We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional Christmas eve menu”

Millstone at 74 Main Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Millstone at 74 Main Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in New London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
213 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“exceptional Christmas eve menu”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A portion of our family, seven strong had a wonderful pre Christmas dinner. The abbreviated holiday menu more than made up for its reduced number of items with the quality of the meals. The baked haddock over risotto was delicious. The two styled duck presentation of crisp leg quarter and rolled confit was as good as it gets. One of the other choices was chicken breast which everyone agreed was very good. The service was excellent. The wine was very good and the two chefs responsible for the dinner greeted us after dinner. All together it was an excellent evening in every respect

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeD1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    39
    20
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Millstone is a fine dining destination but casual as well. The interior is attractive with a front and back section and a bar in the middle. The wait staff was all female the night we were there and they were efficient and friendly. The prices are moderate and the wine selection is commendable.
There are two other restaurants in the area that are more expensive and probably have more interesting food but The Millstone is my "go to" place for an above average menu. My lobster bisque was outstanding as was my pasta (gnocchi) dish. My partner's onion soup was very tasty but his fried chicken pieces were over- cooked. We did not get dessert.
I did email the restaurant that it was our anniversary and no one at the restaurant paid any attention to that fact, which was rather disappointing. Most restaurants will offer something but Millstone did not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtney069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
213 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“THEY HAVE LEARNED CONSISTENCY OF FOOD QUALITY”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We, my wife and I, our daughter and two teenage granddaughters were all very pleased with the menu variety and quality of the meals. We shared two unusual and very good appetizers; one of steamed baby Brussels sprouts in cauliflower sauce and a grilled flatbread with onions, pineapple with cheese and herbs which was delicious.
The girls ordered salads and we had flatiron and rib eye steaks prepared perfectly medium rare as ordered and served with frites sprinkled with truffle oil. Both steaks and fries were very tasty. Our before dinner cocktails were excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeD1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Changed Menu”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have been eating at Millstone for YEARS and have ALWAYS been pleased with the choices and had an excellent meal, however, this year, they changed the menu, and the only thing we want to order is the chicken caesar salad (which is excellent)!!! Dinner menu is heavy with fried food and MANY entrees with eggs as part of them. What demographic can eat high fat/high cholesterol like that? Usually only one of each type of meat, so not a lot to choose from if you want "a white fish" or some sort of chicken breast. Please go healthier, Millstone!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Still a good choice--interesting menu--a little pricey”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Millstone Restaurant in New London has been a staple since I moved to the area more than 30 years ago. Standouts include the lobster bisque, mixed greens, and fish/seafood entrees. Very consistent. A little expensive compared to other good restaurants in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millstone at 74 Main Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Millstone at 74 Main Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing