We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salt lived up to the hype”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Salt lived up to the hype”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Went on a thursday night with my husband. Such a great atmosphere. Sat at the bar and received prompt and friendly service and delicious cocktails from the menu. The bartenders on duty and the staff did a fantastic job while hosting to a full restaurant. Was really happy to see how well things are going over there. Will be back ASAP.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcoco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    351
    130
    81
    39
See reviews for
323
700
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We didn't get to stay at this beautiful hotel, but came via boat to a beautiful lunch. We were given a tour of the hotel and grounds and cannot wait to return to stay. It seems to have everything you would want from tennis courts to pools to their location on the water. The management team was warm and inviting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissyb1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
649 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Though we were encountering the first days of a crisp New England autumn, we took a couple of days away to enjoy the ambiance of the elegant Wentworth by the Sea. The lobby was warmed by the large fireplace and Susan, the front desk clerk who checked us in, was even warmer. We had a beautiful one-bedroom suite at the marina and, though a bit of a hike back to the main building, the view over the marina was stunning. We also appreciated that our unit had a full kitchen, fireplace and wonderful whirlpool tub. A stroll along the waterfront at sunset was stunning, and meandering through the lovely, inviting gardens during the day both helped to make our stay exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, NH
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our third stay at the Wentworth since it opened ten years ago. All of the employees that we came in contact with were warm, friendly and helpful.

During the past year the lounge are and dining room were remodeled. The gues rooms and prior restaurant and lounge were had a secor that was reminiscent of the hotel's early existence. However the new decor is very modern and does not seem to fit the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waltermNashua_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from our trip to Boston, NH and Maine, with Wentworth being our main base camp. The hotel was just lovely and more than we expected. We did stay with Marriott points and were upgraded to a 1 bedroom townhouse on the water near the marina. What a difference staying in such spacious accommodations made! Full kitchen, den and HUGE air jet tub in the upstairs bedroom. The room was gorgeous and up to date. Could not have been happier! We ate 2 nights at their new restaurant SALT and 1 night at Latitudes. I HIGHLY recommend SALT. WOW!! Everything I always look for in a restaurant. Great food and great choices, from small plates to full entrees. We sat at the chef's bar one night and it was a great experience. Latitudes was just OK. Make your reservations early at SALT....it is one busy place! Wentworth was a gorgeous property and the perfect location. I would absolutely recommend and go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDecorator99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

3rd visit t the property, charming location. Hotel is very clean, marble bathrooms, comfy robes, very comfortable beds. Staff was very helpful in finding us a quiet room. Used the spa, it was good, but prices keep climbing up, really starting to be hard to justify spending that much $$$ on a massage you can get anywhere else for 1/2 price. Ate at SALT restaurant, service, food - it was all very good, from oysters to mushroom risotto - even simple burgers were good. Pool was very relaxing? no children were there. Good hotel for couples, friends, I hope it stays that way. Would not take my kids there and was glad to see not many other people did:))

Room Tip: The higher up - the better the view:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wtravel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent a night here prior to visiting UNH with our son. We stayed in a two bedroom marine suite, which was great for a family of 3 with a teenaged son. It was really more like a water side condo/townhouse than a suite. It was two levels with a kitchen, dining area, and living room on the first level. A few steps up led to a full bath and bedroom and then the master bedroom and bath. Particularly delightful were the two balconies that overlooked the marina and pool. The first was off the living room and the second smaller one was off the master bedroom.

If our son decides to attend UNH, we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fosdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
6.6 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
391 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing