We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Eating”
Review of The Common Man

The Common Man
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Merrimack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Elkin, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Eating”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The portion sides are generous. The atmosphere is relaxed. Whether or not you ordered a starter the restaurant offers you cheese and crackers. Lastly the food is exceptional. My wife had the Portsmouth Pie and I had the Yankee Pot Roast. Both were cooked to perfection.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    96
    47
    33
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Everything about this place is great. There are crackers and dips available to snack on while you wait, as well as a huge block of cheese. Homemade breads that come with your meal...yes, home made. This is what your (great) grandma used to make for you or your parents. Beyond good. The meals are great, and a good variety of options. My biggest regret is that I was too full to try the desserts. The place feels like the type of inn that would have been there in the 1700s for travelers to stop in on their way through. I can't say enough good things about this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not the Old Common Man”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I am not sure if the Common Man has over-extended itself with all of its restaurants or what the problem is, but over the past few visits to the Merrimack Common Man, service has slipped. Now add the food to that. I ordered turkey pot pie and I'm not sure what the alleged cubed meat product was, but it sure didn't resemble turkey in taste or texture. $20 with tax and tip and no beverage and I ended up eating only a little of it. Ready to give up on them.

Ate at their restaurant, Town Docks, recently and very good as usual.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptzmom_nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Uncommon Experience”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is our second time to the Common Man. Anytime our travels take us to New Hampshire we makes sure we stop by here. Its not like any other restaurant experience we have ever had. Its likes the combination of an Amish Dinner House, A Cracker Barrel, Upscale Restaurant combined into one unique experience. The ambiance is one of a kind and unique. The food options are unique and everything we have had is excellent. It not just dinner it a dining experience. I wish we had these in Pennsylvania!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than going to a chain”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food is always good! I love their specials more than anything else. It's nice to get a meal that's not reflective of a chain menu. Service is usually good... Busy nights take a while but where don't they!

Parking is a nightmare

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Common Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing