We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was top shelf!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, NH
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Everything was top shelf!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our third stay at the Wentworth since it opened ten years ago. All of the employees that we came in contact with were warm, friendly and helpful.

During the past year the lounge are and dining room were remodeled. The gues rooms and prior restaurant and lounge were had a secor that was reminiscent of the hotel's early existence. However the new decor is very modern and does not seem to fit the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waltermNashua_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    344
    129
    77
    37
See reviews for
314
684
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from our trip to Boston, NH and Maine, with Wentworth being our main base camp. The hotel was just lovely and more than we expected. We did stay with Marriott points and were upgraded to a 1 bedroom townhouse on the water near the marina. What a difference staying in such spacious accommodations made! Full kitchen, den and HUGE air jet tub in the upstairs bedroom. The room was gorgeous and up to date. Could not have been happier! We ate 2 nights at their new restaurant SALT and 1 night at Latitudes. I HIGHLY recommend SALT. WOW!! Everything I always look for in a restaurant. Great food and great choices, from small plates to full entrees. We sat at the chef's bar one night and it was a great experience. Latitudes was just OK. Make your reservations early at SALT....it is one busy place! Wentworth was a gorgeous property and the perfect location. I would absolutely recommend and go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDecorator99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

3rd visit t the property, charming location. Hotel is very clean, marble bathrooms, comfy robes, very comfortable beds. Staff was very helpful in finding us a quiet room. Used the spa, it was good, but prices keep climbing up, really starting to be hard to justify spending that much $$$ on a massage you can get anywhere else for 1/2 price. Ate at SALT restaurant, service, food - it was all very good, from oysters to mushroom risotto - even simple burgers were good. Pool was very relaxing? no children were there. Good hotel for couples, friends, I hope it stays that way. Would not take my kids there and was glad to see not many other people did:))

Room Tip: The higher up - the better the view:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wtravel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent a night here prior to visiting UNH with our son. We stayed in a two bedroom marine suite, which was great for a family of 3 with a teenaged son. It was really more like a water side condo/townhouse than a suite. It was two levels with a kitchen, dining area, and living room on the first level. A few steps up led to a full bath and bedroom and then the master bedroom and bath. Particularly delightful were the two balconies that overlooked the marina and pool. The first was off the living room and the second smaller one was off the master bedroom.

If our son decides to attend UNH, we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fosdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I remember our first visit to the Wentworth. We were so impressed with the effort that both the contractors, architects and the designers put into refurbishing the hotel. The hotel was so beautifully and tastefully decorated, from the front porch to the hotel rooms. The design team captured the historic charm however were very careful not to comprimise on comfort and modern luxuries. We have been staying at the Wentworth at least once a year, every year for the past 10 years. We loved the hotel so much that we decided to have our wedding reception there, even though we are from New York.

We were so disappointed to return this year to find that Salt had replaced Roosevelt's and that chrome and bubble fixtures replaced the once opulant and tasteful fixtures and decor. The new space would be nice in a modern hotel however it is not fitting for the grand old dame that she is, The Wentworth of the Sea.

While I can understand the need to expand the bar area and I do realize that updates and improvements are required, it wasn’t necessary to take such drastic measures. Most people don’t expect nor want to find California in New England.

I should also add that the updated decor in the concierge lounge was even more distasteful and I hope that this is not a sign of where the hotel is moving in the future.

So disappointing!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank me13Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Marriott Wentworth by the Sea. This is a beautiful hotel with great water views. The property is very well maintained. We liked our room and the lobby area. We had lunch at the Latitudes restaurant in the hotel. This is a waterfront restaurant with excellent food. We were very impressed with all aspects of this hotel, and I want to make a special mention of the very high quality staff. Every member of the team at this location was very helpful. We were delighted to find that the hotel is just about 3 miles from Portsmouth, New Hampshire. That made it easy to spend an evening in Portsmouth Downtown, and have dinner at a local restaurant. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay for us at Wentworth by the Sea.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narinder M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Wentworth for our 4 year wedding anniversary this past August. We were married at the Wentworth and we go back every year to celebrate. We just love it there. When we checked in (8/22 at 11:30am) the young girl was very rude and wasn't wearing a name tag. No smile, not friendly, and gave a poor first impression which brought our mood from excited to bummed out and feeling like we weren't important. She was very rude to the couple in front of us too. My husband mentioned that it was our anniversary and she didn't even say Congratulations. Come on, that's such an easy thing to say! I wish she had a name tag on because she was the only person we encountered that wasn't fabulous. Everyone else was so nice and went above and beyond for us, we will certainly be back. Love the pool and the drinks/food. Salt was very nice and very trendy but we miss Roosevelt's. It was our favorite bar and brings back a lot of fond memories from our wedding.

One other thing that left me a little disappointed was even though we had a fabulous room nothing was sent up to us for our anniversary. It's certainly not mandatory but I work at a hotel in Boston and when a guest mentions a special occasion we send up chocolate covered strawberries. It's a really nice touch. We haven't seen that from the Wentworth in the 4 anniversaries we spent there and altough it won't keep us from coming back it would certainly make it even more special for us and make us feel more important. I even put a note in the reservation and still nothing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vineyard712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
6.6 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing