We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant”

Millstone at 74 Main Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Millstone at 74 Main Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in New London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Food was pleasant - nothing special - actually expected better. Their combination of ingredients is a little weird - carpaccio taste totally compromised by sweet slaw?? Lobster Bisque a little thin and bland.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    20
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great Restaurant for Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were looking for a restaurant for dinner that offered a variety of seafood as well as veal. I chose sea scallops & my husband chose the veal medallions which were excellant. The ambiance was delightful & staff was exceptionally cheerful. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SophieSefcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in town !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have visited this restaurant before these new owners and now it is the best restaurant in NEW LONDON, NH. Rich (the new owner) is a sweetheart. I was so glad he took Father's Day off because he really deserved a day off . His young, gorgeous daughter was there to see everything was up to his high standard .What a family. What a great group of employees . The food was perfectly cooked and served. I wish this family and this restaurant great success .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorcieMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“It's Different and It's Even Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Millstone has been a foundation stone in the New London, NH restaurant scene for quite some time. But it's not exactly the Millstone any more. It's now 74 Main and is under new ownership. The former manager of the local golf club restaurant has taken over and made some subtle changes that have improved what has been a decent restaurant. Have no fear: Brendan is still the chef and he retains his mastery of artistic presentation and creative merging of flavors. The food is just excellent. The menu is a little different and, frankly, better managed. On evenings when the theater is a pre-performance draw, menu specials are fast-prep dishes. This means you can get in, have a nice meal and make the curtain with ease. Over time a post-performance menu will emerge with lighter fare for those theater goers who missed dinner. Wait staff seems to have been beefed up as well. One slight omission: No chicken on the menu. This is a sophisticated management decision -- diners are ordering less chicken. But if chicken is your dish you may be disappointed. Overall, this was a lovely dining experience. Best of luck to 74 Main!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalonymos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The new Millstone is worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Millstone has a new owner and a new name - "74 Main at Millstone". This is our second visit since the new management. The reason 74 Main will succeed is because of the owner. He cares about real customer feedback and will fix things that don't work. There is no restaurant where everything is perfect. On this night they batted 3 for 4. The Mussels were ok, but not the best we've had. The Caesar salad was excellent. The Beefalo and sirloin dish was an A- (the polenta served with it was not to our liking). The sorbet dessert was excellent. One comment about the wine - I generally resent wine list lists that are marked up 3x from the retail price as is this wine list. I wish that they would adjust this downward so that I don't feel gouged. The atmosphere was great and the owner visited our table twice to get feedback about our experience. This is a big plus ++.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunapeeSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millstone at 74 Main Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Millstone at 74 Main Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing