We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2009

I stayed at Wentworth by the Sea with my wife as sort of a second honeymoon. Overall we were disappointed. While the view was spectacular (if obscured a bit by power lines) the room and service were mediocre. The bathroom sink was plugged and it took 2 days to get someone to look at it. I accidentally broke a champagne flute the first night and we were unable to get someone to vacuum up the shards of glass. The television was terrible - they had obviously recently purchased nice HDTVs but still had standard def programming stretched to fit which looked terrible. To top it off there were ants in the room.

So in short there were lots of little things wrong that overall really made Wentworth by the Sea not really worth the money for us. We wish we had saved the $200 a night and stayed at the regular Marriot in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monopoler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,302 - 1,308 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2009

What a beautiful and historic resort! Can't say enough about the gorgeous view from my corner room at the southwest end of the building. Breakfast buffet in the restaurant was delicious, but was unimpressed with menus for lunch and dinner. Took most meals in town (Dolphin Striker, Oarhouse, Jumpin' Jack's Fish Cafe). Also experienced inconsistent housekeeping service.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stldrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I stayed at the Wentworth as a child and was thrilled to find that it had reopened. The hotel is lovely. We were "upgraded" though and had a huge condo suite but I would have preferred the "old hotel" section. The hotel was full and one must request the older part. Cannot wait to return and check out the historical section.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyingredhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed in a Marina Suites 2 bedroom 2 level suite (king beds) which was quite spacious with 2 great balconies facing the marina and marina pool (the larger main pool was nearby). We had a living room, small kitchen with dishwasher and 2 bathrooms plus a clothes washer/dryer. We were very close to the Latitudes restaurant and used it 3 times while there and the main dining room once...preferred the menu at Latitudes as it offered more variety. Got a handicap room for some reason so it had a strange shower area and no tub. Room service was superb...their hamburger and their lobster sandwich were excellent. We had twice daily maid service ... with delicious chocolates at turn down time. Place looked full. We didn't have a rainy day the whole week. Free internet (hard wired) in the rooms.

Pet friendly hotel ($30 per stay) so the whole family went and enjoyed this hotel complex very much - have already booked for next year as a result. The women enjoyed shopping at the outlet malls in Kittery across the bridge. The Ice House down the road had great ice cream and a number of other casual foods.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gr8adman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed at this great resort August 16-19 (during a major heat wave of 90+ degree weather!). We had a fabulous lunch the day we arrived at the main dining room - it appears very formal and stuffy but it is not. The staff were very attentive and the food was great. Had the lobster roll - it was huge!! You can definitely split!

The room was nice - we requested both via telephone before arriving and once we checked in for a mini frig to store drinks, etc however the front desk encouraged us to use the mini bar (take things out and put our stuff in). We did this however the mini bar frig is not cold so bring a cooler if you want to have water, sodas, etc.

Overall the resort is great - the main pool area was VERY crowded due to the weather. We had a blast regardless of the crowds. They do have an 'adults only' section which was a life saver while we were there. You could always get a chairs there without being crowded. They did run out of beach/pool towels however I think they were used to having so many people using the pool at one time during the hot days! No biggie - we just grabbed some from the indoor pool....

If you decide to eat at Latitudes (restaurant on the marina at the hotel) - go at an odd time. The place gets packed during lunch time hours. We went around 5:00 and it was empty - by 6:30 it was standing room only at the bar and the restaurant was full (they do not take reservations)

We did the breakfast plan and did the buffet everyday. The gentleman working the omelet station was wonderful. He had the patience of a saint with some 'demanding' guests. However he always had a smile and never missed a beat with everyone's requests.

The staff in the hotel were great. The only staff that appeared 'stuffy' and not as friendly as others were the front desk staff. Which is surprising since they are the first and last impressions you get with a resort....

We went to dinner at Jumpin' Jays Cafe in Portsmouth and it was great as well. Very casual yet the food and wait staff were excellent.

The golf course next door to the resort looks awesome - however due to the heat we did not end up golfing. Hopefully next time!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patriots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Just got back from a week at the Wentworth and what a beautiful hotel! My husband planned the week away as a surprise for my birthday and anniversary - had absolutely no idea where we were going but was so pleasantly surprised! We were fortunate to have a luxury suite for 5 nights of our stay and then got to stay in the Admiral's Suite for the last night. Amazing rooms, and the service was outstanding! We couldn't have been happier! Great location for visiting the Seacoast area and making day trips to Maine. Food was probably the best of any Marriott we've ever stayed in. Thank you everyone for making our trip special!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ChefHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

There is no question that the rooms are spectacular, the views are great, but the staff at times seemed overwhelmed. I think that during the summer the weddings get priority and the small things are overlooked. For example, the pool is crowded and people are thirsty and 40 minutes is just too long to wait for a drink. They should employ more than one bartender. People were receiving warm beer because
the beer had not been refrigerated and they ran out of cold beer. Also,
the work out room had no cups to drink water. In 95 degree heat, these
little things should be thought of in advance. The poor waitresses at the pool had to bear the brunt of the guests' complaints and were so
overworked. Also, for the price you pay for a room, I think the front
desk or concierge should be able to Mapquest directions. I was directed to a PC down in the basement floor to do the directions myself. In Monterey when I stayed at the Intercontinental, they were
happy to print our directions for me.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzyd43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
6.6 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range: $262 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing