We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a quiet spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Church Landing at Mill Falls
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meredith
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not a quiet spot”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Rated #1 in Meredith but either at wrong end of property or Wolfboro, or rent a lake home, would have been far better. We chose newest, most expensive Lodges. The pretty grassy area between the rooms and the lake with miniature "couples beach" was shared by a good number of large families with lots of kids playing loud lawn games like beanbags. We thought that being by the adults only pool that it would be quieter. An older cottage shares the tiny common area with the new Lodges. We won't be returning but perhaps we did inadequate research. We had to move rooms within the same building because the rooms book far in advance. Our first room cost the same as neighboring rooms with windows that opened to the outside air. We also had a darker more cramped version of the rooms on either side of us. Our room was stuffy, dark,and gloomy despite new furnishings. Housekeeping was minimal for the 2 weeks. The manager finally gave us what I thought was an inadequate compensation. My usually mellow husband grew tired of this man failing to call us back and offer more than excuses for why the charge for this room was $10 less than the spacious, airy rooms on either side of us. Week 2 saw a very nice room but it was always noisy as I described above. Fortunately we spent a lot of time hiking and kayaking in nearby towns, but we really had hoped to read a lot and lounge in a relatively peaceful place. A walk around the property made me think that some of the older, cheaper rooms away from the dock and couple's beach , along the edge of the lake would have been quieter. Might be good place for a family reunion. Not a romantic 25th wedding anniversary. Older staff at front desk always seemed put out. Young folks pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dukecurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    94
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
114
318
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, New Hampshire, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I ordered the sword fish special with my usual concern of would it be over cooked or under cooked. Sword fish is very hard to get cooked exactly right. Our meals showed up looking great and the first bite proved the sword fish to be melt in your mouth tender and tasty.

The bar tender was also perfect service-wise. He was attentive but not obtrusive. What a relaxing environment and very good meal. I would have picked a rating of excellent except the bread was just ok and the olive oil we asked for was also just ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Inn at Mills Falls, Church Landing was spectacular, as all of the other reviews say. Staff is A++ and the location is downright impossible to beat. There is something so intrinsically relaxing about looking out from your room onto the beautiful lake...whether it be for the sunrise, watching the activity during the day, or the peacefulness as night falls.
Our only issue was with maintenance. The toilet ran. All night. I took it apart, jiggled it, but it was non-stop. No sense calling the front desk at 2am, so I just shut off the water to the toilet. Also, both the sink and the tub had horribly slow drains....shower, and you were up to your shins by the end.
Little things, yes. Did they ruin our weekend? No. It did take it down a bit, and was the only reason that I didn't give a perfect rating. Don't hesitate to go, just don't assume you will automatically get perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chiefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to Mills Falls since 2001 (our 1st wedding anniversary and also the week after we purchased our first boat). We stayed in the only room available at the time (a relatively small room in the Inn at Mills Falls -- the original property) and loved the feel of the resort. The following year we tried Bay Point -- which was quaint and lovely -- and was then home to the Boathouse Grille (now moved to Church Landing and renamed the "Lakehouse Grille", but still serves that amazing lobster corn chowder!). We probably would have continued staying there, except that the following year they built the amazing Church Landing facility, which we have been staying at ever since. As boat owners, the free docking is not only a "plus",it was an essential part of our choosing this amazing resort. Every year it gets better and better -- most recently with the addition of the water sports facility and the new Lodges as Church Landing. And, the spa is definitely a "can't miss" experience.

Last year we made the mistake of bringing the kids with us on our romantic getaway -- I only say it was a mistake becaus now they want to come every year!

This is by far our very favorite trip of the year. That is not a complement to be taken lightly when one considers that both my husband and I travel all over the world and have stayed in many 5 star resorts. We just love the hominess and feel of the Mills Falls Resort, and that is what will bring us back again and again for years to come. (We even styled our own lake house after it -- with nearly identical decor and styling -- but that won't keep us from coming back!).

Room Tip: If you can, stay at Church Landing, although Bay Point is wonderful as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you have a short time to get away. No need to waste time looking for a number of reviews to make your decision. Service here is equal to a GOOD DISNESY experience! You can do as much or as little as you want . Accommodations are great and food is excellent! First time I witnessed paddleboard yoga. Wish I was younger and more flexible it looked like fun

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a lake view, it is worth every penny, unless you are just sleeping there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for only one night and I could have easily stayed for more. Everything is wonderful about this place from the moment you set foot inside. The greeting at the desk, the air conditioning, the setting and THE ROOMS!! Incredible beds with great air conditioning, balcony and view of the lake. And so quiet you can sleep with the doors open. The bar is comfy and friendly with an excellent choice of wines by the glass and some nice snacks. I wish I had more time and will definitely return the next time I want a quiet peaceful break from the city.

Room Tip: I always recommend the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abstraction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I took our two kids for a 4th of July getaway and decided to stay in this room, since that was all they had left available. The room itself was beautiful, and the bathroom is spectacular, with a huge tub and lovely decor, even a separate toilet room. The views outside the window are beautiful and the lake is gorgeous. The 'plunge pool' is a joke. We didn't even bother getting in, being that it was filthy and the water was very hot (from the weather, not that it was heated) and gross-feeling. They shouldn't have a so-called bennie like that, if it's not kept up properly, that just leaves you feeling taken advantage of. What my main complaint is, is that for $500+ a night, I would expect to at least comfortably find a spot in front of the lake. But there happened to be about 20 people (including several noisy children, toddlers included....stomping around beating on our ceiling till almost midnight) staying in the room directly above us. You could hear them every time they loudly beat their way up and down the stairs, too. I think the people staying upstairs must have checked in and then invited all their drinking buddies to join them there. They took up the entire space in front of the lake, all the chairs, and basically made it IMPOSSIBLE to enjoy the amazing spot that this room is located in. When they would walk down from their room, they pass right in front of the window and you basically feel like you have no privacy whatsoever. I was extremely disappointed about this and when I complained at the desk upon checkout, there's basically a 'who cares' policy there. Noticed that when I made the reservation too, incidentally. This is not a place for someone looking for some peaceful enjoyment on your vacation.

Room Tip: I only mark cleanliness down because of the plunge pool. The bed was very comfortable. The sofa be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loudpeoplearethepits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
0.3 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
361 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
323 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
362 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
144 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Landing at Mill Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Landing at Mill Falls

Property: Church Landing at Mill Falls
Address: 281 Daniel Webster Hwy, Meredith, NH 03253-5812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Landing at Mill Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Landing at Mill Falls is set in a stunning location surrounded by lush gardens and lawns, directly on the shores of Lake Winnipesaukee. This luxurious adirondack-style Inn offers a sandy beach, an Indoor/ Outdoor Pool, a Fitness Center, the full service Cascade Spa, the Lakehouse Grille, and a lakeside ballroom accommodating groups of 10-300. Relax in the indulgent guestrooms with their private lakefront balconies, cozy fireplaces and plush down bedding. Mills Falls at the Lake consists of four separate accommodations - Church Landing, Chase House, Bay Point, and The Inn at Mills Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Church Landing at Mill Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Landing At Mill Falls Hotel Meredith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing