We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Grand Old Hotel of your Dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Grand Old Hotel of your Dreams”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have been here many times over the years as it is close for us, yet you feel worlds away. The Wentworth is like an elegant cruise ship rising from the peninsula, surrounded by water views and not much else. Yet it is only 10-15 minutes from fun downtown Portsmouth. The outdoor pool area is quiet, beautiful and has been redone this year, featuring better marina patio views and cozy seating areas and a firepit by the bar. The outdoor hot tub is wonderful and the pool usually warm. We always love watching the bridal parties take photos in the beautiful garden areas, as the ballrooms and porches are weekend hot spots for weddings. The Wenthworth's main dining area still has the most reasonable breakfast buffet around! Indoor pool, hot tub and outdoor deck hot tub for rainy days or evenings. Marina restaurant Latitudes a nice place to eat outdoors. The rooms are all different here, but beds super comfy and décor lovely. Just one of our favorite hotels anywhere, far and wide!!

Room Tip: might want to inquire if a larger room (layouts really vary) or a water view is available as an upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    344
    129
    79
    38
See reviews for
318
690
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, NH
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We have stayed at this property several times, usually to celebrate a special occasion. We reserved a suite as we usually do.

When we went to our suite and when we unlocked the door it sems as though the security lock that you flip was engaged. As it turns out there was a second door that was accessible. Seems as though housekeeping should have taken care of that detail. Additionally there was a step between the two rooms but there was no caution sign or warning about it and both my wife and I nearly fell a few times until we became used to the fact that there was a step there.

Without exception all staff that we encountered in the restaurands and front desk were welcoming and firendly.

Room Tip: Avoid room 426 that has the step between the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waltermNashua_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2014

On our way up the East Coast we stayed here one night in early June.
The hotel is huge. The restoration done on it is simply beautiful. Our room was nice, very comfortable bed, and roomy.
Breakfast was delicious and the staff pleasant. This was not our destination as we were traveling North to Acadia National Park but we would stay here again.
Worth the price

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mydogjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Ok so seriously, they put my husband and I in their wedding brochure the year after we were married, but that isn't why I give them 5 stars. This place was hands down incredible. I went to Newport, RI wanting to get married by the ocean and it was overpriced and underwhelming. The day after we went to Wentworth by the Sea, and they took care of EVERYTHING. When I say everything. The price includes, dinnner, 4 hours open bar, 4 hot and 3 cold hors d'oeuvres during cocktail hour, the cake, the centerpieces, petit fours to compliment the cake, presidential service, and a suite for the bride and groom the night of the wedding. The vendors they use are top of the line. The food in incredible, and the service is outstanding. As your guests come into dinner from the downstairs, they serve champagne to the guests with raspberries in it. They recently redid their main dining area and called it Salt. It is just modern enough keeping the old world charm of the original structure. The best part is it is right on the water. The views are amazing, the sun setting is unmatched in the area. The bathrooms in the rooms have heated floors!!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room facing the water on the 4th floor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krismcdavid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I just spent a weekend at the Wentworth by the Sea. All of the staff are very friendly and accommodating. We had a corner room which was beautiful with a view overlooking the bay. We loved the heated bathroom floor. Our only complaint is that the room was located above the ballroom and there was a wedding going on Saturday night. When we went back to our room around 9:30 we found that the music was extremely loud. Fortunately, it ended by 11:00. We ate dinner in the bar both Friday and Saturday night. They serve the same menu as the main restaurant and we were having drinks so we just decided to stay there for dinner. The food is excellent ! The pool bar is also fantastic. Great views overlooking the river and great drinks. The furniture is so comfy you just want to sit there all night. There is also a nice walking path that goes out to the State Park. One other little disappointment was that we were charged $5.00 each night for parking. Not cool when you're paying over $300.00 a night.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the function rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I celebrated a wedding anniversary here a few weeks ago... The staff was outstanding (great customer service) and the overall ambiance was historic yet updated and clean. We also visited Salt restaurant, the bar, and the spa, so we never actually left the property all weekend! The room service breakfast was good, too. One small complaint: On Saturday afternoon, we were out on the lawn enjoying the (finally) beautiful weather... until the groundskeeper decided to start mowing the lawn. It seemed so odd, because people were arriving for weddings, other people were in the nearby pool, and still others like us were trying to enjoy the peace and quiet of the gardens. Why they chose that very busy, sunny Saturday afternoon to start running the lawn mower, I'll never know... But it left us no choice but to scurry back inside. So that was pretty disappointing. But overall we had a great trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedishBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed her one night of our anniversary trip. It was an absolutely beautiful place! All the staff was very friendly and professional from the bellman to the front desk to the exceptional concierge (I think his name was George) We had a super cute corner room - everything was really clean - loved the heated floor in the bathroom! Comfy bed, great towels! We had lunch at the pool bar - it was so adorable. Navy & white decor - was so fresh and clean! Loved watching the people down at the dock working and relaxing on their boats. Our waiter Ben was great! The lobster roll was delicious! We walked all around the grounds and sat in almost every chair...the landscaping was so beautiful! We had breakfast at Salt and it was delicious! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room...so bright and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovescolorado2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
6.6 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing