We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dangerous! Stay away.....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Griddle in the Middle

Griddle in the Middle
Ranked #16 of 37 Restaurants in Meredith
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: With a Griddle in the Middle of every table and a creative menu of toppings, you are your own chef! All you can eat pancakes (all day) along with sides, omelets, French toast and more. For lunch we have create-your-own grilled cheese, soups and salads. Fun for the whole family!
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dangerous! Stay away.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This place isn't even up to code....DANGEROUS for little kids. Homemade scraped together tables, the owner stuck a griddle inches away from kids seats...huge cords under the table, huge outlets with plugs right next to kids seats. You have to cook our own food, you don't have a choice! They don't warn you. There's coffee but no cream....literally! Non refrigerated creamers sitting I the table. A scary dangerous dirty guy (we assume the owner) came out and yelled at our kids. This place is a HORROR.we didn't knowing maybe we should even call the police....

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollypw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    6
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“unorganized-expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

So we went here at 10:30 on a Friday morning-it was busy but got in about 20 minutes later, we were excited to try this we were a large party of 9. Our waitress was nice enough...she was not capable of getting our order right. It was a simple order everyone got pancakes with different toppings coffees and juices with a few orders of bacon. everything came out staggered, so while some people were done eating others had not started yet, the same with the drinks. They give your pancake batter and your sides and you make them yourself. They only give you enough batter for 2 pancakes at a time and then take 10-15 minutes to come back and see if you want more...the pancakes are just OK the griddle never really got hot enough so each pancake took forever. We left there at 12:30 VERY disappointed The bill came out to $132 they automatically added 20% tip to the bill for service that was terrible. We noticed other tables with smaller parties complaining about the service as well so it had nothing to do with a larger party. We would NEVER go back. Although the concept is good this place just doesn't work it.
There are amazing places at weir's beach with really good breakfast at 1/2 the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pitaa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“For some, but not for everyone.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

You seldom see a distribution of ratings on TA like this one has. As of today: 18 E or G, 10 P or T. It was obvious that you will either love this place or hate it. The place doesn't open until 8AM, which is late for a breakfast joint. I was the only one there at that time. I noticed that the place was relatively new (I think about a year old). To their credit it was nicely furnished and immaculately clean. I ordered an omelet, which the waitress offered to make for me if I didn't want to cook it myself. I let her cook it and she did a pretty good job. One thing I thought, however, was that if the place was busy, her being the cook at one table would slow down service tremendously for others. I also thought that while the "griddle in the middle" was an interesting concept, the griddle itself was quite small, just enough room to cook maybe 2 or 3 pancakes at a time. If you had 4 people at the table, that would be a problem. Another "like-it-or-not" about this place is that everything is a-la-carte. Basic pancakes were "all you can eat" for a fixed price, but add-ins are extra. Same with the omelet. Toast and other sides are extra. Total cost for my good sized breakfast was about $10 plus tip, about what I pay around here. BOTTOM LINE: If you don't mind the cook-it-yourself' part, give it a try anytime. However, if you want them to cook it for you, I'd be wary of going when it is crowded.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Fun Place to eat, everyone should try this place.There buckwheat pancakes where so good,haven't had any to compare these to again.Will definitely be back

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VeryHappyCustomer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

While vacationing on Lake Winnipesaukee with our family (6 adults and 5 children. Ranging from 60+ to 17 months) we decided to give Griddle in the Middle a shot. Everyone enjoyed themselves - while the kids are too young to make the pancakes they thoroughly enjoyed picking their toppings and decorating the pancake before eating. Our waitress was really good and kept the batter flowing!! The decorated cows in shadow boxes were cute. The only negative to the entire experience was the venting is a couple open windows and a fan...if they added some big vents that would help tremendously. However, we would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthieCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griddle in the Middle also viewed

Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 
Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 
Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 

Been to Griddle in the Middle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing