We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$233
$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Motel(New London)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Claremont)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Henniker Motel(Henniker)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Springfield(Springfield)
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
29
49
30
23
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
49
30
23
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski areaaccess roadstate beachroom was cleanarea attractionstoilet paperegg sandwichcontinental breakfast isminute driveveteransnhsoapsmountproximity
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 155 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable mattress with upscale bedding, immaculately clean, nice indoor pool kept at just the right temperature, completely smoke free (what a relief!) and the windows open to let in fresh air; seasonal sledding and tubing hill and skating rink. Now for the problems: noisy AC/heating unit (the motel is 20 years old and I think that the unit is the original), very limited cell phone reception (the motel offers free local and long distance calls to compensate), breakfast selections are limited (only two small pieces of fruit on the counter and I got there at 6:00 AM, see photo), no family type restaurant/diner close by (the restaurant that was on the property closed and a sign says that a new restaurant called "Nonnies" will open soon), exercise equiment was in poor repair (the tread mill didn't work at all).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripMember06022016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We just stayed at Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge, it was excellent!!! Service was great, all the staff was super friendly and very helpful!!! The room was beautiful, clean....all the hotel is great! We enjoyed our stay very much...we are planning to go back next year for a family reunion!!!!!

Room Tip: the spa experience was great!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The overall experience was horrible. We stayed in a pet-friendly room. Regardless of that, there was hair on the sheets in room 107 and the bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned. We were moved to room 105, where there was still hair on the sheets. The bathroom was slightly cleaner, although the tile and grout in both bathrooms was filthy and needs to have a serious cleaning. We also had a rather large, what looked like a water bug, in the bathroom, with fecal matter (small droppings near the bug's rear). My husband and I were so disgusted that we slept in our clothes on top of the sheets. If we didn't live 3 1/2 hours away, we would have driven home. The entire hotel needs a complete remodel. I would NOT stay here ever again or recommend it to others. For $195.00, it was barely worth it and extremely overpriced. For this price, my husband can stay in an executive suite overseas. It was so dirty, I didn't even want my dog in the room. The Sunapee area is a beautiful and well-known place and we were shocked when we walked in the hotel. The carpets were dirty and looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in days. It's old and needs serious updating. It doesn't fit in, when you think of Sunapee.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin B, General Manager at Sunapee Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

I am very sorry that your experience wasn't what you expected. We attempt to go above and beyond with every guest. Our hotel is in the process of remodeling. Recently our second and third floor has been completely redone from top to bottom. The first floor, which is the floor you stayed on is the last floor to undergo this transformation. The carpet in the hallway is cleaned each and every afternoon but it is hard to keep it completely clean throughout the day due to the renovations mentioned above.
As for the bathrooms in each room, which were tiled less than a year ago, the grout is a sandstone colored grout which could of given the appearance of being dirty if you expect it to be a white color. In our pet friendly rooms the tile is steam cleaned after each guests stay to make sure no hair or allergens are left after sweeping and vacuuming.
Our housekeeping staff is trained in providing the cleanest room possible. Each room is checked then checked again by different members of management to ensure cleanliness, it is very rare that a bed is found to be dirty, never mind two in two separate rooms.
As for the price, when a room is booked less than two weeks before the date of arrival the price tends to increase slightly. Also attached to the rate for this room was a pet fee that was described at the time of booking and the NH Rooms and Rentals tax of 9%.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although there's not much to do in sunapee, the best western has a great central location for what there is. Our room was fantastic, the a/c worked great and was quiet, the fridge worked great, the beds were comfy and the bathroom was nice. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean. The breakfast was small but good, pancakes, bagels , yogurt, cereal, coffee, juices. The best part was the fire pit outside, it was a great way to end the nights.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank amaral_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for wedding - the rooms were clean the staff friendly and helpful. The only thing was that the sign was a little hard to see at night and we drove by and missed it a few times.
Great hiking was very close by also -

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews