We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Most Favorite Dining Experience”
Review of Oak & Grain

Oak & Grain
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in New London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $62
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Celebrate the bounty of New Hampshire at our highly acclaimed New London restaurant Oak & Grain. Inspired by flavors from around the globe, our menus highlight the best seasonal ingredients of the region, including local farms and our herb garden. Enjoy stunning lake views from our elegant dining room or casual small plate dining on the patio during the warmer months.
newtown CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Most Favorite Dining Experience”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We just had dinner at the Inn at Pleasant Lake and think it was our favorite dining experience! So relaxing and in a beautiful setting. Brain McKenzie, owner and chef, was a delight to speak with and the entire experience was so unique. The restaurant/Inn space is beautiful and so comfortable, personal and intimate, but totally fun. We were not rushed, the food was great and mixing with the other guests was fun as well. We highly recommend trying the wonderful dining experience. We cannot wait to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    8
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unbeatable food/service/atmosphere”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have been coming here on New Years Eve for a few years now, and I don't have one complaint. The food is to die for, the wait staff is well trained and professional and the best part is they will bring out more food if you are still hungry/ or just want more of something! Best food I have ever tasted. Would reccomend to anyone looking for an elegant night out with a delicious meal. The price for the meal is well worth is every time, and the chef is very accomidating if you have any special requests!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2MacKenzies, Owner at Oak & Grain, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write on our behalf. I love cooking and preparing for the New Year's Eve event. The six course format is great for introducing many flavor combinations without repeating. We do our best to manage portion sizes as not to overfill our guests. Of course, we do give everyone the option of seconds if they love a particular item. Thank you again for your post. Maybe we will see you again bringing in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanbornton, nh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Again - A Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been coming to the Inn at Pleasant Lake for as long as it has been open - It is a special place - made even nicer by some wonderful cosmetic updating that really spruced it up.

We went last night to celebrate the combination of Valentines Day and our Anniversary. The fireplace was crackling, the dirty martini was excellent and the menu Chef Brian described promised to be a real treat - May I say that we were NOT disappointed.

The prix fixe menu included roasted tomato and onion bisque, a salad, a choice between grilled veal tenderloin and crabcake entree, and a chocolate mousse dessert.

The soup was just phenomenal - it was creamy and and very fresh tasting and it was finished with a delicious chive oil. The salad was also very fresh, dressed lightly with a delicious grape vinegarette. My crabcakes were made up of almost all (very fresh tasting), crabmeat. Lightly sauted, and served along with a mango vinegarette, they were just wonderful - My husband chose the veal tenderloin - which was very tender and flavorful. Both meals were perfectly cooked and beautifully presented.

The dessert consisted of 2 puff pastry points layered with a delicious chocolate mousse.

The service was excellent - the server attentive - yet not overly so - and the food came out hot and in a timely manner.

The restaurant's ambience was, as usual, really nice - there were about 5 tables of 2 and 4 the room was darkened - enhanced by candlelight.

All in all - it was a wonderful experience - and looking back over the past 15+ years, we realized that it was just as nice as all the other times we have eaten there.

A big bravo to Chef Brian McKenzie - who has, once again, given us a good reason not to spend all that time and money traveling in search of fine dining establishments - turns out that one of the best ones is located practically in our own back yard!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank topiarylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Dined at this restaurant on the 1st of December for a Christmas party. The food was great. We had a five course meal. It started with Bisque of Roasted Tomato and onion served with basil coulis and crispy string potatoes'.I wasn't sure if I was going to enjoy this but was surprised, it was fantastic! Next we had a mix of baby greens served with a fresh citrus vinaigrette, prosciutto, toasted piignolias, marinated cucumbers, shaved cheddar and country French bread with whipped butter. The Entremezzo was a Blackberry Sorbet and Kiwi. Next was the entrée. I had a Grilled Filet Mignon of certified beef served with a Sauce Bordelaise and warm Mushroom salad. This piece of beef was seasoned perfect and super tender. Best piece of beef I have ever had, hands down. Dessert was a Grand Marnier Crème Brulee served with a Toasted Almond Butter Cookie. The Cookie was great the Crème Brulee was to die for. Can't say enough about this experience! Great evening with good friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“See my review in the hotel section.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I goofed! I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant, so please look in the other section of TripAdvisor... Chef/owner Brian MacKenzie takes great pride in providing the best he can for his customers, and the short drive out of town is well worth it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaszlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oak & Grain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing