We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience all round.”
Review of Ballard House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ballard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience all round.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This Inn has to be experienced to be believed. We have rated everything 5 but if there was scope for going even higher we would have. The accommodation was really comfortable, really attractive and absolutely spotless. On top of that the welcome and the hospitality of the host, Brian, was second to none. After he had carried our cases up to our room we were invited down to the lounge and offered complimentary refreshments including wine, beer, soft drinks and coffee. We were then introduced to some fellow guests and the " star of the show" Newton - the family golden retriever who was extremely well trained and a joy to see. Brian's advice regarding restaurants was first class and we had a most enjoyable tapas meal in Tavern 27 which was only a few miles down the road. The next morning we had a heavenly breakfast with superb provision for my husband who requires gluten free food. A wonderful experience all round. Although located some distance out of town, this only added to its charm from our point of view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
256
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We visited New Hampshire hoping for a relaxing, yet romantic, weekend and wasn't disappointed. Brian and Lynn really made my friend and I feel at home. From the charming and clean room, homemade cranberry bars, complimentary wine/coffee/tea, delicious breakfast and breathtaking back porch views to the hospitality and friendly conversation we had with Brian and Lynn. This felt more like visiting friends who've you not spoken with in a while than going to a place of strangers. The only disappointment was that we didn't get to stay longer. This is a must-stay place and we will definitely be coming back!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug6147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ballard House was a beautiful place to stay while attending the wedding of a family member in New Hampshire. My fiancee and I stayed here in October and it was beautiful and by far The Best B&B we have ever stayed at. We have recommended it to friends and family and plan on staying there again if we are ever up in that area. The Ballard House staff are very friendly and make you feel right at home. The house and rooms are beautiful and always neat, very clean and tidy. Great area and definitely recommend it to anyone looking to stay at a B&B in New Hampshire! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Feel at home and have a very pleasant stay in Massachusets. Brian, the host and "chief", makes that you feel "at home" with a good breakfast and nicely furnished rooms. For the afternoon and evening there is the services of coffe, beer and refreshments. Surroundings is also very nice and allthough located on a road you won't be disturbed at night. Nice view on Winniepesauke lake from the waranda.
For diner you have to go to Meredith or other small village sin the surroundings. Guiseppi for an itlaian diner is good with reasonable prices. Brian can give you good advise. We had diner at the Canoe, which was good but pricy and the restaurant itself is quite dark inside.
The region itself gives you many possibilities for a long stay.

Keep this very good address for a pleasant stay in this region.
We, a Dutch couple, are now official "leafpeepers".

Room Tip: The Wiinnupesauke room is has a sleeping room with a separated sitting room with a couch which can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdhuisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our second visit this year and Brain and Lynn out did themelves. The Inn was spectacular all decorated for the Fall but Brian and Lynn were tremendous hosts. Complimentary wine and cheese at night was nice to go along with the in-room fireplace. Great company at breakfast with couples there from Germany and Delaware. The breakfasts we're gourmet delights and the service was wonderful. The view from the swing on the back porch (see photo attached) with the Fall colors and the lake in the background were priceless. They are open this winter for the first time and we can't imagine a better place to stay in the Lake's Region, especially if the plan is to ski at Gunstock. Their Barn would be great for the storage of ski equipment and any needed adjustments. The attention to detail and fellowship at the Ballard House Inn is the absolute best in the region. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We have seen all the rooms and suites and wouldn't hesitate to take any of them...this is not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billericay
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights at Ballard House during our road trip around New England.
Although the Inn is a couple of miles outside Meredith the views overlooking the Lake more than made up for the short drive into town.
Our room was big including a seperate lounge area.
The biggest plus was our host, Brian, who exceeded the boundaries of hospitality(along with his dog 'Newton').
He carried the luggage to the top floor, cooked some great breakfasts, suppied complimentary cookies,beer and wine and most of all,gave us friendship and great banter!
Thanks Brian.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor at rear offer best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillericaySeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

On our 2 week tour of New England,this was the the best place we stayed.Wow! Brian works so hard to ensure that his guests feel welcome.The inn is wonderful,clean,beautifully furnished and everything is provided to make our stay comfortable.Brian ,you are a gem! If Newton hadn't been so big I would have smuggled him home in my case. It was great to sit around the table at breakfast and meet new people and sample the delicious food.Beautifully situated with views of the lake.I cannot recommend Ballard House highly enough.Brilliant value!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillyc3648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
1.4 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
1.5 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
359 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
139 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Tuckernuck Inn
The Tuckernuck Inn
#3 of 6 in Meredith
118 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard House Inn

Property: Ballard House Inn
Address: 53 Parade Rd, Meredith, NH 03253-5400
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballard House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason may be for staying in Meredith, NH, The Ballard House Inn offers a serene and picturesque backdrop for your home away from home. We are just minutes from Lake Winnipesaukee, downtown Meredith,and centrally located in the heart of the beautiful Lakes Region. The Inn is also bordered by 178 acres of town owned recreational land consisting of beautiful hiking trails, walking paths, small ponds, and plenty of wildlife. Our guests often mention the setting at the Inn is so private and serene yet close to so many fabulous restaurants and shops of the Lakes Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing