We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Local Institution” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New London Barn Playhouse

New London Barn Playhouse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The New London Barn Playhouse is one of New England’s most cherished summer-stock theaters, presenting excellent theater created by emerging artists in collaboration with accomplished professionals. Actors and directors come together for three months each summer to create an unrivalled theater season noted for its fresh approach and talented acting company. The theater has served a large audience each summer since 1933 in New Hampshire’s beautiful Lake Sunapee region.
Grantham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
161 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Local Institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great company, recently updated with air conditioning. Always present high-quality shows and varied repertory. If you are staying in the area, a great way to spend an evening. Several fine-dining choices available as well as bistro meals and casual. A great area to visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank SEAsiaVeteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New London, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Little Theater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The New London Barn Playhouse is a fantastic little venue. Very cozy and the acting troop is great. My wife and I really enjoy going there in the summer.

Be warned, don't show up late. They will wait for you if you show up late.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Playing at the Barn Playhouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have been viewing live performances for many years in California with professional actors, college and also high school level. I would say the performances here were more on a school level. Very good for that level but did not compare to professional performances that I have seen. The Barn is a barn like structure that cannot compare with even a college level stage or view. The price is very high considering the level
of performance. I think the advantage of this theatre is that most of the audiance has never attended a truly professional performance and they are out for a good time and want to enjoy seeing their friends and neighbors on stage. As I mentioned, very much like a school audiance.
With that in mind ... why not enjoy every minute, laugh, make do and act like all of these performers will soon be seen on Broadway. Now who is doing the acting here ?

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank DorcieMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Local Summer Theater with Great Talent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We always look forward to the summer theater season at the Barn Playhouse. The actors are incredibly talented and the shows are varied. We are always amazed by what they are able to accomplish on such a small stage. A great experience if you are ever in the area during their season (June to September).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local Theater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Small intimate theater. Good Summer stock acting. Recently air conditioned. Good selection of plays throughout the summer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New London Barn Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to New London Barn Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing