We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great western” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunapee Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
spfld ma, United States
1 review
“great western”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

a real clean and nice place to stay-the front desk staff was really helpful and provided a lot of info on things to do in the area-Alayna was particularly helpful. I would recommend to anyone who visits the area-was particularly great because it was so close to the annual crafts fair.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    24
    20
    23
See reviews for
51
33
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Best Western Lake Sunapee is perfectly located near all the area attractions. The beach is just around the bend and Sunapee Harbour is a few miles away. And of course, the ski area is right there.
The room was a good size and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was standard for this type of hotel.
Staff was very pleasant and accommodating.
My husband and I had no complaints during our 2 day stay and would stay here again.
This hotel was very quiet!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caseyboy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful weekend. My husband and I enjoyed our stay in Sunapee. What a great area to explore. Your staff was so helpful with endless suggestions of things to do. It doesn't get any better than walking to the beach for a cool swim on a hot summer night! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Best Western Sunapee Lakelodge thank you for another great year at your hotel. For the past 15 years I have been involved with you have serving our nations veterans during Adaptive Sports Clinics. Thanks to your wonderful staff we enjoyed our week. Soft beds, big rooms, and cool comfortable rooms during a very warm summer. Thanks to Justin and Tom for coordinating our large group before the week. See you next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are larger and pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Best Western in Sunapee is a great hotel, we just finished adisabled veterans clinic there and from the staff, its the best week of the year. When you go to the hotel, they treat you as a real person and do everything in their power to make you stay as pleasent as can be. Being in a wheelcjhair, they help move luggage, add ice to the rooms and always overlook your disability. I would recomend this hotel to all my friends and fellow veterans.

Room Tip: Book early espicially during ski season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was there with close to a hundred vets. Each morning there was a huge problem with coffee, never mind the rotten tidbits for Breakfast they pawn off to you. What do expect from a cesspool, this placed needs significant improvement; starting with the General Manager.
My room was really never cleaned, long hairs in the bathroom. It is true you get what you pay for.

Veterans Summer Sports Clinic, I hope they choose another hotel, insulting.

Room Tip: Keep on driving!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bean18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin B, General Manager at Sunapee Lake Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Sir, we are saddened that you didn't enjoy the summer clinic we hosted for you and other veterans. We look forward to hosting the event on our property every year and appreciate the opportunity to serve our veterans very much. The members of our staff and I are upset to hear of an individual coming to the event and leaving dissatisfied. For seventeen years we have hosted summer and winter sports clinics for disabled veterans, and each year we strive to provide an atmosphere both welcoming and fun. We pride ourselves on providing those types of experiences at The Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to review and tell us what we could have done better so we may work to improve other guests' experiences. I hope in the future we continue to host every clinic held by the Veteran's Association and get another opportunity to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Sunapee hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Berlin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Recently hosted our company "Summerfest" family picnic weekend in and around Lake Sunapee......100+ people for a 3 day event. Best Western accommodated most of the families/couples during the events of the weekend.
Could not have been happier with their organization, customer service, food and beverage teams, and overall willingness to help in any way possible. At the height of the event a storm rolled through causing a power outage for a few hours. They went "above and beyond" to insure that guests were safe and happy. They even directed a group of ours to a space where they could continue to enjoy the evening until the power was restored.
The group was thrilled with every aspect of their stay.
A great big thank you to the management and staff for helping to make the weekend such a great success!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Sunapee
0.1 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
0.2 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
2.3 mi away
Dexter's Inn
Dexter's Inn
#1 of 2 in Sunapee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
8.0 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
16.2 mi away
Colby Hill Inn
Colby Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Henniker
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunapee Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunapee Lake Lodge

Property: Sunapee Lake Lodge
Address: 1403 Route 103, Mount Sunapee, NH 03255 (Formerly Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Mount Sunapee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunapee Lake Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sunapee Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunapee Lake Hotel Mount Sunapee
Mount Sunapee Best Western
Best Western Mount Sunapee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing