We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of good but a few snares.”

Friendly Beaver Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friendly Beaver Campground
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lots of good but a few snares.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Overall majority of spots are for RV and in full sun and "privacy" is not exactly what they boast. If you are going to tent it, be sure you get a wooded spot--there are a few. People seem to get up in arms about seasonal folks. The last time we went the seasonal folks were just fine but we had a less than desirable group of folks that were there for some sort of party or reunion that made the place feel a little claustrophobic and trashy (not the fault of the campground) . Staff did not exactly jump out as the Disney sort but not rude--just about what you would expect your typical interaction with a Wal-Mart employee to be. There are three pools outdoors, two seem heated but the kiddie pool which Is very nice in size and depth for kids under 4 or 5 was ice cold. I found the bathrooms to be very modern and very clean, for camping standards actually pretty impressed but the water in the shower seemed to have two temps hot or cold--and hot was very, very hot. They now rent cabanas by the pool which would be nice for a larger group. At full capacity you really need to not mind crowds by the pool, there are not that many beach chairs or places to drop your stuff, or as we found to do everything at less peak times. I think every time we went to the pool there was someone testing the water or cleaning it. We did not partake in any of the kids/family activities but I must say that it looked like everyone was having a blast doing what was going on. The playground gets super hot during summer days but it is quite nice with lots of places to climb. There were quite a few golf carts around that forgot that the roads were for both cars and pedestrians as well--but this is not the first or last place we have run into that. Overall, at a hotel the kind of activities and amenities offered would be well over $300 a night and even then you cannot know which weekends the fun, family people will be there and when it will be invaded by the Jersey Shore reunion party. I wouldn't drive any great distance to come here but if this is less than an hour or two a way and you want a nice family spot for a weekend I would give it a shot. Good luck finding the place. Try to get directions to the nearest street, and have printed directions as well as GPS because the signal can fail you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshnaSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    9
    9
    10
See reviews for
35
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This campground has some really nice attributes but is lacking some other standard offerings at other campsites. The pool area is nice but the cabanas will cost you extra. Cable TV is NOT available at Friendly beaver. Most other campgrounds have cable available or throw it in for free. Also, wifi is $5/day - many other campgrounds offer wifi host spots for free or at least you can get your own for less than $5/day through the cable provider. This is one of the most expensive campgrounds in the area $3600 - $3800 for seasonals and no cable or wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World-Traveller256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Friendly Beaver campground Or should I say the NOT so friendly beaver campground.

Firstly, I called to ask about the cancellation policy and got a snide 'the policy is on the website also on the confirmation form sent in the mail.' I never received a snail mail confirmation. I also verified my family's check out day was on a Sunday and not Monday the lady on the phone confirmed Sunday our paper work said Monday. Resulting 3 days paid but only clothes and food enough for two days.

At the campground there was Tons of smoking. Loud music all night long. Speeding drunks swerving around on suped-up golf carts. Angry grumpy middle aged employees. Creepy trashy dumpy seasonals that look more like someone's full time home. ABSOLUTELY NO cell services but will charge you 5.00 a day in addition to your left lung for wi-if. The playground is in desperate need of repair and painting. The space ship structure has a broken board creating a hole large enough to swallow a child. The bigger kids in the outdoor pool were being too rough around littler kids and no one addressing the issue.

My son (a toddler) wanted to do the "tractor" ride a presumably seasonal camper (an older woman someone who must spend all year at the campground) was using obscene hand gestures to her "friends." If all of this seems appealing then you've found the perfect place. GOOD SAMs and Woodall's should really review the campground's rating. Definitely NOT a family campground. Don't waste your money there's far better places in New Hampshire to camp.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Boston hotels

Tewksbury, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family and I recently camped at this campground and found it to be very enjoyable. Everything from booking this trip to check out was not a problem.
We found that the sites were spacious, we were put in a location that was located close to everything..pools, bath houses, laundry and the store.
The campground staff was knowledgeable and very courteous. We found that the campers that have year round sites there to be extremely friendly and helpful as well.
The bath houses were well kept, the pools were sparkling and the store was well stocked. We will definitely be back for future camping trips.
Great campground!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

bathrooms dirty giving child shower and this brown scum was pouring down shower walls.the showers indoor pool were the same.lots of people riding bikes no helmets thought they owned campground.laundry facilitys look like never been cleaned.kids ,in pool jumping throwing each other off shoulders indoor pool not safe for younger children.someone needs to supervise and all bathrooms should be scrubbed.noticed young girl cleaning bathrooms basically just putting toilet paper on rolls and wipes sink hard worker.not needs someone who will wash down everything not just peak in and do nothing

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank redsoxnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Highley recommend for families with children. There is so much to do and all the organized activities are well thought out and put together. The childrens playgrounds are cute and the pools are very clean and well maintained. The people are super friendly. We went for our first camping trip this past weekend and decided to purchase a travel trailer on site and are now becoming seasonal campers. Many many weekends of fun to be had in our future!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmneskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family and I have been camping at Friendly Beaver campground as a transiet since 2004 and in 2010 we decided to join the Friendly Beaver family as a seasonal camper. There were a lot of things that made it easy for us to make the decision to become a seasonal camper at Friendly Beaver. The kids activities, the pools, the themed weekends,(Mardi Gras,Halloween,Luau,Christmas) too many to mention. There is always something to do. The staff is always friendly and courteous, the owners are always friendly and willing to assit with anythng you need. I have read some of the reviews and as a seaonal camper I think that everyone needs to come up and spend a weekend at the Friendly Beaver and see for yourselves.The owners have made a lot of improvements over the last 3 years that I have been a seasonal camper and as for the trashy seasonal sites and drunks running around in golf carts, that may have happened in the past but it doesn't happen now. Come down and see for yourself I think you will be pleasantly surprised. Your family and kids will love it I know mine does.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trunals39-site26C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Friendly Beaver Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Beaver Campground

Property: Friendly Beaver Campground
Address: 99 Cochran Hill Rd, New Boston, NH 03070-3906
Location: United States > New Hampshire > New Boston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in New Boston
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family campground in beautiful southern NH with sites for one night, the weekend or year-round, tons of activities, theme weekends and great facilities. Friendly people, breakfast available on weekends, three outdoor pools, one indoor pool, fire truck and wagon rides, sports fields, laundry room, 2 Rec Centers, game room, 2 playgrounds and more. Be as active or relaxed as you'd like. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing