We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B & B for our Family”
Review of Ballard House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ballard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newington, CT
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Perfect B & B for our Family”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Ballard house this past week end as our nephew had a destination wedding in NH at the Castle in the Clouds which is a 15 minute ride from Ballard house.Several families stayed at the Inn, suffice to say that Lynn and Brian and their 140lb. pouch were the perfect hosts. They went out of their way to make us feel at home the entire week end and were able to handle the 13 of us without missing a beat.Great Breakfast, Pancakes, Bacon,Fresh Blueberries etc.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmlorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
You were a fun bunch to host! We are glad you had a great time at the wedding and while staying with us. We hope you will consider a family getaway here in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
261
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Super comfortable property. We stayed in the Squam Suite - which is at the top of the hotel. I am a light sleeper, but didn't need my sound machine or ear plugs. The room was very clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have stayed on outside of my house!

the owners, Lynn and Brian, are very friendly and accomodating. They even remembered my husband's nut/seed allergy at breakfast. Speaking of breakfast - WOW! Dont miss their great, inspired, local treats.

We didn't make it to the evening social hour - but the fridge downstairs was always stocked.

We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved the Squam suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to send your feedback. Brian and I are glad you had such a good experience staying with us. We hope you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We recently stayed at the hospitable Ballard House , as friends had their daughter in a few plays at the Interlakes Theatre. We had stayed there before under the old management, who were wonderful as well. Lynn and Brian , who are the new owners, are just terrific and make you feel welcome the minute you step thru the door - their breakfasts are superb , and the well stocked frig and other goodies are a treat!! They truly go the distance to ensure the most enjoyable stay - the view from the back porch is breathtaking! Their golden retriever, Newton, loves attention and is deeply affectionate. You will truly not want to leave!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroad77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. We enjoyed meeting you! We are also glad you had an opportunity to catch up with your friends and see their amazing daughter's performance. Brian and I hope you will be back for another show and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were somewhat hesitant to book as we usually prefer to stay somewhere within walking distance to restaurants, but Lynn and Brian could keep guests happy if all they had to offer was a card board box to stay in. Their hospitality is unrivaled - they truly want you to enjoy this beautiful area as much as they do. We appreciated the dinner RSVPs and hiking suggestions. And the inn itself is lovely too. The panoramic view from the porch is spectacular. We loved sitting on the rocking chairs taking in the sunset. Their attention to detail is comprehensive. Snacks, beverages ( beer, wine, Diet coke and diet Pepsi) are all readily available. A tasty breakfast is served 8:00-9:30 at a large common table. Absolutely delightful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iafamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Wow, thanks so much for the wonderful comments. You were great guests to welcome into our home. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our stay at the Ballard House Inn was perfect! Hosts Lynn and Brian have thought of everything to make guests feel at home and went above and beyond to make our stay at the Inn and our experience with the local attractions a wonderful time. The essence of the relaxed peaceful lake regions is epitomized in Ballard House Inn mascot Newton; most laid back, coolest dog ever. Breakfast was delicious, carefully thought out and prepared each morning with serving portions that were just right and always hit the spot. Our room was neatly appointed, comfortable and clean and the free WIFI was much appreciated. A welcome extra not often experienced at other Inns was the complimentary wine, beer and water available for sipping as you watch the sun set over the mountains and lake from the back porch rockers. The Inn was convienty located near town and many lake region attractions . Lynn and Brian offered excellent advice to help plan each day during our stay. We look forward to returning to the Ballard House Inn for another restful, relaxing vacation. Thanks for a wonderful time, Rich and Meg F.

Room Tip: Oops accidentally hit swimming pool- there is no pool but many beautiful lakes to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Richard, Meg,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a complimentary review! We enjoyed a much too brief visit with you. I have a sneaking suspicion we will see you again in the Fall! Safe travels with all your upcoming trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Bike week was our 3rd time staying at the Ballard House this year. That in itself says it all. Brian and Lynn are wonderful people. They make their home feel like ours, and not a business. Lynn's wonderful home baked cookies were a real hit. Everything about their home should be rated as a 10! See you next bike week guys.. special hugs to Newton please! Jodi & Bill Butera

Room Tip: We have stayed at two different rooms in this house. But because we prefer downstairs, Opeechee is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Jodi and Bill,
Thanks for staying with us again and sharing your positive comments. Your front porch chairs will be waiting for you next visit. Hope we get to see the wildlife, like the bucks and beavers, next time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Excellent b&b, amazing hosts Lynn and Brian . This inn is in a class of its own.
My wife and I spent 6 nights at the inn and enjoyed a different 1st class breakfast every morning. The helpfulness of our hosts was second to none. Newton the dog is the 3rd member of the hosting team and completes the homely feel of this beautifully restored inn.

This location is perfect for exploring the lake area of New Hampshire and beyond.

There is a local legend that a bear visits the bottom of the inns garden between 5:30 and 6:30 in the morning we set our alarm and awoke early every morning, however during our visit the bear never appeared. Must have gone to Europe on its vacation. (Thanks Brian )

Lynn makes very tasty cookies and if if you're lucky, lemon bar treats in the evenings.

Many thanks Steve and Cath

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Steve, Cath,
Thanks for spending part of your holiday with us. We had a great time getting to know you. Thanks also for locating the elusive bear for Brian! Please consider visiting us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
1.4 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
1.5 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
361 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Tuckernuck Inn
The Tuckernuck Inn
#3 of 6 in Meredith
118 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard House Inn

Property: Ballard House Inn
Address: 53 Parade Rd, Meredith, NH 03253-5400
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballard House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason may be for staying in Meredith, NH, The Ballard House Inn offers a serene and picturesque backdrop for your home away from home. We are just minutes from Lake Winnipesaukee, downtown Meredith,and centrally located in the heart of the beautiful Lakes Region. The Inn is also bordered by 178 acres of town owned recreational land consisting of beautiful hiking trails, walking paths, small ponds, and plenty of wildlife. Our guests often mention the setting at the Inn is so private and serene yet close to so many fabulous restaurants and shops of the Lakes Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ballard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing