We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be better”
Review of Lago

Lago
Ranked #9 of 36 Restaurants in Meredith
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Any visit to Meredith NH Lago was a must, always walked out very happy but not this past visit. I understand that it was labor day weekend so when we ordered our wine and they were out along with a few other items on the menu I was not that upset. one of our appetizers were antipasto and the meats used were not the best quality didn't look appetizing at all. They served it with apple jam and grapes and dates something I am not used to but oh well. I ordered the lobster meatballs as my entrée and they were all bread I tasted the lobster but only saw one piece in one meatball and they were all bread. My husband had the Bolognese which was ok, some parts of the dish were cold not sure how that can happen. when it came time for dessert the waiter only asked to of us at the table for dessert and then walked away we had to call him back to add another dessert. All in all it was not like in the past not sure if they changed cooks or management. Will try again maybe an off night but defiantly not what I experienced in the past.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABillyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    101
    72
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

I come here a lot and love the place. Whenever there is an issue they take care of it. Horrible chicken Marsala tonight. They changed the recipe and it is horrible. Great staff and Management

Helpful?
Thank Viking571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The restaurant has a nice ambience. People are friendly and helpful. Nice place to sit and relax, prices are average to high. Food is always good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good, bad and indifferent”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

As Lago was located in our hotel and we were traveling with a family member with limited mobility, we gave it a couple of tries. First the bad: we hate the no reservation policy. The first night we put our names down and waited nearly an hour to be seated. Then we were steered to a table with bar stools which were too challenging for my 89 year old mother. The host was accommodating and moderately quickly was able to situate us at a table with chairs. Even the second night, however, when we called ahead with the "guest preferential seating" we still had to wait some time to be seated.
Other than that, the food was quite good, the service attentive and friendly, and the view out the window gorgeous. The bread was fresh, warm and outstanding. The salads were excellent and the pasta dishes quite adequate but some of the portion sizes (particularly dishes like the short ribs) were so large as to cause one in our party to lose her appetite. The flatbread pizza was quite good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank luna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great for gathering with friends”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Eight of us met here for dinner on a Sunday night at 8PM. Waited at the bar to be called- waited at the bar to be served. A bit odd that no one bartender seemed to be dedicated to the very large bar. Sat for about 20 mins at the bar before they took our drinks order. We sat by the windows and had a great view of the full moon rising. Food is good; like upscale pub food with nice pasta and meat options. Cheese risotto was very good. Lobster meatballs are interesting and worth a try but not a game changer. A great atmosphere to dine with friends but not a place for that special dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gustoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lago also viewed

Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 
Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 
Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 

Been to Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing