We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough place but disappointing food”

Peter Christian's Tavern (Closed For Renovations)
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in New London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Well known pub in New London near New London Barn Playhouse and Lake Sunapee
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant enough place but disappointing food”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

On a three week trip across the USA, during which we enjoyed some excellent meals, this was one of our less successful outings. We found the food rather basic and mass produced tasting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    71
    24
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A long-standing Fave”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I hadn't been to the Tavern for years, and am happy to report the quality of the food is as good as ever. There were 4 PF us, we all had different items and everything was yummy, the quiche was outstanding and the warm cider with rum hit the right spot on a windy, rainy, day. There is also a nice, small local gift shop on the premises.

New London is one of the most beautiful towns in NH, or New England for that matter.

Check it out for the first time, or go back if, like me, you've not been in the area for a while.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The clam chowder was excellent as was the beef stew. We also had sandwiches which we shared. The ambiance was great as was the service. We would go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Theberkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We enjoy eating at Peter Christian's, even though it's about an hour from home. The pretzels and honey-mustard that are served when you are seated are slightly addictive, so remember to save some appetite for the actual meal! We have loved all the entrees that we have tried so far, although my husband was definitely disappointed the last time that the sirloin tips only amounted to 3 - kinda skimpy for an entrée. The other side of the coin is that the bread pudding is always 'to die for' - so far we've tried the Butterscotch and the Pumpkin, both incredibly fabulous; if you are wise you will share as they are rich and decadent. Love the 'colonial' atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wicked Mustard”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place was a totally random find. On our way back from Burlington, VT and wanted to grab a quick bite off the pike. Pulled off in New London and found Peter C's. Pretty cool vibe in this joint. Felt like a hobbit's home - comfortable, cozy, and wicked friendly staff. They started us off with pretzels and their famous mustard for dipping. It's sweet, tangy, savory, and we bought a bottle of the stuff on our way out. Apparently, it's famous. The food was all really good and matched the atmosphere. Extensive menu with lots of choices for the entire family. Quite affordable to boot. Definitely recommend this local joint to anyone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Christian's Tavern (Closed For Renovations) also viewed

 

Been to Peter Christian's Tavern (Closed For Renovations)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing