We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Get-Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Weekend Get-Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was looking for a quiet night in a luxury hotel. A busy business week had passed. When requesting a quiet room, the Front Desk staff went right to work. I was give an end-facing room on the top floor. I could see the might Atlantic Ocean from my window. The bath? An elegant bear-claw tub and a walk-in shower. Most of the quests seemed to also be there for peace and quiet. The pool was nice, yet needs better ventilation. I tried to read the Wall Street Journal pool side, yet the stuffy air in the enclosed pool area made me go back to my room.

Mary, Guest Services Navigator, was very helpful. She is well-versed about the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Towels changed when requested. So too are the bed linens. Heavy glass cups in the room. Not plastic throw-aways.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woopiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    308
    107
    68
    32
See reviews for
279
604
24
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

love this resort. been going since it opened. after staying in all of the different styled rooms in the main hotel, we started staying in the marina suites when they opened and have never looked back. great location,great food,great rooms,the best staff. they will literally bring you anything that you can think of to your suite. just 20 steps to the private pool and all of the towels you can handle. full service suites with full kitchens and 1 1/2 baths. just fabulous and worth the expense.

Room Tip: get the poolside suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewer, ME
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed two nights this past weekend at the Wentworth and really enjoyed it. The Staff were truly top notch - every single person, from the doorman, to Trevor at the front desk, to Olga in the Lounge, were incredibly helpful and pleasant. It is clear that this property places a premium on providing excellent customer service - which is a refreshing treat these days. Room service was excellent - the food was timely and hot - quite a feat. The food was delicous - make sure to try the lobster and risotto fritters -they are amazing. The pool and hot tub were very nice. Construtive criticism: (1) consider revamping door handles/locks - in order to close the door you basically had to slam it which is not pleasant for other guests (2) consider lowering spa prices, especially in the off season. (We would have considered adding spa services to our stay but they were so out of line that we did not bother.) Also, for light sleepers, bring ear plugs - I couldn't tell if the people next to us were too loud or whether the walls were thin but it was annoying at times. All in all, it was a very nice getaway - would love to come back when the weather is warmer.

Room Tip: Upper floor, away from elevators. Rooms on the south side face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balentine84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is a nice property with an accommodating staff. However, a few little things keep me from giving it the highest rating.

The property is on the water -- currently a bit hard to find with GPS because of local bridges being out. Not the hotel's issue but do beware if you're relying on a nav system to get you there. Call ahead and have them send you directions.

Check-in was very quick. There are only two elevators for a very large property but, surprisingly, never a wait. Rooms can be a LONG walk from the elevators so, if mobility is an issue, be sure to ask for something fairly close. Views from the rooms vary but most have some sort of water view.

The basic king rooms are reasonably spacious and modernized. There is a desk and small couch. Desk chairs vary in comfort (in two stays, one chair was great and the other terrible). Bed is comfortable. Bathroom is modernized with ample space. There is an in-room mini-bar, a safe, and bathrobes. There isn't an overabundance of soundproofing so, if your neighbor takes a shower at 4 am, you'll know it. Overall, rooms are fine but I didn't find them special in any way -- nothing wrong but also not memorable.

The restaurant is both good and bad at the same time. The food is quite good -- many choices and each of them was tasty (pasta with shrimp and lobster is a standout). This is true for breakfast and dinner. The downside is the service and atmosphere. When the restaurant is even moderately crowded, service is beyond slow. We spent more than 90 minutes on a two-course dinner, and breakfast routinely took 30 minutes unless you limited yourself to the buffet (which, BTW, is good). The acoustics in the restaurant are terrible -- something about the design of the ceiling means everyone can hear conversations from other tables at a very loud decibel level. It's almost impossible to have a quiet, or private, conversation -- or not to hear those around you.

The concierge lounge was essentially closed (due to the off season). There was a cooler with cold soft drinks/water but the room smelled horribly stale (think of a room that hasn't been aired out for six months). Not inviting. Things are probably better in the high season.

The hotel is not walking distance from anything. Downtown Portsmouth is about a 10-minute drive. Not a problem provided you have transportation and, as noted, the hotel provide most amenities you could want.

The hotel staff is anxious to make your stay pleasant and, overall, this hotel pleases. However, the differences between good and excellent are found in the minor details and a few of these are lacking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisstheDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed two nights for a conference and found the hotel to be exceptional. Third floor room with a small deck (standing only). Room very nicely appointed. If I had to complain about something, I wish there were more plugs by the desk.
Beautiful view of the estuary, the tall pines, and with a little light snow, quite magical.
Only $5/night to valet. BARGAIN!
The pool was clean and warm. Lots of towels and cold water. Inside hot tub a bit too hot, but outside hot tub was beautiful, lightly scented with something herbal. Could have been just a bit cleaner (some sand, but I guess that is to be expected with an outdoor spa tub).
Food service for the conference was excellent. White glove service at lunch was impressive.
SALT, restaurant and bar was terrific. Had a wonderful dinner in the main restaurant, although I was a bit far away from my partner (table too long for two people). The menu and a tasteful variety of items from flatbread($10) to lamb shanks $36). a glass of domaine chandon for $10; I thought was a bargain.
Conference price for a Sunday night and Monday night was $129/night.....I understand the prices can be much higher during peak periods. I thought this was an unbelievable bargain.
Loved it!

Room Tip: Higher is probably better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have vacationed several times at the Wentworth and we love it. In particular, two staff members distinguished themselves on our last trip this past week. Lemroy McLean , restaurant manager, and Trevor Cross at the front desk are terrific and excel at their service orientation and making us feel like valued guests. Bravo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stopped in for Sunday brunch and found it to be quite nice. We were a party of 11 and all enjoyed the morning meal. On average the dress was business casual or above. There were a few in jeans and sweatshirts but a very few at that.
The atmosphere was nice. Jazz musicians playing away in the background. Not too loudly but just enough for pleasant background music,
For a buffet the food was very good. Everything i tried was good quality and cooked well. I found no dry chicken or cold eggs or anything that was off. A quick rundown of food available but by no means all inclusive list.Shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, oysters on the half shell, roast beef, turkey, fish, an assortment of fresh fruits and veggies, omelet station, and all the usual selection of breakfast items and some great deserts.
The service was excellent, the restaurant and bathrooms were very clean.
I'll go back again sometime..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tempest170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
11.0 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 42 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 42 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 588 Wentworth Road, New Castle, NH 03854
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing