We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the experiance we had a few years ago!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friendly Beaver Campground

Friendly Beaver Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friendly Beaver Campground
pembroke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the experiance we had a few years ago!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

It started right from check in should have known............I put a deposit on my card wanted to pay cash when we got there they said that was no problem I found out they charged my card in full when I called to reserve!! They we get there you have to put a 10.00 deposit on a 10.00 Tiny tote of wood! They have childrens activity times and fun stuff like fire truck rides but fail to put in their brochures that you have to purchase tickets!! Nothings free they schedule! We showed up for 3 different things on their calendar of fun and had to pay you had to pay to go in and watch a twist competition for oldies night!! they will do what ever they can to get a $1.00 out of you!! The workers were getting yelled at by and old man in the middle of transactions no one made it a point to smile at you and say have a good time!! This campground is just out to make a buck not ensure your taken care of and happy!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    9
    9
    10
See reviews for
35
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

everyone was helpful, the bathrooms, sites and pool areas were clean. everything I didn't have by some strange reason was available in there store. i mean practically everything(more than you could imagine). and reasonably priced.we were swimming ,biking playing kid bingo, watching the sox game in the rec hall talking to people hanging by the fire. playing basketball, running an obstacle course going on a wagon ride. and that was just one day. this is the third time we have gone here and it wont be the last.i think everyone should try the friendly beaver at least once. the most reasonable rates and kid friendly atmosphere bar none.thank you staff of friendly beaver my kids also thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ipswich, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a great family campground, pools are great, (even has an indoor pool for those cold days)
Staff is very friendly and the seaonal campers are very friendly as well. Great campstore,prices are reasonable.Bathrooms are clean and modern. Activities are fun and we loved our wooded campsite. We stayed there 2 weekends in a row and they let us keep out camper there during the week. One of the best features is the late Sunday checkout. You can stay at your site if noone is checking in until 6pm and if someone is just pack it up and park it and enjoy the campground unitl 6PM
Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The staff and seasonal campers were very welcoming of us tenting weekend warriors. Of course, there were some of the trashy elements- one family in particular. But the majority of people were great and the pools were amazing. Tons of attention paid to keeping the facilities clean and offering activities. As some posters mentioned the $5 fee for wireless was a bit much, but you could go to the rec center and get on for free. Overall, a great destination!

Room Tip: If you are tenting, look for the wooded sites as in any campground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.H.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went on the 2 day 3rd. day free deal As mentioned before, nice pools but wi-fi at 5 bucks for use at campsite. No paper towels in bathrooms. It was raining on 2nd. day and we were at the pool and thought I would go to the gazebo for shelter as I wasn't swimming and it was locked. You have to rent them. Also when we booked the campground, they never told us that there was going to be 50 to 100 eleven-twelve year olds were going to use using the pools until 1:30p.m.... It happens once a year and as a teacher told us, its a tradition...they advertise as the friendliest campground in New England...(try Mi-Ti-Jo in Milton N.H.as that campground would win in that category)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank logger101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Boston hotels

Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Overall majority of spots are for RV and in full sun and "privacy" is not exactly what they boast. If you are going to tent it, be sure you get a wooded spot--there are a few. People seem to get up in arms about seasonal folks. The last time we went the seasonal folks were just fine but we had a less than desirable group of folks that were there for some sort of party or reunion that made the place feel a little claustrophobic and trashy (not the fault of the campground) . Staff did not exactly jump out as the Disney sort but not rude--just about what you would expect your typical interaction with a Wal-Mart employee to be. There are three pools outdoors, two seem heated but the kiddie pool which Is very nice in size and depth for kids under 4 or 5 was ice cold. I found the bathrooms to be very modern and very clean, for camping standards actually pretty impressed but the water in the shower seemed to have two temps hot or cold--and hot was very, very hot. They now rent cabanas by the pool which would be nice for a larger group. At full capacity you really need to not mind crowds by the pool, there are not that many beach chairs or places to drop your stuff, or as we found to do everything at less peak times. I think every time we went to the pool there was someone testing the water or cleaning it. We did not partake in any of the kids/family activities but I must say that it looked like everyone was having a blast doing what was going on. The playground gets super hot during summer days but it is quite nice with lots of places to climb. There were quite a few golf carts around that forgot that the roads were for both cars and pedestrians as well--but this is not the first or last place we have run into that. Overall, at a hotel the kind of activities and amenities offered would be well over $300 a night and even then you cannot know which weekends the fun, family people will be there and when it will be invaded by the Jersey Shore reunion party. I wouldn't drive any great distance to come here but if this is less than an hour or two a way and you want a nice family spot for a weekend I would give it a shot. Good luck finding the place. Try to get directions to the nearest street, and have printed directions as well as GPS because the signal can fail you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshnaSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This campground has some really nice attributes but is lacking some other standard offerings at other campsites. The pool area is nice but the cabanas will cost you extra. Cable TV is NOT available at Friendly beaver. Most other campgrounds have cable available or throw it in for free. Also, wifi is $5/day - many other campgrounds offer wifi host spots for free or at least you can get your own for less than $5/day through the cable provider. This is one of the most expensive campgrounds in the area $3600 - $3800 for seasonals and no cable or wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World-Traveller256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Boston
16.2 mi away
Sandy Beach RV Resort
Sandy Beach RV Resort
#1 of 1 in Contoocook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
8.1 mi away
Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
13.2 mi away
Hancock Inn
Hancock Inn
#1 of 1 in Hancock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Beaver Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Beaver Campground

Property: Friendly Beaver Campground
Address: 99 Cochran Hill Rd, New Boston, NH 03070-3906
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Boston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in New Boston
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family campground in beautiful southern NH with sites for one night, the weekend or year-round, tons of activities, theme weekends and great facilities. Friendly people, breakfast available on weekends, three outdoor pools, one indoor pool, fire truck and wagon rides, sports fields, laundry room, 2 Rec Centers, game room, 2 playgrounds and more. Be as active or relaxed as you'd like. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing