We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Excellent value.”
Review of The New London Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New London Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 New London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Monkton, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and Excellent value.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just stayed at The New London Inn over the Christmas break for a family ski vacation. The rooms are renovated, comfortable and the front just is very helpful. The stay and ski package gives you a great break on 2 lift tickets per room. It's about 12 miles to the slopes and well worth being on the quaint Main Street rather than in a chain hotel closer to the mountain.

Our only complaint is the grumbling bartender. While the restaurant is excellent and clearly a local favorite as can be observed by the full dining room, the bartender seemed to consider us dumb, or a bother. Don't let that deter you. This is a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: You have to ask at the front desk, but you can have access to the Colby Sawyer fitness center nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    37
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
52
34
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having a house in the area, we have visited New London regularly for the past thirty years. A family wedding meant staying at the Inn. We have been to the restaurant many times, and enjoyed good (if not outstanding) meals. It certainly is one of the best choices in the area, along with the Inn at Pleasant Lake.
We were expecting the Inn to be on a par with the restaurant. Unfortunately this was not so. We had two rooms. One on the first floor was next to a public bathroom. We could hear everything that transpired in there (another reviewer says the same thing).The room was also small and dingy, although it was clean and did have nice linens and a comfortable bed. Our second room, for other family members, on the third floor was much nicer. Since half of our party left after one night and we were required to pay for the two night minimum for both rooms, we decided to move upstairs to the nicer room.
When we got there, we found the door to the room open (?) but it was also clear that house keeping had not come to the room (beds were unmade etc). When we mentioned this at the front desk they said to report it in the morning. The girl at the desk was very nice but had to cover the restaurant and the front desk and housekeeping had gone home.
When we mentioned it the next morning (thinking that perhaps we could get reimbursed for the one night of the unclean room) we were shrugged off. For these kind of prices (we paid $800 for the two rooms for the weekend) this is not the quality of service or property one would expect. Given the quality of the restaurant, we expected better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We met a good friend at the Inn for dinner... did not do an overnight stay. The environment was somewhat trendy but still had a classic warm new england feel. The wine list was good. The meun had a hand full of good choices. The bread was good and the salad simple and was excellent. We had the lamb, scallops and filet. The scallops were amazing! Perfectly prepared and presented, and a great amount. The dessert selections did not catch my eye, but the hazelnut gelato was good. Overall it was a great experience and we would go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Make your next getaway destination New London. Make your next getaway accommodations The New London Inn! I'm a city person, but sometimes you just need to get away and relax! The restaurant was superb! I'm so surprised at how similar to a five star level restaurant can exist in such a peaceful little town. Everyone smiles, everyone is happy, "Yes" to everything! Really hidden treasures can be experienced there for a healthy family vacation, or a romantic getaway. It would be a true shame to miss...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquacarpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I celebrated a new job with a dinner at the Inn. I had the scallops for an entree and it was absolutely delicious! The plate was well balanced, the portions were very healthy sizes, and the service was courteous and attentive without being overbearing. This is a great place to celebrate a special occasion, or just enjoy a great dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sail304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, NH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

This weekend was special for us. Our son was married at Old St Andrews church in New London with a very fun reception at the Fells Estate. When we started looking for a spot for the rehearsal dinner the chef at Rockwell's at the New London Inn was the most flexible in the area and was willing to work with us to create a customized menu. The Inn supplied the room for the dinner which allowed our guests to mingle outside on the patio as well as inside. Food was excellent and the service was professional. We also reserved a block of rooms for family and friends. The Inn upgraded my husband and me to the jacuzzi room on the third floor soon after we arrived which was very nice!

I have read some other reviews and while I agree the rooms and electronics could use some updating and the rooms a fresh coat of paint, everything was clean. A nice mattress pad would be good too.

Overall our experience was very good and I would recommend the New London Inn to others. We will also be looking to spend a long weekend there very soon!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomi127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This Inn is charming and convenient for when I visit my son at boarding school. I have stayed here three times and each room is very different. While the lobby was recently redone, the rooms need updating. In the Fall, our room had broken AC (it was hot), but a service man was available for the repair. Everything is clean, and there is a nice continental breakfast included. I would give it 3 1/2 stars and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
6.4 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
6.6 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
17.9 mi away
Colby Hill Inn
Colby Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Henniker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New London Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New London Inn

Property: The New London Inn
Address: 353 Main St, Box 8, New London, NH 03257-7813
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New London
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful Dartmouth Lake Sunapee region of New Hampshire, The New London Inn captures the spirit of yesterday with the luxuries of today. Our Inn-House restaurant, The Coach House, along with our beautifully renovated tavern and charming 23 guests rooms are minutes from year-round events and venues. Whether you come for fun, romance or relaxation, you'll be so glad you did. Visit us online for menus and reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The New London Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New London Hotel New London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing