We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Really a Best Western”
Review of Sunapee Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
A TripAdvisor Member
Davenport Florida
23
Reviewed September 21, 2005

My Family and I had a most enjoyable visit to the Sunapee Area when we stayed at this hotel during the Nextel Race at NHIS last weekend. The front desk staff was most helpful in finding us things to do prior to the race and getting us fed after hours at the hotel's restaurant Murphy's. Ou room was large and well decorated. This hotel must have been a MARRIOT IN A PREVIOUS LIFE. I have never stayed in a Best Western so nice, clean and attractive. We are thinking about a longer visit next July as there is a beautiful lake behind the hotel with a sandy beach. I, We would really have to say that Sunapee Lake Lodge was the highlight of our weekend.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Sunapee Lake Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 144 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2005

Where do I start. Stinky room with stained bed spread. The room smell was really bad. I called the front desk and the lady told me to open a window. I would have been better off pitching a tent ouside as this hotel is scary. It was so bad I called the corporate office and they told me that the Best Westerns are independently owned so they were unable to help me. Bottom Line this place is like The Bates Motel in the horror movie.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NewportRI5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Newington, CT
15
Reviewed August 23, 2005

Just returned from a weekend "getaway" at The Sunapee Lake Lodge and could not wait to get back home! The rooms were very dirty. and smelled of stale beer. The rugs were sticky and the bedspread was covered with hair. The a/c units on the wall were very noisy and woke you up when the compressor kicked in. The staff was rude and ignored the most trivial request. Requests for an adjoining room (Over a month in advance)were repeatedly ignored though the hotel was still taking reservations. When our phone would not take calls we were told "the phones are a problem and should be rewired. The continental breakfast consists of fatty danish and a dirty juce machine, don't forget the weak coffee. Reserve a room online and they try to sell you a timeshare next door. You're reward is a free night at this dump - I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2005

The Best Western is ok for a 2-star hotel, but not a good value for the winter season. It is very convenient to the mountain though. Overall I would say it's an ok hotel to stay a night or 2, but no more.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Colchester CT
12
Reviewed August 5, 2004

Our 3 day stay in July 2004 was just fine. This hotel has a typical snow roof on it with no gutters on the building. The rain drops to a lower snow roof. (This is typical New England.) We shut our condensor off for the evening and it was silent. It rained hard on our first night and I could not sleep but my wife and grandchildren slept just fine. Their is a construction tent adjacent to the facility and when it rained on the tent, additional noise was created. It would be in the best interest of the hotel to move this construction tent. I called the Chamber of Commerce and they confronted the hotel about the ecoli problem. Unfortunately, an animal had fallen into their well and died. As soon as the problem was recognized, the hotel management called in the experts to clean up the water and their were no signs of this problem while we were there. The room was nicely decorated and I think a good value for the price we paid. The hotel is in a nice location and quite central.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
215
Reviewed July 9, 2004

We had a room that was so run down, the bed lay in an angle from being so old. The A/C condenser was just outside our room (with a low occupancy that night, dont know why we were given this room), and the rattling night kept us up all night! But WORST OF ALL: The hotel had E. COLI in the water just the month before, and rather than closing the doors was allowing people to make reservations, not telling them, and then supplying bottles of water!!! to the room for us to brush our teeth with!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We did not brush our teeth, or take baths (we were told the water had a strong chlorine odor) - we simply left at 5:30 a.m. the next day!

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100Petra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Sunapee
0.2 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
23.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Burkehaven Lodge
Burkehaven Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sunapee
83 reviews
6.4 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
220 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rosewood Country Inn
Rosewood Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Bradford
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunapee Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunapee Lake Lodge

Address: 1403 Route 103, Mount Sunapee, NH 03255-5952 (Formerly Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Mount Sunapee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
Price Range: $133 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunapee Lake Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunapee Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunapee Lake Hotel Mount Sunapee
Mount Sunapee Best Western
Best Western Mount Sunapee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing