We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every category”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I have gone here for the past five years. We've never been disappointed. We just returned and can never say enough about the service, ambiance, food, rooms, etc.,etc.. Go there and see for yourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

It was okay, the place just had the feeling it old and tired. The stayed in the row of town house style of rooms by the dock. The most exciting part for the boys was the stairs for their matchbox cars.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Txdelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We arrived and were given a free upgrade to a nicer room and given a complimentary hor dourves card if we choose to eat at their restuarant. The service with all employees - desk, cleaning staff, restuarant was top notch. Their concierge Edda provided great ideas for biking and walking and eating out and about the Portsmouth area. All her ideas and recommendations were spot on. The room was spacious and the facilty was as beautiful as it is historic. This is a clean and comfortable place to stay for business or pleasure. Portsmouth's downtown area has great shops and restuarants. The local attractions include nubble lighthouse, one of the most photographed light houses in the world and worth a sidetrip. Highly recommended place to stay for 2 or more days.

Room Tip: They have units right on the waterfront that are two story with two bedrooms, large kitchen and livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Wentworth many years ago, BC (before children) and now that our girls are older, we went back for our 23rd wedding anniversary/weekend getaway on the Romance Package. The only disappointment was that we arrived close to 5:30 p.m. on a busy Columbus Day weekend to find that our ocean-view room was only ocean view from the small sofa in the room. This early concern melted away as we enjoyed our delicious dinner in the dining room of lobster bisque, filet mignon, and champagne served Lindsay, the highly skilled, pleasant, wait staff member who knew just when to stop by to fill the champagne glasses and when to give us a moment to ourselves. The Spa staff were professional and the facilities were exceptional. I treated myself to a massage and brow shaping by the professional spa staff on duty. The gift shop staff members were also professional and pleasant. The breakfast buffet included in the package was delicious and enough to carry us through until dinner. The traditional dining room was warm and welcoming with it's roaring fireplace. This historic building appeared to be in exceptional condition, quite a feat considering the size and scale of the property. Front desk staff were attentive and answered every question we had throughout the weekend. After working in a AAA Four Diamond Resort for over 20 years and now working in a very challenging customer-focused career, it was certainly nice to be a customer and guest.

We are thinking of coming back with our two teen age daughters for a weekend. We know they'd love the spa, pool, beautiful rooms, and the chocolates in the dining room! We heard that the holiday lighting celebration coming up is a lovely time to be at the Wentworth.

P.S. The giant pumpkin and squash displays out front were lovely!

Room Tip: Large, king-bed room very comfortable even with very minimal ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingmore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was extremely impressed by WBTS. We stayed in a suite on the water. The pool is salt water, and was open at night for a midnight swim! The spa was perfection. The room was perfect, and we had a relaxing time. We will be back! Go here for a night away from the kids, or with your friends, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMRParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My friend and I stayed here on a guys golf trip. The hotel is fabulously located on a narrow spit of land in New Castle NH. It's about a 10 minute drive into Portsmouth. We had a fourth floor room that seemed a bit like a garret but had great views towards the Portsmouth navy yard. The room was spotless and well decorated.

We considered eating dinner at the hotel but the dining room seemed a bit stuffy so we opted to have dinner in Portsmouth. On the other hand breakfast the next morning was great and the staff was very attentive.

I recommend the Wentworth for couples and business travelers. May not be the best for kids.

Room Tip: Get one on the third or fourth floor so you have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upnatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

After staying at the Wentworth in Jackson & Bretton Arms Hotel, this did seem a little worn and torn from the summer/fall season. We visited the week after the Columbus Day holiday. However, the area is lovely, the view from the 3rd floor is fantastic, and the staff eager to help. We ate in the Main Dining Room and Cathy, our server, was professional, kind and knowledgeable - would be a great concierge in the Marriott family. The chef was flexible allowing me to have seared cod over the set-up for the salmon dinner. The desert of Sweet Fennel Ice Cream with a Sour Cherry Muffin was FANTASTIC. How often is that on a menu? After dinner drinks in the Roosevelt lounge introduced us to Ryan, one of the best bartenders we've experienced. Light on his feet and attentive....only wish they would update his uniform to this century. Very busy with conference attendees.

Room Tip: There is only one elevator bank in this giant hotel so be prepared to walk & walk to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
6.6 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range: $262 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing