We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kevins Cafe”
Review of Kevin's Cafe - CLOSED

Kevin's Cafe
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kevins Cafe”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Average food, less than average atmosphere, no mixed drinks. No a place to go for a "dining" experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SAW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friday Nite All You Can Eat Fried Clams”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Went here Friday, July 27. We were the first to arrive for a 5:00P.M. opening. The waitress seated us quickly and gave us a couple minutes to get settled. Her timing for service was perfect all evening. This "Seafood Restaurant in the Lakes region of New Hampshire is a Hidden Gem". I ordered the Friday Nite Special of "Fried Clams.". Spectacular, Stupendous, just simply put. You have to order these if your here on a Friday. Golden Brown. Almost Hand picked with a large clam belly on all. A huge mountain of Clams arrives at the table with a moderate amount of French Fries. A small portion of cole slaw accompanies them. The waitress timed inquiring about another portion as I was getting low. The second smaller portion (but sufficient) arrived as I finished. Yes, I did get a few more a third time. If you like Fried Clams for $ 20 you can"t beat Kevins. My lady had the Homemade Crab cakes. Yes, Homemade by hand. They were stuffed with crab meat and then sautéed with a quick pan fry. Better than she has had in finer restaurants. The small restaurant filled fast and patrons had a wait to get in. Just North of Center Harbor Village NH at Lake Winnapasaukee. The menu features many tempting seafood preparations that you would be satisfied with. Kevin's does have a chicken preparation that the non seafood dinner can chose from. Make a reservation or you'll have to wait.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, MA
1 review
“The best Seafood anywhere”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

You are not going to get better seafood anywhere in this area of the Lakes region than at Kevin's Cafe. They have the best lump crab cakes we've ever had, anywhere in the country, and we've tried a lot. We either bring our friends here or get take out crab cake dinners every summer - excellent! and we are lucky to live nearby. I've also had haddock and other fish and it is perfectly prepared. Fresh, crisp perfectly cooked green beans. Tasty salads and great chowder. The chef/owner previously worked at Legal Seafood and other restaurants, and the quality shows. On Sunday once a month they have a lobster and prime rib buffet. They also will shuttle you from the Center Harbor docks if you come by boat on Lake Winni (call 603-253-75130). They are very close to Center Harbor, although the address is Moultonborough. Other reviews mention the casual atmosphere, which is perfect for the summer and for relaxed dining, although there are actually two rooms, one without the lobster tank. I live on seafood and recommend this without reservation. Delicious. My favorite seafood restaurant, NH or MA.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Anytime we are in the area, we go to Kevin's for some sort of seafood. We've had it all and it is all excellent; fresh and well prepared. It can be a little pricey, but I guess freshness matters.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheQueue61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Vermont
Level Contributor
99 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great burgers and great service”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stopped at Kevin's Cafe on our way through Moultonborough and were pleasantly surprised by this great little cafe. Kyle, our waiter, was very friendly. The burgers we had were excellent and Kevin himself came out to say hi. We'll definitely eat here again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RookerVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kevin's Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing