We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
34
50
32
23
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
50
32
23
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski area continental breakfast is offered room was clean access road state beach toilet paper easy drive area attractions refrigerator and microwave parking lot is craft fair spent one night up to date minute drive sunapee quinn veterans
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 165 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2018 via mobile

We arrived for a night en route from Portland. It was a quiet place. We checked in. Unpacked the case.
Luckily The Salt Hill bar was right next door. We had a lovely lunch there. Our waiter told us how to get to the beach.
We walked to the beach. It is idyllic.
As it was off season we had the beach virtually to ourselves.
The hotel room was big. The bed was too soft for our tastes. The carpet didn’t look as if it had been vacuumed for a while.
It was a basic breakfast. With the usual two pounds of needless plastic waste to be landfilled per person. It was an okay stay.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Markmark1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

I was quite surprised to find only a sheet and a thin fleece on the beds and nothing more. For the price I would expect at least a comforter or quilt on top! Brrrr....
Also, if you can, request a room in the back. The main road can be quite noisy.
My door did not easily latch shut. I needed to give it a good shove.
Breakfast was good. Waffles, yogurt, juice, coffee.
Considering pickings are slim for standard hotels in the Newbury area it is good enough.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank wildernesspdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

The usual prices they have are a little bit more than I would like to pay, but the cute building and rooms, quaint and quiet location (right next to the mountain-score!), and WONDERFUL staff make it worth it ;) The rooms are super cozy and warm, the continental breakfast is perfect for a quick bite and a sip of coffee, and chatting with the girl at the front desk was a hoot!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dogluver333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Sunapee Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Thanks for making us part of your ski weekend.
We are excited to be part of the community which
calls Mount Sunapee Resort; soon to be a VAIL
Resort, home.
This winter there will be more ski and stay packages
as well as room upgrades for you to enjoy.

See you on the slopes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2018

The internet connection is horrendous, so plan on that! The breakfast was free, and okay. However the waffle machine was broken but not labelled, so people kept burning waffles. Also, the hotel staff seemed unaware of what was going on in the building. When we stayed, young children (6-10 years) were running down the hallways, screeching until about 10 pm. My son had fallen asleep and he was woken up by a preteen banging on our door at 11 pm (wrong door...no apology). The pool area was out of control when we went at the dinner hour (hoping it would not be so). It was not a large pool and only 5' in depth, and about 35 school age and preteen children were diving in it, and running around it, although "No diving" and "No running" was posted. Their chaperones had their backs turned to the pool and were drinking glass bottles of beer, although "No Glass" was also posted! Several parents with young children quickly departed the pool area, as did we. Obviously, bad parenting was to blame, however I believe staff should have been more aware of what was going on inside the hotel walls not just sitting in the office on their mobile phones. The batteries in the television remote were dead when we arrived so we had to turn it on manually as well. The room however was very clean.

Room tip: Ask when preteen school groups are not in attendance! Thin walls however!
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bookwormsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Owner at Sunapee Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Ms. Bennett
I am sorry that your experience at our Hotel was not up to our standards. A majority of the issues which you raised can be attributed to; what you called, "Bad Parenting". The weekend which you stayed was that of the end of season 'T Shirt Races' at Mt. Sunapee.
The mountain hosted over 550 racers ages 8-14. Our Hotel housed about 200 parents and children. As you experienced the, WiFi ground to a halt with over 160 users trying to surf on one occasion. Everyday more and more devices are WiFi enabled and almost every guest has multiple devices. This in-fact was the first episode of gridlock that we have experienced since the service upgrade last summer. We will be increasing bandwidth again this summer and requiring passwords to access the system.

I trust that you requested new batteries for your remote. Unfortunately batteries do die.

Our free breakfast includes: 4 - Cereals, Muffins, Bagels, Toast, Yogurt, Fruit Cup, Bananas, Oatmeal, 2 varieties of Hot Breakfast Sandwiches and Waffles. Guests; despite the signage, fiddle with the settings on the Waffle Iron. It wasn't broken, someone had just cranked it up.

The pool; with over 150 kids in the Hotel it, can become overwhelmed. There is no life guard, and parents are required to accompany their children and obey the posted placards . The parenting you experienced was what we struggle with everyday.

I am glad that you found our accommodations very clean. I apologize that the mayhem of kids prevented you from enjoying your visit fully.

My sincerest apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2018

This weekend we stayed at The Sunapee Lake Lodge for the first time. We found the check in easy and the friendly staff had even reserved parking when the parking started to fill at the pub next door.
The room was clean, comfortable and had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The pool is small but quite adequate after a full day of skiing.
The beds were a bit odd-one was really squishy, the other much firmer but we all slept well and the room was cozy but not too hot. We loved the proximity to the mountain. The breakfast was very basic but there was plenty of food although we would have really liked some fresh fruit, even bananas or apples rather than the canned fruit cocktail.
This hotel offers a shuttle to the mountain which is a great service! We will certainly come back when visiting Sunapee again.

Date of stay: March 2018
1  Thank teacher15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews