We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clever and entertaining”

Griddle in the Middle
Ranked #15 of 36 Restaurants in Meredith
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: With a Griddle in the Middle of every table and a creative menu of toppings, you are your own chef! All you can eat pancakes (all day) along with sides, omelets, French toast and more. For lunch we have create-your-own grilled cheese, soups and salads. Fun for the whole family!
Mays Landing, New Jersey
1 review
“clever and entertaining”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

such a neat idea. you are seated around a table with a griddle in the middle. friendly waitresses bring you your batter (eggs or pancakes--plain and uncooked) as well as little ramekins of mix-ins, plus spatulas. you pour your batter making pancakes or omlettes as big or small as you'd like and add as much or as little of your toppings as you'd like. my son-who normally eats like a bird and dislikes having to stop playing to go out for a meal was engaged and wide-eyed the entire time. plus he ate twice as much as usual since he was so excited to be making the food. my group of 7 was happy with the quality of the food and enjoyed the whole experience. I know when we visit the lake again, breakfast at the griddle in the middle will be a priority.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pennys_thoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    8
    6
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Unique experience!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This restaurant is what you get when you combine a great breakfast styled diner with a Japanese hibachi meal! Every table has a griddle in the middle and they have a great deal at unlimited (plain) buttermilk pancakes for $5.55. Toppings are reasonable but cost a bit extra. I added raspberries and had enough for an entire meal! Everyone gets to customize and create their own breakfast in the middle of your table, no prep or cleanup, just the fun! The owner was walking around talking to customers and the other wait staff was very polite and attentive and everyone had a fun attitude creating a great atmosphere and a "feel like a kid again" experience. They also gave my son a chef hat with his name on it. Can't say enough good about this place, we LOVED IT!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MunktopiaJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A GREAT WAY TO START YOUR DAY!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were in the Lakes area, Meredith, New Hampshire and were told about
a breakfast restaurant that was a new concept: so we decided to try it
WELL! Great food, good service and a fun way to start your day. I
can't say enough good things about it. Everyone was happy and full!
My recommendation: Don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Novell Concept but.........”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Fun way to eat but disappointed in the quality of the ingredients and slow, slow service.....the blue berries for the pancakes came out frozen; spinach for the omlette - frozen; mushrooms for the omlette was out of a can. The service was brutually slow - you would think if you are cooking yourself that they could be very quick; the griddles are not that hot and cooking takes awhile. Been once and that was enough....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigwindham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't eat here!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The bottom line is that YOU MAKE YOUR OWN BREAKFAST! The cost was very overpriced for our family of seven. The topping portions were very small. My husband ordered "the big breakfast" which came with the worst home fries ever. The waitress was very pleasant and enthusiastic. They added a 20% gratuity on automatically,.... even though we had to cook our own eggs, pancakes, and rewarm our side dishes. Honestly, my children had a much better experience and meal at the diner down the road.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griddle in the Middle also viewed

Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 
Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 
Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 

Been to Griddle in the Middle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing