list was good. The meun had a hand full of good choices. The bread was good and the salad simple and was excellent. We had the lamb, scallops and filet. The scallops were amazing! Perfectly prepared and presented, and a great amount. The dessert selections did not catch my eye, but the hazelnut gelato was good. Overall it was a great experience and we would go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Make your next getaway destination New London. Make your next getaway accommodations The New London Inn! I'm a city person, but sometimes you just need to get away and relax! The restaurant was superb! I'm so surprised at how similar to a five star level restaurant can exist in such a peaceful little town. Everyone smiles, everyone is happy, "Yes" to everything! Really hidden treasures can be experienced there for a healthy family vacation, or a romantic getaway. It would be a true shame to miss...

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aquacarpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I celebrated a new job with a dinner at the Inn. I had the scallops for an entree and it was absolutely delicious! The plate was well balanced, the portions were very healthy sizes, and the service was courteous and attentive without being overbearing. This is a great place to celebrate a special occasion, or just enjoy a great dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sail304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
6.5 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
144 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
1.5 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
220 reviews
1.6 mi away
King Hill Inn
King Hill Inn
#3 of 6 in New London
40 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New London Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New London Inn

Address: 353 Main St, Box 8, New London, NH 03257-7813
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New London
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New London
Price Range: $153 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful Dartmouth Lake Sunapee region of New Hampshire, The New London Inn captures the spirit of yesterday with the luxuries of today. Our Inn-House restaurant, The Coach House, along with our beautifully renovated tavern and charming 23 guests rooms are minutes from year-round events and venues. Whether you come for fun, romance or relaxation, you'll be so glad you did. Visit us online for menus and reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The New London Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New London Hotel New London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing