We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

As soon as we approached this property we were smiling! I had read some reviews that were not so favorable and I was a little worried. Having just spent 5 nights at the Wentworth I don't understand those reviews. My husband is a platinum member of Marriott and has stayed in many Marriott properties. He was very pleased with this property and said it is not like any Marriott he has stayed in. It is not owned by Marriott but rather run by Marriott. We were in room 403 which had a water view and was in the main building. The room was a good size for 3 of us (2 double beds), clean and nicely decorated- very comfortable! The food in the concierge lounge was exceptional! The staff in the concierge lounge were very helpful and really nice! The outdoor pool and the indoor pool both have hot tubs as well and are very pretty, clean and the water temperature was perfect! My husband golfed at the very close Wentworth By the Sea country club and had a great day, while my daughter and I had a Spa visit. The Spa is OK not one of the best we have been to. It is very close to the indoor pool and you can hear the kids in the pool, not relaxing when having a message.
The new Salt restaurant has an fabulous view. We ate here 2 times during our stay. The first night the sun was setting and it was an incrediable shade of pink, like something in a magazine!
The decor is really pretty. The staff works hard to please but needs to smooth things out. Glasses are always dropping at the bar and everyine seems frazzled! Staff is very young and seems inexperienced. The food is good but not up to the quality of the atmosphere and prices.
Overall Wentworth is a beautiful property and we would return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phoebe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    341
    126
    76
    37
See reviews for
311
676
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
key west and new york
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Wentworth was built in 1874 and is a lovely big resort. Marriott has renovated it and much of the old character is gone,but they did rescue the building and beautiful site. Our room was large and comfortably decorated with a big comfy bed, lovely view and all the amenities.

The one criticism is that they do not have decent espresso! I like a latte in the morning,but they make it with a Nespresso machine which is not real expresso. The staff is a bit naive and undertrained considering that it is a five-star resort. The young girl checking me in didn't know the cost of breakfast buffet, for instance. All the help was young and friendly, but there were no well-experienced staff.
However we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and visits to the historic sites of Portsmouth and the beaches.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is very good but could be excellent. Customer-orientation is not what one expects from such a hotel. Examples: A 10 minute wait in line for breakfast even though the restaurant was half empty, room not cleaned during the day when we were out for 4+ plus hours on first day of stay, on the second day of our stay my wife wasn't feeling well so we stayed in the room until lunch time and asked for our room to be cleaned while we were having lunch, we returned to our room over an hour later, our room had still not be cleaned, we called the front desk, they promised to send housekeeping immediately, after waiting for 20 minutes, still no housekeping, I escalated again personally at the front desk...hopefully now the room will be cleaned. We found chips in the minibar which were almost a year after their "Best Before" date. Trash collected from rooms lying in bags in the corridors for hours. Seems like a lack of attention to detail and poor supervision is causing these problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterNCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were expecting so much more from this hotel after seeing it was reviewed as the number 1 hotel in New Hampshire by a few sites. Check in was easy enough although we noticed right away that the staff was not very friendly or helpful. The lobby itself was mediocre. Nothing great. When we finally made it to our room (it was ALLLL the way at the other end of the hotel building from the elevator) we opened the door to a disappointing room. It was very small, poorly/barely decorated and just uninviting. Not homely or comforting at all. We had two full beds in our room. We felt like we were staying in a cheap motel rather than what was supposed to be an upscale hotel. The bathroom was ok. Just the basics.

We stayed at the hotel from Thursday to Sunday. In Friday morning I went downstairs in search of the concierge to get some helpful tips and/or advice. Now this was a first for me, there was NO concierge! I asked the woman working at the front desk when the concierge would be in and she said I don't think we have anyone coming in today. How do you not have a concierge??!!?? So I proceeded to ask the woman for her help, assuming that she was from the area or at least the state! She knew NOTHING! She couldn't even tell me about the closest beach or any beach or site seeing area. She just handed me a couple of useless brochures clearly hoping that I'd just go away. As we were leaving on Saturday morning around noon, I noticed that there was still no concierge.

The hotel itself is not located on the water. You cannot access the ocean or beach from the hotel. That was another disappointment. You have to drive everywhere. The beaches were close by, some within a five minute drive. Downtown Portsmouth was about a ten minute drive from the hotel. We drove to the Kancamagus Highway one day, and that was about a three hour drive. Now keep in mind that's just to get I the beginning of the highway. Once there, you continue to drive on it and stop alongside to explore the beauty of the mountains, which was excellent and highly recommended by the way.

Overall, we regretted booking our stay at Wentworth by the Sea. We would've been happier staying at a Residence Inn Marriott or a Hilton. This hotel was not welcoming, either by the staff or its ambience/decor. And it definitely was not worth the high price. We loved New Hampshire as it is a beautiful state.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truffles17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for five days in one of the two king bedroom marina suites facing the harbor. The view was fabulous, although we wish the weather was better. The environment and vibe of the hotel was nice, and there was plenty to do if you're interested in a relaxing vacation. The private marina pool was great for the kids, and for us. We didn't use the general pool at all. The service of the hotel itself was nice, whenever we had a problem and called they were happy to help. Housekeeping could've been better. They always came at the worst times, early in the morning or late in the afternoon. We needed to call for housekeeping service, and it was adequate at best. There was definitely a language barrier with the housekeeping individuals, it was very hard to communicate our housekeeping needs. For $600+ a night we were expecting better service in terms of housekeeping. We went to the spa too, which was fabulous and very relaxing. We will probably return and recommend it to all, we just wish that services in terms of housekeeping was better.

Room Tip: Marina haborside suites are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gry28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wentworth by the sea is a historic old hotel which was renovated in 2007 and is run by Marriot. The location is beautiful overlooking the marinas and bay. We had a corner room which had a beautiful view. The pool area is across the street has very nice snackbar/bar area with tables which overlook a beautiful marina,There is also an indoor pool . The dinning room , Salt, was excellent for both breakfast buffet and dinner. The town of Portsmouth is only 2 miles away but this is a beautiful relaxing place to stay. I would recommend here unless you want to be in Portsmouth proper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mesdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here one night on a trip to maine. While the room was small the furnishings were lovely and the bathroom had heated floors. The service was absolutely outstanding especially in the breakfast buffet. We had stayed here three years ago and the renovations were absolutely wonderful. THe price was very reasonable and would definitely stay they again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cary2664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
3.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing