We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but far from perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very nice, but far from perfect”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in January, 2014. We stayed in the West Turret Suite. While the room was nice, it frankly was inconvenient to use. It is a two floor room, with a small bedroom and nice bathroom on the first floor, and the living room on the second floor. There is a very steep and narrow spiral staircase leading to the second floor. The living room was sparsly furnished with old and worn furniture, a small TV, and three dim lights. It was very difficult to bring our wine and snacks up and down while holding on to the railing. This is most definitely NOT a room for an older person, or folks with any sort of physical challenges! The bedroom, as noted, was small. It did have a very nice view of the harbor and Isle of Shoals in the distance. There was a small TV in the bedroom, along with a stocked mini-frig. The bathroom was nice, with a large shower (no tub) and heated marble floors. At least on this stay, housekeeping service was well below average. Our bathroom amenities were not restocked on the second day, our coffee supply was not replenished, and the ice bucket was left with water both days from the previous evening's ice. One morning we asked that the room be cleaned while we were out, but when we returned 3 1/2 hours later it was untouched. The mini-frig was never re-stocked. We'll give the hotel a pass on the poor housekeeping this time as we have had better luck in the past. As for the room choice, we'll opt for a less expensive suite next time (we have stayed in a very nice king suite in the past).
The property itself is a wonderful old hotel that has been restored. It has period furnishings and decor. My wife loved her massage in the spa. The fitness room is small and only has limited equipment, but it sufficed. We did note that the lobby was very cold due to the doors being opened repeatedly. The doormen actually wore overcoats inside. I'm not sure there is much that can be done about this, short of remodeling the main entrance. I will review the restaurant and lounge, SALT, in a separate review.

Overall, this is a very nice property, with lots of old world charm. However, there is room for improvement in service. We do recommend that you visit, just don't have great expectations for five star (or even four star) service.

Room Tip: Avoid the Turret suites. Opt for the less expensive, larger and more user friendly king suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MainePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WentworthByTheSea, General Manager at Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding our Turret suite and your stay. Over the last year we have been working closely with our design team, and we are excited to announce that our suites and guest rooms will be re-modeled starting at the end of 2014. We are taking all guest feedback into consideration with the room layout, and certainly appreciate everything that you have mentioned. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael O'Shaughnessy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    351
    130
    81
    39
See reviews for
323
700
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here for the MLK long weekend with our two kids under 4. We had a great time. We had a spacious room on the 4th floor with lovely views. My kids enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub and the overall ambience of the location. The restaurant, SALT, was quite good and a cut above the typical. The location was great and we also popped over to the Seacost Science Center in Rye, which was worth the trip for the seaside locale and fun for the kids. The Great Common, down the road, was also a nice diversion with views of two lighthouses. We had a great lunch at the Friendly Toast in Portsmouth as well. Overall it was a great little winter getaway for us. The staff was kind to my kids and was very accommodating. Never having been to the hotel before, I was pleasantly surprised to see the clean and upscale restaurant and think they actually treated the space tastefully. I was glad it wasn't Ye Olde Tavern By the Sea, so to speak, and more of a refreshing space.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCMANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Last time we stayed at the Wentworth was more than 2 years ago so we were shocked to see the new restaurant SALT that they built in the historic hotel. I am really sorry they felt the need to install an ultra modern wine bar in one of oldest hotels in the region. Other than that, our stay was, as usual, very pleasant. The location of the hotel alone warrants a stay and the staff are wonderful. We stayed in the Admiral's Suite, which is worth getting if you can, though you definitely have to be able to climb quite a few stairs. After seeing the views from the turret, it definitely feels worth the effort. Overall grateful that the hotel was saved, but wish there had been more of an effort to preserve the classic interior.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
97 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife loved last year's Christmas present of a stay at the Wentworth so much I repeated it this past Christmas. I reserved a package that included dinner in their newly remodelled dinig room. Our room was large and very comfortable, with a marvellous view of the mouth of the Pisquataqua river and the Ilses of Shoals beyond. The resort is just downstream from Portsmouth and across from Kittery, ME with their myriad attrations. The dinner package included anysalad, entree, and dessert: you only pay for alcohol and the tip - an excellent value at a first-class restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Chose the Wentworth in New Castle to celebrate my husband's 80th birthday. Couldn't have chosen a better place!. Elegant, without being ostentatious. I selected one of their rooms with an ocean view. Surprised with a Happy Birthday card with candy in room. It was very comfortable with a large bathroom (also with view) and the added surprise of a heated floor - great in January! Our dinner was fantastic and they brought out my husband's birthday desert on a large plate with "Happy Birthday" written on it. Staff was first class as well. We live 4 hours away but will return for another get-away again - who needs birthdays to simply enjoy this special place?

Room Tip: Room with a view of ocean is well worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Wentworth is a part of paradise just outside of one of our favorite cities, Portsmouth, NH. The service, friendly staff, impeccable rooms and superb dining is hard to match. New Castle Island, where this "castle hotel" sits on a bluff overlooking the water, is a treat any time of year.
Try the lobster bisque in the newly renovated dining room, SALT. You won't be disappointed, we promise!

Room Tip: Ask for room 422. Beautiful views, suite, two bathrooms….charm, charm, charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Veteran's wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Wentworth by the Sea spa weekend is one of a kind. The hotel is beautiful, our room had a fantastic view. Then we went to the spa, where we were pampered like I have never been pampered before. First day a massage, The Wentworth Signature, then lunch at SALT, then the outdoor hottup and swimming in the indoor pool. The beds were so comfortable I had a great night sleep. Next day facial at the spa and again a wonderful experence. The service was great in every aspect of this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 402 which was facing the ocean but I am sure every room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
6.6 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
391 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing