We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury by the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Luxury by the sea”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This historic property on the island of New Castle on the Maine coast is perfect for an all-out luxury getaway, event (a lovely wedding took place when we were there), or small conference, especially if you're coming by boat. The marina is worth the visit even if you're a landlubber. Standard room is cozy, but well appointed. The restaurant is absolutely first-class--we ate on the deck during our summer getaway. The grounds are magnificently designed and maintained. We're not golfers, but the course looked delightful as we drove by. Not for the budget-minded.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    352
    131
    82
    41
See reviews for
329
708
28
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This 3 day getaway was perfect, even the water is delicious. The pool staff is attentive and polite. The pool menu has some healthy choices. SALT is the new restaurant, comfortable seats and wonderfully prepared fresh food. It is pricey but worth every penny.
The property is somewhat hilly so difficult to maneuver for any person handicapped, a golf cart would help to move guests around in this environment.

Room Tip: Water view incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Fantastic location. Rooms are big, clean and upscale. Beautiful views of the bay. Nice restaurant with outdoor tables for a relaxing meal. Guests can take advantage of access to the private golf course. Hotel is 15 minutes from downtown Portsmouth.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWAJR62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I booked this as a last minute getaway for my family before school starts, it was a little pricey but I figured it was worth it for the amenities. My kids loved both pools and wanted to spend all thier time there, the room was very nice, with a small balcony, the hotel itself is stunning, and the grounds emaculate, very nice gardens, the front desk was always smiling and plesant, the restaurants are not great, but there are many places to eat around the area, try Golden egg for breakfast. My family had a great time at the Wentworth, my kids want to go back already.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loralie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Roomy two story suites perfect for a family of four. Beautiful views of the harbor. Gorgeous grounds. Great restaurants on site and several within walking distance of property. Hotel has a vintage feel...it dates back over 100 years I think. The service in general was average. Would have loved a wait staff by the pool. Concierge lounge average too.

Room Tip: Definitely choose two story suites that FACE the pool and harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 571rebeccac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We took our family here for a New England vacation. We used our Marriott points with cash to pay for this 2 bedroom suite. This really helped . The main hotel was beautiful but it was booked. We went in July. We were treated on our arrival by a friendly staff. Our 2 bedroom suite was down by the marina. It was 2 stories. Very big and fit our family just right. There was a large kitchen and living area with a fireplace and a balcony with a view of marina. There were 2 bedrooms upstairs with one bathroom on stairwell and a large master bath with a balcony. The balconies had the cutest rockers and such a nice view. There was a private pool there at these rooms as well as the hotel pool. There are two restaurants . And since we are platinum members there was concierge level at the hotel. We used both restaurants and they were very good. They get crowded so I recommend reservations. There was a fully stocked kitchen . This was like a condo more then a room and we just loved . From the hotel we were able to tour all around and even drove to Kennebunkport and Portland Maine. We whale watched except after 5 hours we barely saw one . We had a great trip here and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you need a two bedroom, kitchen and room for a family try the marina rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms.go-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have been here twice to eat because of my in laws. They tend to like atmosphere verses food. I prefer food over atmosphere any day. Both times my husband and I were very disappointed in the meals. The building itself is beautiful and well done. I am glad they saved it after many years of being abandoned. Area itself is stunning. I will never go to eat there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildbirdp1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
6.6 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
393 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing