We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value & Good Location - if you can get a deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunapee Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Value & Good Location - if you can get a deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights while skiing in Sunapee and Pat's Peak at the end of the season. We got a great deal, 2 nights in the hotel + 2 ski passes for Sunapee for $240 (inc taxes) - which basically worked out at $52 a night for the hotel, as the passes were $68 each.
For the $52/night we paid the hotel was good value, spacious room, clean, comfortable beds and all the amenties we needed for a place to crash after a day on the slopes.
My observations based on previous reviews: the hotel is "fine", but it's not a resort hotel - we wanted somewhere to sleep after skiing that was close to the slopes and comfortable - which was what we got. Don't expect lots of facilities or added extras - this is not a luxury hotel.
I think if we had paid more than $100/night for this hotel, I'd probably feel a bit ripped off - as despite the convenient location, the quality of the hotel wouldn't make it worth more than that.
The Best Western website refers to a "Full Breakfast", but I don't think I'd say what we were offered was a full breakfast - on Saturday morning the only things on offer were cereal/muffins/coffee/juice - which would be more of a "Continental Breakfast" in my book. On the Sunday there was someone there cooking omlettes, with scrambled egg mix from a carton, which didn't look particurly appetising. I had cereal and juice both mornings, so again I think if I'd paid extra for a bed & breakfast rate I'd have been a bit disappointed with what was on offer.
I would also agree with the reviewer that said the heating was noisy. To be honest I sleep through everything, so it didn't disturb me - but if you were a light sleeper you'd probably be best turning it off and getting an extra blanket!
Overall if we could get the same deal again we'd definitely go back, but I'm not sure I'd feel it was good value to pay peak prices for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planthenexttrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    24
    20
    23
See reviews for
51
33
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed here with my cast & crew after performing a dinner theatre show at the nearby Newport Opera House. The hotel accomodations were wonderful, and I let Kevin Martin, the manager, know how pleased we all were with the rooms, the staff, and the free breakfast they offered all the guests (homemade waffles, omelets, cereal, pastries, juice, fruit, coffee!).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AwayFromHomeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinTPMartin, Manager at Sunapee Lake Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2010
Thank you for your kind words while you were here and in the review. You and the other performers were fun to host in our hotel.
Kevin T. Martin, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed at the Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge over president's day holiday weekend. We were part of a group of family and friends consisting of twenty seven people. We had eight rooms between all of us. Obviously, we were concerned about all of the negative reviews, but I can say with great confidence that all of the rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had rooms on all three floors of the hotel. The rooms on the bottom floor are bigger, but they do have tile floor instead of carpet.

We spent the weekend skiing at Mount Sunapee (what a great family mountain!) and that is why we chose to stay at this Best Western. It is about a one minute car ride to the lodge. The hotel also offers a shuttle bus that runs on demand from 7:30am to 10:30am and returns beginning from 3:30pm until all the guests have returned. The hotel is conveniently located right next to a great ski shop, where part of our croud rented ski equipment and purchased such things as ski gloves and helmets. The staff at Skinner's Ski Shop is great.

We spent three nights at the Best Western and enjoyed each of them. The beds were comfortable and supportive. The pillows were amongst the best I have ever had at a hotel. Fresh towels were always at hand. The staff made sure all of our requests were fulfilled. Each room has its own heating system and is controlled by the guest. We generally stay at hotels such as the Marriott Residence Inn with this type of crowd. We've stayed at luxury 4 and 5 star hotels on many a trip, as well. While the Best Western is not a luxury hotel, it was everything we needed for the ski trip.

Kevin and his staff worked tirelessly to make sure all of the guests' needs were met. The breakfast buffet was prepared fresh each morning. The breakfast room seemed brand new. The tables and chairs were comfortable. There was a big flat-screen tv to watch while you enjoyed your meal. It was also open for guests to use to order dinner in. We ordered pizza one night and had it delivered to the hotel. The staff was happy to have us use the facility. There were two other common areas for gathering. Both were comfortable and tidy. The staff also had great suggestions for dining out. We went to One-mile West for some great steaks. We also went to Digby's, located right next door to the Best Western. It is great for a beer or two. While the food is good, it takes a really long time to come. Don't go hungry. Be prepared to wait.

The hotel did have a pool. The kids only complaint was that is was heavily chlorinated. In my opninion, that is a good thing for a public pool. The temperature of the pool
seemed just right. The children all had fun in the pool. It was clean.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, all of us. We'd stay there again, without a doubt the next time we ski at Mount Sunapee.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BW123Summit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

We were grossly overcharged for a room without heating they tried to call a suite. They moved us to another room they also tries to call a suite and we continued to have numerous problems. The hotel is filthy and the health inspector would be in for a surprise if he looked at the breakfast area buzzing with fruit flies. Pure clip joint. They charged one of our business associates $600 for a six pack of beer and he had to dispute the charges with his credit card company. Absolutely the worst hotel experience we have had in 10 years of business travel and will never stay at a Best Western again.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DrProctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Sunapee hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Northern Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

Just got back from a grossly overpriced stay at this hotel. This hotel has a monopoly in the area as it is right near the ski mountain and basically, the only game in town unless you want to spend $400 per night across the street. Our family paid $199 plus tax for a room with a tiled floor (?) and Pepto Bismol pink colored stucco walls in the basement, near the pool. The bed coverlets were old and frightening and I insisted that my kids not touch them. One of the other guests compared it to a glorified ski hostel, which I wholeheartedly agreed with and would not mind staying in, but not at these prices. The manager, Kevin, was kind and accomodating but the physical property is bordering on disrepair. Not sure how they advertise it as renovated in 1997 but that sounds a bit of a stretch. One of the king sized beds in our room literally had a dip in the middle and was ready for the garbage. As many others have noted, the pool was quite cold and not conducive to swimming. Overall, a real disappointment. The breakfast was fine, nothing more nothing less. I would avoid this hotel in the area unless they adjust their prices to reflect the quality and service you are getting.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Do you have 10 minutes?
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MominCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUBURNDALE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

We heard loud thumping sounds sporadically during both nights of our stay. We even moved rooms after the first night because of the thumping but we had even more thumping on the second night. Both rooms were on the bottom floor. The staff did not help though a voucher was offered for a future night free. But they would have to pay me a lot of money to stay there again. I was so excited to leave so I could go home and get some SLEEP. Man, I was cranky. And yes, the pool is not warm enough and yes, they don't staff up the breakfast area with enough people. I will never stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianagofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

We returned for our 3rd stay at the Lake Lodge over New Years Eve 2008 and left very disappointed. This Best Western property has a monopoly at Mt. Sunapee - there is no other hotel with a pool for many miles around - and they truly take advantage of this fact.

The rooms are ok, not really clean (dust on the only shelf in the room), but not really gross either. The beds are cheap and I get increasing back aches with every night of the stay. The location is the only thing that is great here.

Last year, we had to go next door to Digby's for breakfast. As others have pointed out in their reviews, the buffet was disgusting, with partially thawed bread and bagels, watery coffee, and not much else. The tables were greasy and the seats always dirty. At least the staff was friendly and trying to make up for everything else, and there was some fresh fruit. Needless to say, we were not looking forward to breakfast at Digby's, but we were prepared to put up with it.
Unfortunately, breakfast is now provided downstairs in the hotel. The selection is even lousier, and you have to ask for things like water and hot chocolate, which are not always available. The one person who is helping with preparing omlettes and waffles (which I skipped, since I don't eat egg-like products from a cardboard box), was hopelessly overwhelmed. The trash was overflowing every morning, there was no fresh bread, the muffins were clearly previously frozen and barely eadible, but worst of all, as a family of four we were not able to sit together, because the 2 large tables in the room were always occupied, and the other tables only accomodate two people.

The pool was too cold to swim in, and when another customer complained, they were treated very unprofessionally, let alone the temperature raised.

This place commands world-class room rates, but the amenities are anything but world-class. If you really have to stay close to the mountain, you may want to put up with the breakfast misery, or skip breakfast entirely. If you are willing to drive a few miles, try one of the bed-and-breakfasts in the area instead.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SkierRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Sunapee
0.1 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
0.2 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
2.3 mi away
Dexter's Inn
Dexter's Inn
#1 of 2 in Sunapee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
8.0 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
16.2 mi away
Colby Hill Inn
Colby Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Henniker
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunapee Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunapee Lake Lodge

Property: Sunapee Lake Lodge
Address: 1403 Route 103, Mount Sunapee, NH 03255 (Formerly Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Mount Sunapee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunapee Lake Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sunapee Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunapee Lake Hotel Mount Sunapee
Mount Sunapee Best Western
Best Western Mount Sunapee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing