We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little get away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a lovely property with great views! I went here with my best friend for a little get away, we tried the spa, the staff was lovely, the actual spa felt a tiny bit small but it was still nice. The room was a tiny bit musty, but I was just so happy to have a fantastic get away with my best friend the details were secondary.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank power_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

907 - 913 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was our third stay at the Wentworth over the past couple years and it continues to be our favorite place to stay in the Portsmouth area. We stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the harbor and beautiful landscaping, but there is no patio for any of the rooms. The rooms are very nice, but they lack a coffee maker which seems to have become a standard for many hotels and coffee which used to be in the lobby for early risers is now available only for purchase -certainly not a deal breaker, but a personal touch that is now absent. All in all, however, this is a very nice place to stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 50+phxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

What a beautiful hotel property! The grounds, as well as the building, are spectacular, and since it was springtime, the flowers were blooming and the landscaping was lush. Though our room was a bit on the small size, it was well appointed, clean and comfortable. We found the staff to be most accommodating and the facilities convenient, as well. The newly renovated restaurant, Salt, had not yet re-opened. We did have lunch at Latitudes and would have enjoyed sitting on the expansive deck had it not been over 90-F on the day we visited.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend getaway in May 2012 (not July 2012). The room was very comfortable, views were outstanding, the spa did an excellent job getting the knots out (could've used some changing facilities), and the hotel bar was a good spot to get a drink in the evening. The staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed in the older section of the hotel, which has settled, but the quirk of the uneven hallway floor and our sticky door was more charming than inconvenient thanks to the efforts of the prompt and friendly repairman. Despite being located in a tranquil island setting the easy access roads mean that Portsmouth, shopping, and dining were no more than a 10-15 minute ride away. Recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family and I have stayed at this hotel approximately ten times in the last few years, it is one of our favorite hotels and places to visit. The hotel has an old fashioned charm, but the rooms, spa, pools, and restaurants are very clean and updated. That's why we were so disappointed to see that they are completing changing the restaurant and lounge area, and making them more modern. One of our favorite parts of staying here was having a nice dinner in the classic dining room, or drinks in the wood paneled lounge or in front of the fireplace in the lobby. It appears from the renderings that the restaurant facilities will be more modern and set up as "chefs tables." It does not seem to go with the ambiance of the rest of the hotel, and looks more like a W lounge or something you would find in the city. I hope when the renovations are complete that this is not the case, and that the hotel maintains its New England feel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BostonSnorkelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Perfect spot for a quick getaway. The hotel is close enough to Portsmouth--a seaside town with oodles of New England charm--for all your dining and shopping needs, but also far enough away to feel like a secluded escape. The staff is courteous and friendly, and was quick to answer any and all questions and help when needed. We treated ourselves to in-room breakfast, which was affordable for room service prices and was better than we would have gotten at most restaurants. Plus, we got to eat it in bed. Hard to beat. We were sad we forgot our swimsuits because the pool area looked well-maintained and like a lot of fun. The hotel is reminiscent of the magnificent resorts of the past, and feels like stepping back in time (if only for a moment).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fig-e-pudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the family's favorite hotel ANYWHERE in the WORLD. Yes it is a Marriott. But my God - it sure doesn't look like one. They are pet friendly - they take the sheltie who gets admired by the staff. The food in the dining room (pretty formal) is extraordinary. The views are lovely - and I feel like we're stepping into another era. It is a remarkable hotel with remarkable facilities - there are condo like multiroom apartments down by the water. I've pulled a sailboat up to dock as well. It has everything. In fact I'm sorry I'm not there right now. I have stayed there probably 20 times - at different times of the year - even the winter when it is also charming.
Try it!!

Room Tip: water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nibor88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
11.0 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range: $225 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing