We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Church Landing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church Landing at Mill Falls

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Church Landing at Mill Falls
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meredith
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved Church Landing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

We loved Church Landing. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and very well decorated. The beds were heavenly and lots of pillows. The bathroom was especially nice. We had a balcony overlooking the lake with rocking chairs - the view was spectacular. The grounds were well groomed and the boardwalk that allowed you to walk down to other sites was very nice and relaxing. Coffee in the lobby available all the time.

The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The room was pricey but worth it. The only negative is the restaurant. Although nicely appointed with views of the lake, the food was very disappointing. We were told after that the restaurant is owned by The Common Man chain - had we known, we would not have eaten there. We have tried the Common Man in Windham, NH and we were disappointed there also. I would suggest a small place in town called Georges for breakfast - outstanding!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    89
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
109
308
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Palma, Ca.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2005

We stayed in Church Landing and thought it was more like a large hotel. Very commercial. The room we had was very nicely decorated, but dimly lit. The bed was wonderful. We did have a nice view of the lake. We did get bottles of water each day. However, everything there seems very impersonal. The restaurant was not very good, but very pricy. I understand this is a big chain outfit that have several restaurants. We did much better eating at the diner and at Mames in town.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2005

Church Landing is the best place to stay when traveling to Lake Winnepesaukee. It is truly a rare and beautiful property. The lobby is gorgeous with birch covering the exposed columns. It's open to a few sitting areas with chess, checkers, a library, and complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate. The guest rooms are beautiful with high beds, terrific mattresses with pillow tops, and gorgeous bedding. The bathrooms are attractive, covered in pine boards and have granite counter tops. The rooms have tremendous views of the lake-I think they all do. There were rockers on the porches for each guest room and adirondack chairs on the grass in front of the lake. The beach though small, was clean and the kids loved it. We purchased some cheap tubes for the kids to float in while we were there-highly recommended. The pool was lots of fun. It is on the smaller side, but the kids loved swimming from indoors to outdoors. Free continental breakfast was abundant and well maintained. We ate there all week and never felt the need to go the restaurant. We chose to eat outside on their porch overlooking the lake-so beautiful in the morning. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was terrific too-except children's offerings were a bit too limited. We rented a boat during our stay(highly recommended) a short walk from the hotel-Meredith Marina- and were able to tie up at the hotel docks during our whole stay. You can also walk to so many restaurants or shops. This is a hotel that will not disapoint!

Helpful?
6 Thank travelwith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2005

My husband and I stayed at Church Landing (one of the Inns at Mill Falls properties). Wow! What a lovely inn. Everything is top notch. We had a room with french doors that opened to a large balcony with rocking chairs and a fantastic view of the lake. The room had a king size bed high enough for a view of the lake from the bed. The bed was very cozy and had 12 pillows! We also had a fireplace, loveseat and refrigerator and coffee maker.

The inn is relatively new and had a modern exercise room which had views of the lake. The inn also has an inside/outside pool and hottubs, a small beach, and plenty of adirondack chairs on the lawn to admire the lake.

The "Laker" package included a dinner in one of seven restaurants and two breakfasts. The dinner we had in Mame's was excellent and the full breakfasts we had in the Lakehouse Grill were outstanding along with the lodge decor.

Complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate all day in the lobby. The common areas were just gorgeous, with window seats looking out to the lake, a library, jigsaw puzzles and plenty of conversation area.

We loved our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank clr0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2005

We stayed at Church Landings for three days, they gave us a upgrade into a room to die for, it made our holiday. The hotel is fabulous, with spa facilities, service and great views. The restaurant serves top class meals at reasonable prices, we had one of the best meals ever there, looking out as the sun set over the lake, wow.

The staff could not have done more to make us welcome, with local advise, directions and assistance.

Thanks for a great stay highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2005

My husband and i have been visiting Meredith and the Inns for six years. We keep coming back because the area...be it winter, spring, summer or fall....is just beautiful. There is skiing and skating in the winter and swimming and boating in the summer. Why do we go? To relax plain and simple. The inns are a wonderful group of places to stay to relax and do as much or as little as you choose. We go up to do very little!! We are in our thirties and enjoy going for a three day weekend to read, swim, shop, drink and dine.

We have stayed at Chase House, The inn, Baypointe, and the new Church Landing. My suggestion for any newcomer is to experience the Inn with the shops and restaurants right there.....but our favorite by far is Church Landing. I could go on and on about it but i'll stick to the basics.

Customer Service
The employees at CL are extremely helpful and friendly. Debbie in particular was a hoot and each time id pass by the reception area there was always a "hello" or "how was your day". They are ready to make suggestions and make reservations for you. Kudos to reception as well as housekeeping. Our room was well kept each day.

Rooms
We like to stay in nicer rooms when we travel...but here...all rooms are quite nice and id have no problem having their regular room if a larger one wasnt available. All face either the harbor or the lake. On our first visit here we stayed in the "tree house". A suite with an open floor plan. Lovely attention to detail. Tree trunks of white birch coming through the floors throughout the room and along the sides of our bed. A bed so high i needed a step stool. Wonderful warm plaid country colors filled the room.
There was a sitting area with gas fireplace loveseat, sofa, tv, and beautiful views of the lake. Bathroom was very large with a huge two person jacuzzi, shower and double granite top sinks. Id have liked a larger shower.....as it is on a weird angle and small. There is also another small sitting area with chairs, sofa, desk etc. There were also french doors that opened up onto a long but not deep balcony that overlooked the lakeshore with spectacular lake views. One key note...this room has a set of stairs to get to it.....no elevator access so be warned if this is a concern.
We checked out the two room suites, regular rooms and the carriage house(largest suite)...and all are nicely appointed with great attention to detail. Our next visit is to the carriage house....widescreen tv, jacuzzi, and beautiful views of the lake.

Common areas
Just wonderful small nooks and crannies to hide out, read, sip complimentary hot choc, cider, coffee or tea. There is a small library, many fireplaces and comfy chairs to settle into and tables scattered around to place checkers on. Sometimes I think we come here just to get our fill of playing checkers and hot chocolate. This feature is offered in each of the four places. There is a small gift shop for the usual things. The pool is also very nice. The pool area is actually a combination of indoor and outdoor. A flap that you can swim under gets you outdoors. The water is cold though. There is an indoor hottub and an outdoor hot tub. We enjoyed this feature early in the morning. One bad thing is that there are occasional guests who tend to 'hog" the hot tub for hours at a time without any regulation. Also im not sure if the only thing in their "sippy cups" was coffee or tea. Im not a prude....but give someone else a chance to enjoy the hot tub without being obnoxious.

Restaurants
At any point in time we have been to all the restaurants in the area. Most are quite good. Many within walking distance.
1. Mames-walking distance acroos from the inn. good food with nice atmosphere
2. Guiseppes- our favorite. At the inn, casual with entertainment pizza awesome
3. Lago- Walking distance, at baypointe, Italian food good not great in our opinion. Very good sunday brunch though
4. lakehouse Grill- located at Church landing, good food, would like to see a bar menu in the lounge....just heard they have implemented one. Limited menu....cant find a burger at night in the restaurant. Need reservations in busier times. Breakfast is good. They did away with their sunday brunch...which was really very good. :(
Church Landing has a complimentary continental bfast...in their lounge. Good choices of the usual and the setting is quite relaxing and a great way to start the day.

5. Harts Turkey Farm....if you have to go....experience it once. Nothing great but within walking distance up the hill...not affiliated with the inns.
6. William Tell- About fifteen minutes away in Alton, a sister restaurant to the William Tell in waterville valley. While waterville william tell is far better in atmosphere and choice If you like german/swiss food this is a great place to get fondue(outstanding), weiner schnietzle, sauerbrauten, tobler cake. Worth the trip.

Meredith area
If you want to venture out...meredith is central to many ski areas, weirs beach, laconia, kankamangus highway, tilton outlet village etc. There is also a bowling alley, microbrewery shop, ben and jerrys, movie theater, drive in theater in the summer, patricias (year round "cruise wear" and eclectic clothing store...large sizes too), and some great small shops at the inn to poke around in. You wont be bored!!! Only an hour and a half from Boston.

You cant be dissappointed in the choices that Meredith and the Inns at mill falls provides. Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank biojojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesconset, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2004

My husband and I plan a trip to New England each fall after researching it completely. We both agree that Church Landing is one of the most delightful stays we've had. We stayed in the Mt. Washington suite on the fouth floor. Although the bedroom was a bit dark the comfy bed made up for it. However the sitting room was bright with lots of windows and had french doors opening to our (small) balcony that overlooked the lake. Pretty awesome view!
We had a fantastic meal at Lago's restaurant located down the road (same owner's) and also at the restaurant located in Church Landing. Both meals were wonderful and surprisingly moderately priced. I think what amazed me most was the staff. Each staff memeber was equally happy with their job and that says a great deal about the management/owner. They commented on how well they were treated and that in turn was reflected in their performance. A lessoned to be learned here. We usally like to try different Inn's or B&B's each year but this is one place we will surely revisit.

Helpful?
9 Thank CatherineRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
0.2 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
8.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 12 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Landing at Mill Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Landing at Mill Falls

Property: Church Landing at Mill Falls
Address: 281 Daniel Webster Hwy, Meredith, NH 03253-5812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Landing at Mill Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Landing at Mill Falls is set in a stunning location surrounded by lush gardens and lawns, directly on the shores of Lake Winnipesaukee. This luxurious adirondack-style Inn offers a sandy beach, an Indoor/ Outdoor Pool, a Fitness Center, the full service Cascade Spa, the Lakehouse Grille, and a lakeside ballroom accommodating groups of 10-300. Relax in the indulgent guestrooms with their private lakefront balconies, cozy fireplaces and plush down bedding. Mills Falls at the Lake consists of four separate accommodations - Church Landing, Chase House, Bay Point, and The Inn at Mills Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Church Landing at Mill Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Landing At Mill Falls Hotel Meredith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing