We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Italian good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lago

Lago
Ranked #10 of 36 Restaurants in Meredith
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
369 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Very nice Italian good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had very nice meal with a flatbread Pizza followed by Scallops with Asparagus and my wife had pasta and Spinache. My scallops where Realy nice but my wife thought her pasta was a bit bland. We would go again but my wife would choose another main course. Staff are excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    98
    71
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bennington, VT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot, great food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Preferred this to the Lakehouse Grill. Title says it all.....Would return here again and again. Nice walk from our room at Church Landing. Table with water view was so very nice. Our server friendly and efficient.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VTBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wish it was better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and i recently visited Lago in Meredith, NH on our way up to the White Mtns. area.
Although we only dined there at lunch, the dinner menu appears comparable but excludes the sandwiches, prices for entrees are higher. It was not very crowded during our visit, maybe 8-10 tables occupied.
The food we sampled was just okay, nothing really exceptional. The service was among the slowest I've experienced at lunch anywhere! S-L-O-W as spring maple sap from one of the nearby trees!
Not sure if it was a server error or lack of kitchen staff but our food took about an hour and both appetizer, which arrived after 20 minutes or so, and the sandwiches, 30 minutes after the app, were sort of bland and mediocre. I would probably not return next time I am in the area. Too bad because I have had good dinners at the restaurant group Common Man in Lincoln, NH. Maybe management should review with Lago's staff what good food and timely service mean to customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Venue for Celebrating 50 years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently, our children hosted us at a Celebration Luncheon for family and friends on the occasion of our 50th Wedding Anniversary. Everything about Lago was excellent for this event. First of all, the venue is beautiful. Lago sits at the head of Meredith Bay with lovely long views of Lake Winnipesaukee. The food was plentiful and delicious, beginning with Antipasti served family style that included Antipasto, huge shrimp cocktails and Bruschetta Caprese - followed by choices of salads and entrees and topped of with a 'just right', light, Tira Misu. The wait staff were excellent - friendly and attentive - and accommodating the 'under age ten' children in our party with their own special menu. The day dawned with spectacular weather. One of Lago's personnel took a great group photo of us all, with Meredith Bay 'sparkling' in the background. We highly recommend Lago for providing you with everything you will want for a delightful small event.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marciatepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, long meal time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

At 6:00p on Sat 8/17, called ahead for seating 30 minutes in advance, arrived at 6:30, and waited 20 minutes for a table. No problem. Our waitress, Nicole, was great. She was not shy about recommending dishes, and had a friendly personality. The place is in a prime location on Lake W. However, we sat at about 6:45p and did not leave until 9:45pm. We ordered an app (the antipasto was unbelievable), salad, and dinner. There was literally 45 minutes between each course, which most of you will agree is unacceptable. You had better make sure you and the person you are with have a lot to talk about, or there will be a lot of uncomfortable silences.

In summary: great food at a reasonable price, but the slow service will prevent me from coming back. It is a trend based upon other reviews I have read (wish I read them first!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lago also viewed

Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 
Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 

Been to Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing