We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favorite hotels, but disappointed with the renovations to come”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of our favorite hotels, but disappointed with the renovations to come”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family and I have stayed at this hotel approximately ten times in the last few years, it is one of our favorite hotels and places to visit. The hotel has an old fashioned charm, but the rooms, spa, pools, and restaurants are very clean and updated. That's why we were so disappointed to see that they are completing changing the restaurant and lounge area, and making them more modern. One of our favorite parts of staying here was having a nice dinner in the classic dining room, or drinks in the wood paneled lounge or in front of the fireplace in the lobby. It appears from the renderings that the restaurant facilities will be more modern and set up as "chefs tables." It does not seem to go with the ambiance of the rest of the hotel, and looks more like a W lounge or something you would find in the city. I hope when the renovations are complete that this is not the case, and that the hotel maintains its New England feel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonSnorkelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    344
    129
    79
    38
See reviews for
318
691
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Perfect spot for a quick getaway. The hotel is close enough to Portsmouth--a seaside town with oodles of New England charm--for all your dining and shopping needs, but also far enough away to feel like a secluded escape. The staff is courteous and friendly, and was quick to answer any and all questions and help when needed. We treated ourselves to in-room breakfast, which was affordable for room service prices and was better than we would have gotten at most restaurants. Plus, we got to eat it in bed. Hard to beat. We were sad we forgot our swimsuits because the pool area looked well-maintained and like a lot of fun. The hotel is reminiscent of the magnificent resorts of the past, and feels like stepping back in time (if only for a moment).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fig-e-pudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the family's favorite hotel ANYWHERE in the WORLD. Yes it is a Marriott. But my God - it sure doesn't look like one. They are pet friendly - they take the sheltie who gets admired by the staff. The food in the dining room (pretty formal) is extraordinary. The views are lovely - and I feel like we're stepping into another era. It is a remarkable hotel with remarkable facilities - there are condo like multiroom apartments down by the water. I've pulled a sailboat up to dock as well. It has everything. In fact I'm sorry I'm not there right now. I have stayed there probably 20 times - at different times of the year - even the winter when it is also charming.
Try it!!

Room Tip: water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nibor88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I made two trips to the spa. One, a few years ago with my daughter for pedicures (not cheap). There was a bridal party there receiving services, and we were given short shrift. We were rushed, and given the "second tier" providers-like "Flo" from the diner attempting to do a spa service.
I received a gift certificate and went back today with my son for a full body massage for me and gentleman's facial for him, to the tune of 281.00.
We were 3 minutes late due to a traffic detour, checked in, and when I was delivered to my room the clock registered 11 minutes late. This was deducted from my 50 minutes. They were unapologetic and implied that it was the price of being late. This was on a Wednesday when there was little traffic at the spa.

The services were mediocre at best. Unacceptable for a Marriott property. Even the women answering the phone missed the mark.

I would NEVER go back and would highly suggest that you look elsewhere for Spa services.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LizHi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Wentworth by the Sea is a beautiful property located conveniently on the NH seacoast near Portsmouth. A friend and I spent a "girls weekend" there this Memorial Day weekend and brought my dog with us. Overall this property lives up to the Marriott brand with the added bonus of being truly "pet-friendly." The spa facilities are top notch and the property is beautiful for people and pets. My dog especially enjoyed the huge lawn, perfect for frisbee! The room service food was delicious.

The only negative for us was that the rooms are extremely noisy. I imagine this is largely a result of the hotel being in a historic building but we were woken up frequently by slamming doors and could hear children beginning before 6am each morning. Needless to say this is not ideal for a "relaxing" vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCTraveller323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
234 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Wentworth is probably one of the most iconic properties on the New Hampshire seacoast and we had the pleasure of staying here over the 2013 Memorial Day holiday. A stay here has been on our list for quite some time as its been years (decades?!) since I've been here last.

Made our reservations on-line being its a Marriott property. I was surprised at the rate I was able to obtain which was not much more than a downtown property or hotel on the interstate. We showed up for check-in around 3PM but unfortunately the room wasn't ready (check-in is normally 4PM). We left some bags with the bellman and gave the front desk our cell phone number to contact us when the room was ready. This gave us some time to stroll about the property and get some fresh air.

Another pleasure with the Wentworth is even with a full hotel there was plenty of parking available. All too often with properties like this there is a lack of parking or you are forced to use a valet service (which is not very efficient for frequently coming and going).

We were provided a room on the third floor and almost at one end of the hotel. Super clean - and more importantly - super quiet which was surprising given that the hotel was totally sold out. At the window is a step up to a sliding glass door and small balcony where you can take in the view and fresh air - such a change from hotel rooms that let you open a window 1-inch (or not at all). The room also had an adjoining door - have not seen that in ages. Something to consider if you're a family and want rooms that connect together.

You'd never know that this hotel is nearly 100 years old. Clearly the last refresh has brought it totally up-to-date while at the same time kept the ambiance of its original character. For those of us who have spent a lot of our life in hotels its a real pleasure to stay in a place that's not out of the same cookie cutter mold.

As a Marriott elite member we were provided with breakfast vouchers - membership has its benefits and here that alone is worth $30 for a couple. We found breakfast was worth taking the time for - great assortment of items including cooked to order. And we enjoyed seating in the smaller room off to the side (with lots of windows). The hotel also has a small private lounge on the third floor by the elevators for Marriott Gold and Platinum members. Looks like at times it may actually be staffed but it wasn't during our stay. There were drinks available in the evening, nice views and a great place you could spend some quiet time to work ...

There's an on-site tennis court, pool, spa ... we didn't make use of these but plenty of other people were. The hotel currently has renovations underway for some of its other dining facilities - we were surprised that the construction guys were even working on Memorial Day! Still - there is minimal noise and disruption (it was totally walled off and done very tastefully). There were plenty of pictures showing what is going on behind the scenes - we'll have to come back to check it out!

One thing that stood out during our stay: the staff. Amazing how friendly and cheerful EVERYONE was. It was a pleasure to be greeted and helped by a front door man. The front desk and concierge staff was also extremely efficient and helpful - certainly over and above. The bellman got our bags to our room almost as fast as we got there! Staff at breakfast were great as well - we had two gents working in our area and both went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The same can be said for the staff preparing made to order food as well. Even the housekeeping staff went out of their way to not only greet us but also ask how our stay was.

Bottom line: we enjoyed our stay so much that we're already looking at when we'll be returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
700 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We are Marriott Platinum and hosted a large wedding event here in Mid-May. Everything went off
perfectly and the wedding planner (Trish) and all the staff were superb. Excellent post-wedding meal.
We were given a one bedroom suite which was very nice and large enough to hold 20 people for Sunday brunch. The bathroom was especially nice. The hotel was remodeling the restaurant & bar area, but accommodated us with some good alternatives. The Wentworth itself is a great old building, nicely renovated by Marriott.
Would recommend this property to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
6.6 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing