We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel any time of year!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel any time of year!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We occasionally stay at Wentworth for special occasions. I had marriott points, so our visit was free in a way, and as usual wonderful. Wentworth is a spectacular looking hotel, with much history. We did not eat there, Portsmouth has many fine restaurants and is nearby. For the first time, I took a lovely walk to the town of NewCastle. Amazing walking paths that bring you to a beautiful beach. Pool was nice, maybe a bit crowded, but it was prime time for vacations in August. Pool food average, but no complaints. We got an early check-in which also had been upgraded to a suite-SWEET! I wouldn't hesitate to go here if I were you :) Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask not to look over a lower roof. We were in the back, front may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    341
    126
    76
    37
See reviews for
311
675
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently stayed overnight at the Wentworth and had a great day. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom was very modern. The marble floor was also heated which was a very nice touch. There is a very nice spa and indoor pool inside the main hotel. The outdoor pool was a short walk across the driveway and features a nice cantina during summer months. There are three restaurants on site, two inside and one outside overlooking the marina. We did not get to eat at the main restaurant, but enjoyed our meals at the marina restaurant. The hotel is also a short car ride away from downtown Portsmouth and Kittery, ME. The only major drawback to the hotel is that is somewhat expensive per night. However, for those travelers with a few extra dollars to spend on a hotel, the Wentworth is excellent place to stay while visiting New Hamphire's seacoast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Although the rooms were pricey... The hotel and the experience was incredible. For our 20th anniversary - we spent the day at the pool and the night on the town in Portsmouth. The staff was outstanding and we plan on going back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GusSaugus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlee, Vermont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great staff, nice lunch b the harbor in their restaurant, had a room looking towards town and not the ocean but the view was still quite pleasant, nice covered porches to read on, had everything we needed for a two day stay and jumping off point to drive into Portsmouth. One complaint was the air conditioning is noisy. We used the concierge service and had wonderful breakfasts and appetizers. Even skipped dinner one night the food there was so good with a great concierge on duty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel was pretty much your basic Marriot hotel. Rooms were small, views were okay. Not much to do here in early spring. I can see the draw in summertime if you have a boat docked at the marina. It was a bit of a drive to Portsmouth, NH but once we arrived in Portsmouth we had a wondeful time in the quaint city. I would not stay here again as there are many options right in down town Portsmouth.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We had a meeting here for work. The location was great. Every member of the staff was smiling and willing to help you whenever you needed something.

Excellent happy hour prices on both food and drinks made us a happy bunch as well.

Rooms are all recently remodeled with marble bathrooms. I was very impresses.


  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinksinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The very high Conde-Nast scores of this place confound me. It's a big old New England retreat with decent amenities, nice curb appeal, friendly enough staff and the requisite amenities to check the box (indoor and outdoor pool, nice spa, gym, tennis courts, etc.)....but for me it all feels a little perfunctory. The rooms are nice enough and decent sized -- but not particularly luxurious, overly spacious, nor recently renovated. The beds are comfortable, the sheets are nice -- no complaints there. But the air conditioning is old (not a window unit, but nearly noisy like one). The spa is fine (we had great massages), but the additional amenities (sauna, waiting area, changing room) offer no more sparkle for the big-city prices you're paying. One note -- the "big city pricing" was mercifully missing on the room service, oatmeal for $6, hamburgers in the bar for $12 were a breath of freshair compared to the normal markup on top of markup racket.

With the number of rooms in the hotel, it's hard to feel like the service is particularly personalized. And the number of Marriott frequent flyers in the place make the high-tier Marriott amenities hard to come by and overpopular when offered. This is a decent weekend getaway spot for Bostonians looking to get away for a weekend (Portsmouth and Rye are quaint New England towns with nice enough restaurants and a lively little nightlife scene). If i'd been paying $250-300 night the above concerns would have been easier to stomach. At $500/night I came away wishing there'd been more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
3.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing