We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spontaneous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mill Falls at the Lake
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meredith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Looked real hard for a real lake side resort that would be closest to a 5 star i could find. The staff here helped me over the phone (Kim) with a great description and price and convinced me it was what i'm looking for. They arranged to get me in at a last minute reservation for a price I was anticipating. My family and I were hoping we would not regret what we were going to see. When we arrived it exceeded all our expectations and we were extremely pleased. We travel the world to luxury places and were very pleased with this property so close to our home. The rooms were very good, the restaurants were super, though its highly recommended to make a reservation or get to their top restaurants early to avoid longer waits. The private pools (very small) and lake side beaches are outstanding and the hotel staff is very helpful, friendly and full of ideas to explore around the lake. The new roof top grille and spa pools were majestic with the scenery and its a great weekend or week get away place for couples, friends or family. This will be our regular place in the mountains 1.5 hrs from boston and close to several tourist attractions (castle in the Clouds and Golden Pond), a real cosmo place with guests from NY, NYC and all over. So glad we discovered this resort!

Room Tip: Rooms at the Mills are more economical, the Church landing rooms are very good and new and the lake...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Mill Falls at the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 372 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights and were sorry to leave. The location is convenient for day-tripping around Lake Winnipesaukee. Our room was lovely--nice beds and bedding, nice roomy bathroom, desk, two comfortable chairs, big flat screen TV (not that we had time to use it). The staff was helpful and friendly--managed to arrange a kayak for my husband to take out on the lake, even though the facility was officially closed for the season.
The marketplace attached to the inn is delightful--interesting shops, a cute breakfast and lunch place--Waterfall Cafe, and a really good restaurant--Giuseppe's, which had a variety of vegetarian choices to meet my needs, and a comfortable atmosphere.
There is an area near the waterfall that is set up for anyone who wants to work on a giant puzzle, and a chess set in the lobby, which are friendly touches.
Also in the complex is a nice bookstore, a Ben & Jerry's, and a salon. In bad weather, there would be lots to do without ever moving the car. We loved the place and hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Beautiful room w/balcony overlooking Lake Winnipesauki. restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. Some even inside the same complex of old mill buildings.
2nd time there. Highly recommended. Easy, onsite parking.
They have three buildings to select from. We choose the older part of the mill buildings.


Too early for the great Fall color, this year. There were a couple of weddings going on at their facility right on the edge of the lake.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoppix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Wow and I say again Wow. This was a wonderful surprise. We had never heard of the town of Meredith before but decided to look to book a room here while making our way south from northern NH. Meredith is a beautiful little town with antique shops, specialty stores and a clean and picturesque lake. The Inn and Spas of Mill Falls are actually four individual buildings uniquely furnished and architecturally built in separate locations with their own vibes which are within walking distance from each other pretty much. All have beautiful well kept exteriors with plenty of parking. We got an awesome price rate for Mill Falls Inn so that is where we stayed. It is the oldest of the properties and is not on the lake but across the highway from the lake. However, it is easy to cross the street and walk the promenade along the water. TIP: Go over for a walk or sit on one of the benches to watch the sunset as it is so pretty. The front desk ladies were welcoming and helpful. Hallways and foyer decorated cute in a country way. Loved the tables set up with puzzles to work on. I actually sat at a good one of New England and an older lady stopped by and just started working on it with me – a nice way to bond with fellow travelers. There is a hallway that leads you to little shops selling designer clothing, gift items, gourmet candies along with restaurants. Room rate did not include breakfast but you could just walk to the Waterfall Café in that hallway. Oh, and of course the hallway overlooks a flowing waterfall. Yes, you are staying at the location of an old mill. We had the luck to be there right after a major rainstorm and the water was gushing like a white water rapids. The rooms here require some maneuvering of luggage up and down steps which was ok for us but might be a problem for others. There is a small pool on the premises that is not big enough to swim in but kids might enjoy splashing around in. No exercise equipment in this building. Our room had some stains and dings on things. The refrigerator was not working and a knob on a nightstand that kept coming off when we first checked in. However, we called the front desk and they and the service people were so nice and fixed them both when we were gone from our room.
Now the best part of our stay is that you can use the amenities at any of the other buildings. Make sure you stop at the desk at the other places first to receive a key card for access during your stay. So twice we strolled up to Church Landing. The first night the most friendly employee took us on a tour of the facility. The place smelled and looked new. Whoever the interior decorator was should receive an award as they used intricate creative ways to include trees into the décor. Branch chandeliers and saplings along the walls became graceful canopies. The exercise facility was a nice size with water and towels and TV. There is a billards room in a common area. There are two pools at Church Landing with one being for adults only. Both pools are beautiful. We went to the adult pool. The water was just a bit cool enough, very clean and big enough to do a bit of a swim back and forth. The amazing part is that you can swim from the indoors outside and at night that is pretty romantic. We had the whole place to ourselves. There are not one but two hot tubs next to the pool that are nice and hot and comfortable. Above your head hanging from the ceiling is a boat – what fun! There are towels here however if you are coming from another facility you have to change in the restrooms. That is the only negative as you have to leave with a wet head. We would definitely want to stay at Church Landing the next time our travels take us this way. Safe travels!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank joyceTL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last weekend. Great location, plenty to do. The hotel could use new rugs. The rug was stained in the room and in all the common areas. The bed was very uncomfortable. The room had a very musty smell. My husband thought it may have been caused by the pool. Our room was over the pool area. He had sinus headaches and I did not feel well either.

One minor thing - no safe in he room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaSheltra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent a late August Sunday & Monday night at the Boathouse Lodge. Our room featured a balcony with 2 rockers overlooking Lake Winnipesaukee, & on our first morning we awoke to a pink sunrise & dancing reflections of the lake water on our ceiling. Pretty sweet. Coffee, tea, yoghurt, fruit, & granola, muffins, pastry in various combinations awaited just down the hall each morning. On our first morning, we sat on the balcony, munched, & read. Lovely & serene. Our second morning was at first overcast, and we discovered in one of the several lounge areas several copies of the Boston Globe & New York Times. We flicked on the lounge's gas fireplace and settled in for a peaceful, coffee-fueled read of the not-so-peaceful news.
The Adirondack decor - in both our room and in common areas - was tasteful and lovely. Our room, complete with sofa & its own gas fireplace, was comfy. The king-sized bed was back-friendly & comfortable. Our balcony overlooked lawn, lake, & pool (indoor-outdoor), & spa.
The lake waters were clear & lovely, & the inn supplies a raft in comfortable swimming distance. No lifeguard.
While the enclosed portion of the pool seemed small & chorine-smelling to us, there seemed always to be a band of happy kids swimming in it. A second & separate outdoor area is a designated "adult" lawn area with another small indoor pool. (I can't remember if it was indoor-outdoor as well.)
The Inn supplies lounge chairs, blue striped beach towels, & adirondack chairs aplenty, and the small beach & large grassy areas were raked & cleaned each morning.
During our 3 days at the Lodge, the waterfront never seemed crowded or rowdy. The water, lawn, & sky seemed to take center stage. I've had the same feeling during stays at Maine's Inn-by-the-Sea in Cape Elizabeth where even large weddings seem to be enveloped by the beautiful surroudings. With the obvious difference that Inn-by-the-Sea is next to the sea instead of a lake, the two lovely inns seem similar to me.

The friendly people at the front desk were most helpful about everything from boat rentals to restaurants.
The only negative was the discovery of glass in the water - off to the right of the main swimming area towards docks & the adult area- by a group of goggle-wearing middle school kids who reported that while there was glass in the water, there was "less glass than last year."

We'd return in a heartbeat, and we will. We were delighted to learn that each of the four Inns at Mill Falls seems to feature one or two dog-friendly units. In fact, we were delighted to see a dog frolicking with its family in the water.
The restaurants associated with the 4 inns are all run by the Common Man Group, and the two at which we dined were excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MFKMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a wonderful mid week vacation at The Inn at Mill Falls. The rooms were nice, quiet and clean with housekeeping services daily. So enjoyed room service from the Waterfall Cafe, which is connected to the Inn with adjacent shops. My son loved the waterfall and really enjoyed looking over the balcony watching it. The Inn is located right in the middle of town, across the street from the lake. Looking forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
0.3 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
15.0 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
329 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
762 reviews
4.0 mi away
Center Harbor Inn
Center Harbor Inn
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
21 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Falls at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Falls at the Lake

Address: 312 Daniel Webster Hwy, Meredith, NH 03253-5863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meredith
Price Range: $211 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Falls at the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Meredith Village the Inn at Mill Falls awaits you. A restored nineteenth century linen mill and a tumbling forty-foot waterfall create a setting that envelops guests in an atmosphere of warmth, comfort and easy relaxation. By combining old-world charm, a crackling fireplace, cozy nooks, an indoor pool and sauna, and affordable accommodations, Mill Falls redefines the traditional country Inn. Stay at The Inn and enjoy all of the amenities that Mill Falls at the Lake has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mill Falls at the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Mill Falls Hotel Meredith
Hotel At Mill Falls
At Mill Falls Meredith
The Inns At Mill Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing