We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!”

The Coach House Restaurant at the New London Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Coach House Restaurant at the New London Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in New London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Coach House Restaurant is a unique experience in the charming town of New London, New Hampshire; located inside the historic New London Inn. Come enjoy exemplary cuisine prepared by Executive Chef James Waterbury made from the finest ingredients available. The Coach House Restaurant’s name comes from the stagecoaches of 1790’s that would travel from Concord, New Hampshire to the town of New London. They would park at the windows that you see along the side of the restaurant’s main dining room. The Sargent room is named for one of the original families that owned the New London Inn.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We go there every year at least once for our anniversary and need to make more frequent visits! The atmosphere is relaxed, the service very attentive and knowledgeable, and the food continues to be excellent. The chef uses fresh local and seasonal vegetables and is creative. The presentation is also great. I believe this is the finest restaurant in the area. We will definitely go back even for soup and a glass of wine!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank albnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Manager at The Coach House Restaurant at the New London Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant and for posting the picture on trip advisor. We are so happy you enjoyed your meal and your evening with us. We hope to have you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    23
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint New England inn; Nice evening out”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed the dinner very much. She has a gluten allergy, and they were able to accomodate her. We had wine, citrus shrimp appetizer (yummy), followed by entree. Hers was the short ribs, mine was a curry-based Indian chicken dish. Food and service were excellent. Protein portions (short ribs, chicken) were more than adequate. We both would have liked more vegetables with the dish. That's my only criticism. Total bill for the two of us was $100 and that included wine, appetizer, entree and tip; that's a fair price for a Saturday evening meal. We'll return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing Menu/Food”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were very excited about the menu featured on Rockwell's web site and by the rave reviews we had read on-line.There were some very interesting and creative choices for appetizers and entrees. When we got there, we were impressed with the dining room (and the Inn). Very serene, nicely decorated and beautiful big windows looking out to the town common. The service was attentive and unrushed. The drinks were generous and the wine list extensive. The real disappointment was the menu. It had been pared back significantly. The entrees we had our hearts set on were not offered. Same with the appetizers. I had the spring rolls and the vegetarian offering, which was basically potato pancakes and a couple of vegetable medleys. Both were medicore @ best. My husband fared better with oysters and lamb, but his side dishes were also uninspiring. We were told by our inn keeper the next morning that Chef Rockwell, who created the restaurant, had left several months ago. Don't know if this is true, but it would explain the pared down menu and the less than spectacular quality of the food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MMG8401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, NH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rehearsal Dinner at Rockwell at the Inn”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had our son's rehearsal dinner at Rockwell's. The food was wonderful, the space delightful, and the staff very attentive.

When we started looking for a place for the rehearsal dinner our options included Rockwells. We went to several other places but none were as accommodating as the New London Inn and the Chef at Rockwell. They were willing to work with us to make the dinner what our son wanted.

The actual dinner was incredible. The rehearsal was at Old St Andrews Church on Kings Hill Rd. It was convenient to the church being about four miles away. Everyone arrived at the inn a bit early so people just milled around in the lobby of the inn. This was no problem. We invited around 35 people and the inn was plenty spacious enough. Once the function room was ready everyone took their seats and we bought the first round of drinks while people visited for an hour or so. Hors d'oeuvre were served and there was a constant flow of trays with wonderful food being offered. The hors d'oeuvre were delicious! There is a patio that we were able to use for this portion of our evening. And the weather cooperated nicely.

The menu they created for us was superb. And it was a three course meal. People had a choice of three appetizers, three entrees and dessert was a simple but excellent ice cream. Orders were taken and the food was served in a very timely manner.

The meal was excellent and the staff took very good care of us. I would highly recommend Rockwells for any function for up to 35the people. We were very happy with everything!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naomi127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Dining experience”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a great dining experience last night at Rockwell's. Thomas was our server and was very attentive to our needs. My scallops and shrimp was outstanding. The fries with truffle oil was a great starter. The ambiance was very pleasant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacksonGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach House Restaurant at the New London Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Coach House Restaurant at the New London Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing