We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice little getaway cabin by the lake”
other travelers have booked this property
View From cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View From cottages
# 10 Deck & Dock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
View From cottages
# 10 Deck & Dock
View of lake
# 9 Living room
# 9 living room
# 10 Cottage
# 9 Living room
# 9 Kitchen
# 9 Living room Waterfront view
# 10
# 9 Living room
# 9 Living room
# 9 Bedroom
#Kitchen
View of lake
View of lake
# 9 Deck with grill and table
# 9 Living room
# 9 Kitchen
# 9 Bedroom
# 9 Bedroom
# 9 Kitchen
# 10 Deck and dock in water
View from cottages
# 10
# 9
# 9 cottage living room, pull out sofa
Walk on in!
Plenty of Grass and sun
Plenty of grass
# 10
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
New Hampton, New Hampshire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Property overated, not as expected”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Finally getting around to writing this review. Never had to do this before as in all our domestic and international travel my wife and I never experienced any issues worth complaining about. We travel moderately often so this was a surprise. Property was stated to be immaculate in and out. Exterior: Parking area muddy grass, so tracking in dirt was a problem. Plain deck, 1 picnic table CHAINED to the deck post, chairs in a side shed dirty & unusable, "Fire Pit" consisted of old Broken concrete blocks in dirt/soil. Upside: Lake view location was as promised with a great view.
Interior: Kitchen counter area and refrigerator was dirty and had to be cleaned, floor and area rug were also dirty. Placemats were greasy and unusable, smoke detector was sitting on a windowsill. Main bedroom only had a bunk bed and was hot with a dirty bedspread so we opted to sleep on the fold out sofa in the kitchen. The sofa was also grimy/tacky with a worn out mattress, you could feel the springs on your back. Sheets were torn by the hinges that enable you to fold up the mattress (More about this later). Bathroom: You could not stand up straight in front of the sink if you are taller than 5 feet high and you had to duck to enter through the doorway. Toilet seat was secured to the toilet bowl by Velcro (More about this later as well). Summary: We were asked to pay in excess of $100.00 as a deep cleaning fee since we were bringing a pet which was a 5lb Toy Poodle. Ironic, in light of the aforementioned. In our travel experience this is quite an excessive fee but since we were booking this trip at the last minute our choices were quite limited and this was one of the few rentals still available (First Red Flag). A damage deposit of $200.00 would also be charged up front and subsequently refunded (2nd Red Flag). We agreed (naively) since in our entire lives and we are not young 55+ we have never been charged for "Damages".
In any event we never saw our $200.00 again as follows: $56.00 for a damaged toilet seat, $43.99 for ripped sheet replacement, $56.01 to repair and shop for damaged items, $50.00 for sheets dropped off to maid service to be cleaned and then go back to make the bed. Miraculously the damages just happen to add up to the $200.00 damage deposit. The area is great, people are nice and it was unfortunate that we were taken advantage of.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Lake View
Liked least: Overall condition/Cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2014
Hello Richard, We are glad to finally hear from you but feel it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay. We would like to start off by apologizing for any misunderstanding that could of contributed to the outcome of you stay. Our FIRST priority is the satisfaction of our customers! I look forward to discussing your issues further if you would like to contact me by phone. I feel compelled to explain our position to anyone who may read this review. Upon check-in, we request the Renter contact us to inform us upon arrival if everything is up to their standards. This request was made verbally and in writing to Richard prior to check-in. When we did not hear from him upon check-in, I took the liberty of trying to contact him by phone and e-mail on 07/26/13, 07/29/13, 08/07/13 and on 08/08/13, we never received a response until this review. If Richard had contacted us we would have been happy to resolve any issues he may have had. Despite our numerous attempts to contact Richard especially after all the damages we found to the rental, we never heard from him until this review. We take pride in our company and the satisfaction of our customer's. We make every attempt to ensure they enjoy their stay! If anything is not up the renter's expectations we strive to correct the situation immediately. We were unaware of any of the issues Richard has stated above and also confused that he never contacted us or responded to the many attempts to communicate until now. I would also like to note the damages exceeded the deposit total and we incurred a loss due to the damages. To all of our renters we would like to express we do not believe this is an accurate or fair perception of how we run our business. Communication can resolve many issues. If at any time there is an issue with our rentals we welcome the renter to contact us at any time during their stay and we will rectify the situation as fast as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CT
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MA
Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2013
Thanks for the great review, we are very happy you liked it. We look forward to your next stay with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Billerica
Reviewed July 13, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MA
Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing