We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in New London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Ranked #1 of 6 New London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The meal begins with the chef coming out and explaining the meal and all the fresh ingredients then your seated in a beautiful dining room and the meal begins. Each course from the amuse bouche to desert plate was exceptional. I can't wait to return. The food is wonderful, beautiful, fresh. The flavors were often subtle and everything was cooked precisely to perfection. The service is excellent. You won't find a better place to have a meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yankee4now, Owner at Inn at Pleasant Lake, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for dining at the inn. We are happy you had such a wonderful time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 213 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Inn is beautifully set above the lake. They provide canoes, kayaks (life jackets and towels). The lake is clear and lovely. The rooms are recently redone. You should know that all the rooms are up one or two flights of narrow stairs. The rooms are large enough for 2 suitcases, which isn't always the case in Inns. And the food is fabulous. If your budget can afford it, sign up for the 5 course gourmet dinner by owner/chef Brian. Just great.

Room Tip: If you don't want to take the chance of hitting your head on a dormer ceiling(which I did!), tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lncclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yankee4now, Owner at Inn at Pleasant Lake, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words about the inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

2 days and nights (room 9) and we did not want to leave but had to as we were on the last leg to Boston from Montreal. Great location tucked away at the bottom of the hill and next to the lake which, if you have a sporting bent, offers a number of activities to keep you amused. If not you can just relax by the water or in the extensive gardens and enjoy the scenery. The welcome was fantastic - we felt valued guests and all of the staff could not do enough for you. Regrettably we did not experience the evening food which was a mistake by all accounts but breakfast and afternoon tea were both excellent. Both the internal and external of the hotel are finished to a high standard and I would definitely recommend you add it to your schedule and list of destinations. Having seen it in the early summer, we are keen to experience the cold and snow of winter there and to take advantage of Mount Sunapee and what looks like some challenging ski slopes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very clean room, my daughter and I stayed here for a night during a basketball tournament at Colby Sawyer College. I booked room five which has a pullout couch. Couldn't book a room at the team hotel so improvised and stayed here. Very nice place staff very friendly and courteous. We were out too early for breakfast on the morning of our stay but came back to the inn after the first game and ate breakfast. It was good. I would like to stay here for a couple of nights with my wife for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassray88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were only able to spend one night here, but it was worth it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The prix-fixe dinner was wonderful and breakfast was great. If we are back in the area we will stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 12 which faced the lake. It was a great room, but due to the top floor roof lines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Just back from a weekend at the Inn. Beautiful location. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Chef Brian is amazing. Food was incredible - one of the best meals I've ever had. Period. Close to Mt Sunapee! Ate at the New London Inn as well - food was OK.

Next time, will spring for a suite.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We've now dined at the Inn at Pleasant Lake three times and can't believe we live locally and have just discovered it. Imagine this: you gather for cocktails in a lovely living room with fireplace and then at 7:00 the Chef comes out to tell you all about the meal he has prepared for you that evening. There's always an amuse bouche, soup, salad, palate cleanser, entree and dessert. All but the entrees are the same. You are offered a choice of one of two entrees. It's the mystery of it all that makes it so much fun! The food is amazing, the chef is charming and down to earth, and all of the people we've met there are so like-minded and enjoyable. It is one of the most relaxing dining experiences we've ever had. You should try it, too!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolinaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
8 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
146 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
23.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
19 mi away
The Common Man Inn
The Common Man Inn
#1 of 1 in Claremont
196 reviews
5 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Pleasant Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pleasant Lake

Address: 853 Pleasant St, PO Box 1030, New London, NH 03257-5582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New London
Price Range: $171 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Pleasant Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Pleasant Lake is a historic ten room country inn overlooking Pleasant Lake and Mount Kearsarge in New London, NH. Guests of the inn enjoy afternoon tea and a full breakfast included with their stay. A five course prix fixe dinner is available Wednesday-Sunday by reservation at our restaurant led by Executive Chef Bryan Leary. Gourmet Brunch is available Sundays at 11:30. Seasonal To Go Lunch Menu available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Pleasant Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Pleasant Lake Hotel New London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing