We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebration evening nicely paced...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckley's Great Steaks

Buckley's Great Steaks
Reserve with OpenTable
Buckley's Great Steaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Merrimack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Woodbury St
Merrimack, NH
Level Contributor
384 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Celebration evening nicely paced...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Celebrating high school graduation with 3 families; we were provided a nice space to leisurely enjoy the moments. Food was really good. Service was not rushed but attentive. Glad we choose it for our celebration dinner. We all had some type of steak, and were all very pleased.
Previously I've only stopped in for a drink and appetizers in the tavern area. The dining experience was comfortable and well paced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hr1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    67
    30
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
152 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited the restaurant on a recommendation, only to find out it used to be one of our favorite restaurants a few decades ago; Country Gourmet!

Warm greeting at the door was followed by excellent service by Jen, although we limited our menu choices to lighter meals because of our late arrival in the night.

Will return to taste the main dishes very soon at this cozy and classy restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank namrun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Last time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant for years, and although the service is usually top notch, we sat down among eight of us and looking back over the years there is a consensus that the value is poor and the quality of the beef has never been there. There was a resounding endorsement that if you really want a great steak....head to the Hanover Street Chop house. We had six last week and waited an eternity for drinks, when dinner arrived four steaks were cold, (not even warm), and one had to be sent back as over cooked. The $500.00 night with tip was once again a huge disappointment. We will enjoy expensive drinks and apps at the bar, but that is the last big meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Therealtruth22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We love this restaurant and have eaten here many times. Our latest visit continued the wonderful dining experience. Our meals were fantastic. The seared scallop appetizer included four large scallops and my choice of the crab cake appetizer was the perfect way to begin our meal while enjoying wine and a delicious blueberry martini. The service was excellent and our waitress was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive. My husband's rib eye steak was perfectly cooked and my lobster carbonara was the best ever and loaded with lobster. Unfortunately we were too full for dessert but the choices did sound wonderful. The restaurant was quite busy when we were there, but the small rooms make for a quiet dining experience which is a big plus for us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VacationDays365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Third Restaurant owned by the same family in Merrimack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Beautiful environment. A converted old carriage house into a two story magnificent restaurant. The food is impeccably cooked & presented. You cannot ask for a better variety of food anywhere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank nolan1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckley's Great Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Buckley's Great Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing