We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Portsmouth Harbor Lighthouse
from $245.99
More Info
from $245.99
More Info
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
51
33
7
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
51
33
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coast guard great view light house open house nice visit acadia national park short drive great tour non profit organization history lesson climb the stairs volunteer staff mid october surrounding area new hampshire worth the trip beautiful location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not only is this a beautiful lighthouse, the docents gave excellent descriptions of its history and how it works. The climb to the top was fairly easy and remarkable view of harbor.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Senioronabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this site on an sunny and warm late summer day during our Lighthouse tour. It stood out in the distance by its stateliness as we approached. It was definitely a place to spend time taking pictures of the beauty of the structure as well as the surrounding scenery.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank R8506AOlindam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019

For a small fee, you can hear about the lighthouse, the history of it and get to climb to the top. What an amazing view!! The volunteers are nice and very helpful!!! I can’t wait to go again!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank dlenane78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2019

We headed east to New Castle early morning, the smallest and easternmost town in New Hampshire, and the only one located entirely on islands with a population of 979 only, to see the Lghhouse. Yet, felt rather disappointed because the way to the lighthouse was locked at the Fort. Finally we could only see it from the beach and found it was under fixing. Anyway, we spent more time walking around the town and were surprised to find it a great place to tour around by bike or on foot and to live, for it had a fabulous living surroundings like a park! Many houses were built around the 18th century, ranches, cape code and colonial styles. Parking is easy and free.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank adabbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful historic lighthouse . Due to time we didn’t have the opportunity to do the tour , but from everything I have read it’s great. It’s location makes it a short drive from Boston and surrounding areas. This was the first of the light houses we saw while on our drive up the coast , north of Acadia National Park. Beautiful location, we will be back to tour and do more in the area . This trip was our favorite trip yet .

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank DaddyandCaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews