We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”
Review of Ballard House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ballard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We only stayed for one night but everything was excellent. The hosts, Brian and Lynn were very pleasant and charming and Newton was adorable. The place was spotless, I don't think we've ever visited a place that was so clean! Our room was very comfortable and the breakfast was very good with just the right amount. Brian shared his knowledge of the area with us and other guests and we took advantage of his recommendation to hike the Rattlesnake mountain trail which overlooked lakes Squam (On Golden Pond) and Winnipesaukee.. Very good value.

Room Tip: We were a party of three adults and we were accommodated in adjoining rooms with our own bathroom.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your brief visit. We take pride in keeping the Inn spotless and helping our guests enjoy the area activities. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Ballard House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 371 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Ballard House is a gem in the beautiful lakes region of New Hampshire. It was our first visit to the area and our stay at this home was perfect! Brian and Lynn were very friendly and hospitable, from the cookies and wine in the afternoon, to the restaurant recommendations to the sumptuous breakfast in the morning. Close to the towns of Meredith and Center Harbor, but far enough away to feel off the beaten path. My wife wanted to visit Keepsake Quilting and Brian got on the phone to confirm their hours and gave us directions how to get there.
The Ballard House is a grand old home built in the 1800's but renovated with all of the modern conveniences and safety features, including free Wi-Fi. The sheets and towels were awesome, bed very comfortable and the hospitality was warm, while still allowing privacy. I would not hesitate to recommend The Ballard House as a 5-Star place to stay. Oh and one more thing - they have the biggest a Golden Retriever I have ever seen and he is very friendly!

Room Tip: The East facing rooms offer the best view and are away from the road.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thanks for the kind words, you hit it on the head -- we want people to feel like they are at home and can kick back and relax! Hope you will consider us your next trip East.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

At first we were unsure as the Ballard House is a little bit out of the main area in Meredith. However this was more than compensated for by the accommodation and overall comfort but most importantly by the friendliness and the fun of Brain and Lynn, our hosts. They were more than helpful and made us and the other guests feel really at home. The view over the lakes from the terrace was amazing and the fact that there was complimentary wine and drinks to accompany this was the icing on the cake. We couldn't recommend the Ballard House enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for taking time submitting a review with such kind comments. We enjoy hosting our guests and are glad that came across during your visit. We always try to have fun with our friends across the pond during their holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The owners, and the Inn itself, are charming and real gems.Your experience starts with a hardy -heart felt - welcome from Lynn, Brian and Newton their gentle loving golden retriever who waits adoringly at the top of the front patio stairs. Every detail of your stay is attended to and the rooms are are so comfortable and decorated lovely and thoughtfully. It is a very special feeling when combined with how Lynn and Brian go out of their way to creat an atmosphere filled with laughter, relaxation and fun. They are devoted to making your stay a special memory. I would recommend a room in the back of the Inn given the beautiful views. Well done Brian, Lynn and of course Newton!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We make it a point to make our guests feel like friends and family! Please come see us again for some excellent skiing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Ballard House Inn is a little gem in the Lake District of New Hampshire just south of the White Mountains on the edge of Meredith, NH, near Lake Winnipesaukee. It's an old house that has been very tastefully renovated and feels old and very cozy but at the same time immaculately clean. The rooms are very comfortable with modern amenities including flat screen TVs, heat and (I think) A/C. There are two cozy sitting rooms with fireplaces where guests gather in the late afternoon before dinner, with complimentary beer, wine, coffee and tea and fresh baked cookies, brownies, etc. We met some wonderful folks here including the parents of one of our daughter's college classmates. The owners are friendly, intelligent, interesting and hardworking people who go out of their way to make sure your experience is first rate. There is a beautiful view from the back overlooking the foothills of the White Mountains and one of the lakes. Breakfast was excellent and is served at a large table in the kitchen. The only negative thing I can say is that there was a bit of traffic noise in the early morning from the road out front, but this is a minor quibble. This is a good location for visiting the Lake District and White Mountains. Mt Washington is just over an hour away. If you don't stay here, you are missing out!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms and saw two others. They are furnished similar, so I don't thi...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It helps future guests picture what their experience will be like. Glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope you will think of us the next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the Ballard House Inn. Brian Lynne andNewton made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. They create a very friendly atmosphere which all the guests enjoyed. The Inn is a lovely old house and our room was beautifully decorated. Breakfast was really good and everyone ended up chatting for ages. The free wine, cakes and all the little extras made the two days very special. We would go back if we were in the area again and would recommend a room at the back of the Inn to make the most of the view

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJH-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thanks for spending part of your holiday with us. It is a great time when everyone starts conversing and sharing stories! We truly hope you would consider visiting again. Thank you for your review and favorable comments also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our favorite spot of our 9 day trip through New England. Brian and Lynn were so much fun and kept an absolutely beautiful property. The house was beautifully restored but with plenty of modern updates to make it extremely comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic and filling. Our favorite part of the house was the wrap around porch with stunning views of the forest, lake and mountains. Newton, the inn's gentle giant of a dog, was a delight and kept me company while I rocked in the porch. Our only regret was our length of stay. We should have stayed much longer!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djhoneyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We are so glad you had a good time during your brief stay. You and your family are such nice folks. Newton thanks you too - - he absolutely relishes the attention the guests give him!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
1.6 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
14.6 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
155 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Tuckernuck Inn
The Tuckernuck Inn
#3 of 6 in Meredith
120 reviews
5.4 mi away
Center Harbor Inn
Center Harbor Inn
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard House Inn

Address: 53 Parade Rd, Meredith, NH 03253-5400
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range: $156 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballard House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason may be for staying in Meredith, NH, The Ballard House Inn offers a serene and picturesque backdrop for your home away from home. We are just minutes from Lake Winnipesaukee, downtown Meredith,and centrally located in the heart of the beautiful Lakes Region. The Inn is also bordered by 178 acres of town owned recreational land consisting of beautiful hiking trails, walking paths, small ponds, and plenty of wildlife. Our guests often mention the setting at the Inn is so private and serene yet close to so many fabulous restaurants and shops of the Lakes Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ballard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing